We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional hotel with modern touches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wood Norton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional hotel with modern touches”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

lovely one night stay.

Room was fab, in the main building overlooking the front and worth the extra.
Wonderful huge bed and luxe bathroom.

Food was sensational, really enjoyed the evening meal.
Breakfast was a little disappointing though.

Worth it for a luxe- ish stop over.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFussbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear MrsFussbags,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Wood Norton very soon.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    271
    90
    27
    8
See reviews for
129
604
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We decided to book the Wood Norton to follow a walking weekend so were in need of somewhere quiet and relaxing. This elegant building and gardens fitted the bill well. Arriving on a Sunday it was not busy and we had a quiet meal in the bar attended by the Hungarian barman who was professional and competent. At breakfast we were served well and the food was good. We stayed in the pear tree annexe which has a modern interior. The room was good though the hot water system seemed a bit noisy. The car park was slightly derelict and the access road which is shared with the neighbouring BBC site needed some repairs. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarltonA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I will pass on your comments to Laszlo in the Bar who has only been with us a short time, but is getting on very well.
I completely accept your comments about the road and the car park, these are a work in progress.
Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I booked a 2 night stay via off peak luxury and i was not disappointed. This was a surprise get away for my husband as we had failed to celebrate is 30th last year.
Staff were very attentive and polite.
We had the 5 course al a carte menu which was beautiful but i would advise getting the cheese and biscuits for dessert as i was still rather hungry.
prices for wine etc were very reasonable.
would definitely stay again, may even hint to my husband for our wedding anniversary

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnieDoughnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We tentatively booked Wood Norton Hotel for afternoon tea for six today, knowing that there was also a wedding on. On arrival we were greeted warmly by David and shown to seats in the bar area by the French doors which were open and allowing a gentle breeze to flow through on such a warm day.

We were offered coffees and tea promptly and these came in a teapot per person. We then had a beautifully presented couple of three tier cake stands filled with finger sandwiches, scones and clotted cream with jam and a selection of shortbread, banana bread, mini creme brûlée and chocolate mousse. All freshly prepared. The scones were still warm.

David was a particular highlight to the afternoon and attentively made sure we had iced water on such a warm day along with extra tea as required. He is a credit to the Wood Norton team and it is clear that he really cares about the guests.

The wedding party walked past midway through the afternoon, post ceremony and headed on up to the orangery and to be honest, you would not have even known that they were there. It was a very pleasant afternoon and just the perfect way to celebrate our expectant friend nearly reaching her due date.

Prior to departure we enjoyed the giant wooden Jenga game and a little croquet in the garden. Such a lovely relaxing afternoon and exactly what we were looking for. I whole heartedly recommend Wood Norton for its peaceful and immaculately kept property and gardens, its' fabulous afternoon tea and above all its' genuinely warm and welcoming hospitality.
Thank you, we shall be returning!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0amingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review, i am really glad you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on your thanks to David, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Wood Norton Hall is one of my favourite places to visit. We live close by and visit regularly. Either at the weekend for a gorgeous afternoon tea or maybe lunch which if it is warm enough to sit outside the gardens are peaceful and tranquil. In the evenings we chill with a drink and a book. It is a serene and beautiful place to sit and relax. The staff are quietly attentive and very welcoming and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyJane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay at the Wood Norton, we had a great time. The room was very spacious and comfortable, the afternoon was delicious and the bar area a nice place to sit and relax. The evening meal was delicious and the service very good especially from Alberto. Breakfast the next day was also very good with good service, the ladies on reception were very helpful and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I am very happy that your enjoyed your stay with us, i will pass on your comments to the team. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My short break at The Wood Norton far exceeded my expectations. Perfectly located as a base from which to tour The Cotswolds it was base camp for 3 days. And what a luxurious and wonderful base camp it was. My room The Duchesse D'Orleans is perfectly situated with a window seat overlooking the beautify gardens. Both the bedroom and the bathroom are amazing. Restaurant excellent too. I cannot speak highly enough about this place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
545 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,081 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
199 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pershore
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wood Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wood Norton Hotel

Property: The Wood Norton Hotel
Address: Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB, England (Formerly Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wood Norton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Wood Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Wood Norton Hall Country Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing