We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wood Norton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxury weekend away”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

2 excellent days at the hotel. The staff were very courteous and attentive during our stay and could not do enough to assist. The food was outstanding. We stayed in a Pear Tree rooms (old stable block) which was very comfortable with a huge bed. My only issue was the lack of a full length mirror in the room (operations manager please note) The main building was full of character and the gardens are beautiful. An excellent location for exploring the Cotswolds. I would recommend bourton on the water and lower slaughter. Congratulations to the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yattonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Yattoins,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on TripAdvisor. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your two days with us in Pear Tree Mews.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    267
    90
    27
    7
See reviews for
125
593
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Superb room with great views. Excellent staff and menu, regretted we were only staying one night. Will return to spend more time enjoying the facilities and more of the food. We have already recommended to our family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DicktheDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Dicktheduck,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back for longer next time.

Best wishes
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Wood Norton with friends in May 2014 for one night. The hotel is stunning and was once a hunting lodge for the Duc D'Orleans. It retains many of its original features with extensive wood pannelling throughout which is perfectly complimented by contemporary furnishings.

Staff were helpful and attentive, we had the afternoon tea which was excellent and the evening meal which again was very well presented. In the morning the breakfast service was good with a wide range of options including the full english.

Our room was spacious, well furnished and we couldn't fault anything. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ballyhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Ballyhar,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor .Your feedback is much appreciated

I do hope we have the opportunity to you back in the future.

Best wishes
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

WE HAVE NOW STAYED HERE ON 4 OCCASIONS ........

FIRST TIME , LAST SUMMER, 5 Stars.......

Told friends and family of our find, they visited and they didn't see what we saw etc etc

Maybe we had good visit, maybe they didn't ,,

We returned....... And , well, maybe it wasn't as good as the first time,hey that's life!!

Something has changed ,management,staff.....

There is no doubt this is a fantastic building with fantastic history in a great location .....

There are great deals to be had on line....

Their breakfasts are superb.....

However , you know when you can't just put your finger on what's not quite right with something?

Don't get me wrong, we will go again,......please let me give 5 stars

Room Tip: Over looking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Capability34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
It does sound a little cryptic? if you would like to discuss your thoughts, please email
me at gm@thewoodnorton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We recently stayed at The Wood Norton Hotel.What a lovely hotel in a lovely setting in The Cotswolds.
Our room was at the front (in the main hotel) it was very nice & spacious.
We enjoyed a cream tea on arrival (part of the 'lazy weekend' deal) a delicious five course dinner on both the evenings we stayed & lovely cooked breakfasts ( all included).
The young staff were all very friendly, helpful & attentive, making us feel very comfortable & welcome.
We found the hotel to be a perfect location for visiting the beautiful Cotswolds.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front which was very nice.The rooms at the back had better views overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Triptopluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review
I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team, and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a wonderful break with friends; lovely communal rooms and decent if not brilliant service, nice bedrooms if a bit too hot (it was March so no excuse). To get top ratings, this hotel really needs some leisure facilities, preferably a spa. Likewise, the breakfast could do with a bit of work if it's going to pitch itself at the higher end traveller. Some granola, fruit and yoghurt would add to the offer - the cereal selection as was wasn't really good enough, and the plastic marmite / honey / butter containers more reminiscent of dodgy seaside b&b than boutique hotel or somewhere for a lurury break. It's been beautifully refurbished - decent showers etc - and a few more tweaks would make a big difference.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Viv S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor .Your feedback is much appreciated and very important to us. I would like to acknowledge your comments about breakfast and the temperature of our bedrooms and regarding leisure facilities... please watch this space!

I do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

lovely one night stay.

Room was fab, in the main building overlooking the front and worth the extra.
Wonderful huge bed and luxe bathroom.

Food was sensational, really enjoyed the evening meal.
Breakfast was a little disappointing though.

Worth it for a luxe- ish stop over.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFussbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear MrsFussbags,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Wood Norton very soon.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
523 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,064 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wood Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wood Norton Hotel

Property: The Wood Norton Hotel
Address: Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB, England (Formerly Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wood Norton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wood Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Wood Norton Hall Country Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing