We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY IN ROOM 301”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wood Norton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have special requirements when we travel because my wife is in a wheelchair. We were given Room 301, which was large and spacious with a separate living room and bedroom. The bathroom was excellent, fully adapted for wheelchair use. But it was in a separate building from the main hotel called Pear Tree Mews which was 100 yards up a steep hill from the main buildings. It was possible, though with difficulty, to take the car up to this building, but the nearest parking was at the bottom of the hill. Who would put a wheelchair accessible room in a position where you had to push the chair 100 yards uphill?

But there was worse. The room adjoined a very noisy machinery room, and just outside the window were the air conditioning fans. It was like trying to sleep in an old noisy jet aircraft, or in a factory.

The old mansion house is a delight, with wood-panelling everywhere. Dinner was good; I didn't mind that it was expensive, but at £39.50 it seems mean to add on a supplement for lamb or for vegetables. Service was friendly and professional.

Breakfast on Sunday was one of those awful buffets with cold bacon and with fried eggs pre-cooked, all self-served on to cold plates. We were expecting the same on Monday morning, but this breakfast was done properly - freshly cooked to order and served well.

So, while we loved the main building and the gardens, and the staff were excellent, there were disappointments.

Room Tip: Don't choose 301 if you dislike 24-hour machinery.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
I am so sorry to hear of the issues you were faced with during your stay with us, I would have welcomed the opportunity to put them right during your stay.
I will be looking into all the items you have raised, feedback is a vital component in improving our service.
Thank you for your kind comments about the team, I will pass onto the staff.
Please feel free to contact me at gm@thewoodnorton.com if you wish to discuss your stay further.
Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
There are newer reviews for The Wood Norton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

had a lovely over night stay at this hotel and would recommend it to our family and friends,the only thing I can fault is when we went for breakfast the plates were cold and made our breakfast go cold quickly apart from that excellent should be 5 star

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and i hope we can welcome you back sometime in the future. Thank you for your comments about the plates, i will pass this on to the Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I've honestly never stayed at a hotel with this high a level of service. The gentleman who handles breakfast (I believe his name is Paul) went above and beyond to make our stay fantastic and refused to accept any tip in exchange. The next night, the restaurant and bar had closed, my friends and I were in for the night, and I was starving. I called down to the front desk and the night attendant (I believe his name was David), offered to go down to the kitchen and make me a roast beef sandwich and a salad. He brought it up to my room, and the hotel didn't even charge me for it! I will absolutely stay here every single time I'm in the area, and I highly recommend anyone else does. This is a hotel that lives and breathes customer service, and in a world where so many businesses take their customers for granted, it was a treat to stay with them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anusha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Anusha D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on TripAdvisor. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that Paul, David and the rest of my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked the Romance Package: this included a very nice flower arrangement in the room, real champagne, albeit of a cheaper variety, and petit four type sweets, although some proper chocolates would have been preferable. We were made to feel very welcome by staff, but I do object to being greeted in a place at this cost by "Are you all right?"

In the Dorothee Room, Duchesse d'Orleans. A medium/ large wood panelled room, with an enormous bathroom with shower and bath: a magnificent view of the gardens and the countryside in the distance. We were very happy with the room, apart for the wifi, which was fairly hopeless, intermittent and not fast: in the end I had to go into the hallway to get a decent signal.

The building is very interesting, with wood paneling everywhere and interesting hall and stairs.

Dinner was a five course one of very high quality, but if it were not for the (excellent) rolls, we would have been left hungry. Two of the courses consisted of an 'amuse bouche' and a sorbet: none of the others were very large. We tried both the turbot and sea bream, both excellent tasting fish. Frankly, if you want a full meal, you might be better off with the bar menu, which some of us tried the second night. However, again staff were exceptionally friendly and helped with everything they could.

Breakfast was good, a hot buffet, with porridge on request and (at extra charge, although we were not told this) very good kippers and haddock

For places to visit, have a look at Pershore, a lovely town and the Abbey, also the carved tree in the grounds.

We would stay at this hotel again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask about what the view is like and whether there will be any noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review and the comments you made.
We are a listed building and some of the infrastructure does not lend itself very well to getting good wifi signal or telephone signal for that matter. That is one of the challenges of an historic building in the countryside.
We are undergoing a review of our whole food offering from top to bottom and will hopefully make advances, and i thank you for your feedback.
Thank you once again for your review, and i hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A warm welcome, a lovely building, excellent dinner in the bar and breakfast. Staff were very friendly and they coped with a local power outage for over an hour in the morning really well.

So why only 4 stars? Room 107 looked like everything we wanted - large room, huge bathroom, lovely bed, all very comfortable. However, we soon experienced 2 problems. Firstly, nearby there is an emergency exit with 2 doors which both banged loudly every time that housekeeping staff walked through - although a quick response after a chat at reception helped to reduce that. More significant though was the very loud noise from the 2 large air con outlets located above the bathroom which ran til late and started again at 5.40am.

Following our check-out we got an email within 24 hours, from Wood Norton saying if you have had any problems please do contact us before you post reviews so that we can respond. What a good idea we thought, so we replied with the comments above straight away. A week later we are still waiting for a reply!

Room Tip: 107 is a lovely room if you aren't sensitive to noise
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review
I am very sorry you have a few issues during your stay with us. Unfortunately also we do not have any recollection of an email from yourselves. Perhaps you would be kind enough to resend it to me direct at gm@thewoodnorton.com
Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My partner took me to the Wood Norton as a surprise last weekend. Gorgeous building which continued when we got inside. Booking in we were warmly welcomed and it was lovely to have the offer of taking our bags to our room.
Once we got to the room in the annexe of the building we found it to be lovely with everything we needed.
Afternoon tea had been prebooked and this was delicious, by far the best homemade scones I've eaten for years!
As it was a warm evening we sat outside for a drink and watching a hot air balloon take off from the field opposite was nice to see.
We opted for the late dinner sitting, dining room was nice and the food was superb. It's a rarity for me to clear my plate but this time I ate every bit of my 5 courses.
We challenged the bar with an unusual Tom Collins cocktail, along with a mojito and cosmopolitan and they did great jobs of them all.
Special thanks to all the staff who looked after us so well, I was proposed to over dinner and all of them congratulated us. It was a pleasure to have stayed in such a lovely place with a great team working there.
The only negative I found was, as the last reviewer also put, a full length mirror was missing in the room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Claire H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments on TripAdvisor. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team are thrilled you had a great stay. We are delighted you enjoyed the fantastic food and beverage offerings here at The Wood Norton and a huge congratulations to you both on your engagement from all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

2 excellent days at the hotel. The staff were very courteous and attentive during our stay and could not do enough to assist. The food was outstanding. We stayed in a Pear Tree rooms (old stable block) which was very comfortable with a huge bed. My only issue was the lack of a full length mirror in the room (operations manager please note) The main building was full of character and the gardens are beautiful. An excellent location for exploring the Cotswolds. I would recommend bourton on the water and lower slaughter. Congratulations to the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yattonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Yattoins,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on TripAdvisor. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your two days with us in Pear Tree Mews.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
581 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,097 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,033 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
211 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wood Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wood Norton Hotel

Address: Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB, England (Formerly Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range: £102 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wood Norton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Wood Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Wood Norton Hall Country Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing