We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wood Norton, Evesham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wood Norton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a hotel that thinks it is better than it is. We arrived to be shown to an Executive room in the main building, which most hotels would describe as standard, it was small with a very basic bathroom. When we asked if they had a bigger room we were informed they varied in size but there were none others left. We decided to pay for an upgrade to a luxury Hall room which was spacious and beautifully wood panelled, shame therefore about the cheap interior furniture, and when looking for a dressing table in the morning there was nothing at all to sit at with a mirror to do hair etc, astonishing. The evening meal was good, but small portions for the fish main course and breakfast was very slow. The ordered cooked breakfast took 25 mins to arrive with no apology and really wasn't anything more than pre cooked, microwaved to be too hot to eat. Drinks at the bar - beware a mixer costs more than a spirit. Lovely Addy Gardner pictures on the walls, but a case of a hotel raking in the money for a less than a 5 or even 4 star experience. The customer has the problem not the hotel kind of a place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dna_gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear dna_gregory,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured we take all feedback received here at The Wood Norton very seriously, Your feedback is very important to us and will assit with our progression and development.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
There are newer reviews for The Wood Norton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed for one night with my fiance for my Birthday. The. main building is amazing although we stayed in one of the other buildings outside. The room was very nice and absolutely immaculate as was everywhere else around the site. No SKY channels in the room which was disappointing for a top end hotel. The hotel re-opened to the public a couple of years ago and it is obvious they have spent some money on the grounds and all the buildings.
We ate dinner in the restaurant in the evening. The food was amazing, a really good menu and the staff were really attentive. They served us the wrong wine but soon rectified their mistake and apologised. Drinks at bar were over priced as you would expect, this seems to be standard these days in hotels. Breakfast was also good, especially the sausages and staff again were very helpful and polite.
Would definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inspectorcalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Inspectorcalls,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor. It is much appreciated and I will ensure i pass on your kind words to the kitchen and rest of my teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Wood Norton in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The first thing that strikes you visiting the Wood Norton is the ambiance and surroundings that have been created to make your visit special. The welcome from the team and the style in which they look after you is so different from a chain hotel, it works at a personal level which is a rarity in today's commodity hotel market. The attention to making your experience memorable works at all levels, my room was immaculate and well designed, I had a very comfortable night and slept well. The history of the hotel and its association with the BBC is well worth asking about ,which adds to its uniqueness. I dined well, enjoyed the banter with bar staff and came away with the feeling I want to come back. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that the team are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed an overnight stay at this delightful hotel. We were lucky to get a 'special deal', which consisted of a cream tea on arrival, a five course evening meal and a double room with breakfast. The building itself is exquisite, with wood panelling walls, floor and ceilings. We stayed in The Pear Tree rooms, which were very tastefully decorated. We dined outside on the terrace, with a perfect view of the Malvern Hills and the meal was superb, the chef obviously takes great pride in his work. The staff were a pleasure to deal with and made our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deedee50+
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Deedee,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Celebrating our friends 50th birthday, 5 couples enjoyed an excellent overnight stay here. We arrived Friday afternoon and enjoyed the sunshine by sitting out on the terrace, we were indulged with cream teas and jugs of Pimms then the delicious 5 course evening meal. The staff were very attentive and efficient. Our room was in the Pear Tree Mews, which was a little warm (we could have borrowed a fan but chose not to) but it was a very pleasant room with lovely decor. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. Would definitely come back for another celebration & overnight stay. Well done to the whole team.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are larger & more luxurious but the other rooms are of a very high st...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Ian,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated and I can assure you my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Pear Tree Mews here at The Wood Norton.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We found this hotel in Warwickshire as we had a long journey from Hampshire to Yorkshire and decided to break the journey with a stop in a country hotel en-route.

We arrived quite late (9.30pm ish) and we were checked-in swiftly. The room we were allocated was quite dark with little natural light as it was behind the main house in a separate building. We had also been given a twin room despite booking a King but as soon as we raised this with reception they immediately moved us to a king room and the owner's son (Charlie) came to apologize and offered us both a complementary drink.

We dined from the bar menu and the food was glorious. Due to the good weather we were able to dine in the garden and take advantage of the amazing settings and views.

All the staff are were incredibly friendly and helpful and although we were only in residence for a short time, we would definitely return. We would request a better category of room next time as we think it would be much nice to stay in the main house.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MissApril77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Miss April,

I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor. My sincere apologies for the room mix up when you arrived. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Charlie, Chef and the rest of my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Wood Norton in the near future.

Best wishes
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for one night, no rooms in the main hotel but stayed in the pear tree rooms which are part of the hotel, again very comfortable and very French in decor with crisp cotton linen. We paid £179.00 for one night for a double room which included a five course dinner and breakfast, and afternoon cream tea but we missed that.
Dinner very good, breakfast really good too. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenkendaluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Ken,

I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are deligted to know you enjoyed your stay in Pear Tree Mews here at The Wood Norton. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
581 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,096 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,030 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
210 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wood Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wood Norton Hotel

Address: Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB, England (Formerly Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range: £102 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wood Norton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Wood Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Wood Norton Hall Country Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing