We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wood Norton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay at the Wood Norton, we had a great time. The room was very spacious and comfortable, the afternoon was delicious and the bar area a nice place to sit and relax. The evening meal was delicious and the service very good especially from Alberto. Breakfast the next day was also very good with good service, the ladies on reception were very helpful and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I am very happy that your enjoyed your stay with us, i will pass on your comments to the team. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    257
    88
    27
    7
See reviews for
117
579
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My short break at The Wood Norton far exceeded my expectations. Perfectly located as a base from which to tour The Cotswolds it was base camp for 3 days. And what a luxurious and wonderful base camp it was. My room The Duchesse D'Orleans is perfectly situated with a window seat overlooking the beautify gardens. Both the bedroom and the bathroom are amazing. Restaurant excellent too. I cannot speak highly enough about this place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A Victorian House that must have been incredibly beautiful, greatly ruined by it s actual remodeling and interior decoration.If your stay coincides with a wedding, be sure you won t be able to sleep, will have to make a line to check out and have problems getting your car near to put in your luggage.
Be sure and ask if a wedding is taken place the night you are booking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ROrtuzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am very sorry that your stay was disturbed by the wedding, i had hoped that moving you to a room at the far end of the building would have meant you were undisturbed.
We have alot of Wood Panelling around the hotel which we cannot change as it is Grade 2 Star listed.
If you wish to discuss this further please contact me on operations@thewoodnorton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Booked 2 nights in a luxury hall room in the main building. The room was gorgeous and the bathroom almost the same size as the bedroom with roll top bath. We had views overlooking the countryside and with sunny weather, they were much appreciated. The hotel has lots of small comfortable spaces to relax, read etc, but desperately needs a spa. the bar was bright and modern, which is somewhat out of sync with the rest of the traditional decor of the hotel. Service was good and always with smile. There was a wedding on the weekend we stayed and we never heard a whisper from the wedding party. Overall a nice stay, but not sure whether I'd return until it had a spa.....the reception staff said one was in he pipeline, so will keep an eye out.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Unfortunately the original wood panelling in the bar was destroyed in a fire many years ago. the pewter bar was designed to fit in with other original pewter door furniture, and vent grills. We do have ideas for a Spa, at some time in the future, so do keep an eye out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We recently attended an evening dinner as part of a local singing group. There were 27 of us. We were welcomed into the Bar and the pre-meal ambience was excellent. Bar service was quick and polite. We ate in a private room on three tables of 9. All 3 courses were of excellent quality, beautifully presented and served with efficiency but with the minimum of fuss. We had a great evening. There was no attempt to hurry us up to leave so the staff could clear up. I haven't enjoyed an evening so much in a long time. That was due to the company of course but the Hotel significantly enhanced the evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

A Group Dinner. Beautiful ambiance in a Private Dining Room, "The Old Kitchen", very good food but the wine list even for the House Selection was pricey. Overall though a very good evening with excellent food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We recently visited this hotel and found it to be beautiful and the room was spotless. However, we ate at the restaurant on our first night and found the menu choice limited. We chose Scallops for our starter and received ONE scallop each. I chose to have beef as my main course and was charged an extra £7.50. At breakfast we were greeted warmly and asked if we would like coffee and toast and were asked to sit at a set table. The table we sat at was crawling with ants so we moved seats, informed the waiter, and all he did was remove the jam pot from the table. 20 mins later after asking four times for our coffee and toast we finally received it. In the meantime several other guests had arrived and had been fully served. When I asked the manager why we had such a long delay in our service he advised the toaster had been on fire. We had noticed that they did a bar menu with a lot more choices so we asked three times if we could choose from this menu without extra charge as we had already paid for bed breakfast and evening meal and we were reassured that we could so we chose this option for our further two night stay. On our final day we noticed that there was a wedding party at the hotel so asked if it was possible to order bar food to be eaten in the restaurant and was told under no circumstances could this be done. We were assured that the party would not be there after 7 and they booked us a table in the bar for 7.30. When we arrived at 7.20 the party was still in full swing and we therefore requested to speak with the manager. When asked why I explained the situation and their solution was for us to order the bar food and eat in the restaurant!!!!!!! How infuriating this was as it had been our suggestion in the afternoon. Finally upon checking out we were presented with a bill of almost £80 which included bar food and drinks we had never had.


WOOD NORTON - NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I am so sorry that we let you down during your recent stay with us. I understand that the booking agent you booked through has been in touch with you direct. I you wish to contact me directly to discuss anything further please email me at gm@thewoodnorton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Evesham Hotel
9.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wood Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wood Norton Hotel

Property: The Wood Norton Hotel
Address: Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB, England (Formerly Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wood Norton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wood Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Wood Norton Hall Country Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing