We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class, as ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wood Norton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1st class, as ever.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from our fourth stay at the "Wood Norton". Can`t fault the very high standards of accommodation, food, ambiance etc. etc. but what really makes the place" tick" is the professionalism, friendliness and warmth of the staff in all areas. Looking forward to returning again.
Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are very much appreciated and I can assure you that everyone will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your return visit.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    274
    92
    28
    7
See reviews for
129
610
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night only on a dbb deal as a treat. After trawling through dozens of possibilities we decided on the Wood Norton; I'm so pleased we did!

We stayed in one of the Pear Tree rooms which are set around a courtyard adjacent to the main building. It was
beautifully clean, smartly furnished.....not huge but very pleasant.

The hotel gardens and terrace were very pretty and we had fun playing bowls and croquet on the lawn before rain stopped play!

Our stay was made special by the charming attention given by the staff here. They were all professional but wonderfully friendly and made you instantly feel relaxed and "at home". The food at dinner was delicious and I thought perfectly portioned. If I were to make one comment it would be that our main course was served on a slate and was a little cold.....I had no reservation that I could have sent it back with no unease but once I had taken my first mouthful I didn't want to stop eating it!! My cherry dessert was to die for!

I had two occasions when I had to request room service. Firstly for an iron and extra sugar abd secondly I had forgotten my toothbrush. Both times my requests were dealt with immediately and happily.

I would love to return to The Wood Norton and hope to in the future. Thank you for making our short stay with you so great.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Lesley,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor.It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Wood Norton Hotel for our Golden Wedding Anniversary.
I cannot praise this hotel enough everything about our stay was wonderful.
The staff cannot do enough for you especially in the restaurant and bar.
We loved the food and wine in the beautiful dining room.
Thank you so much to you all at the Wood Norton for a wonderful few days we will never forget.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Barbara,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that the team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon and congratulations on your Golden Wedding Anniversary from all the team.

Kind regards,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Excellent hotel set in lovely gardens. Very close to Cotswolds. Located just off main road but set back far enough and high enough not to be affected by traffic noise. The standard of accomodation throughout the hotel was excellent and the staff were well trained, attentive and courteous. The evening meal was relatively expensive however was a fine dining experience and we were very glad we ate there. Breakfast was adequate, however for a hotel of this standard some of the "extras" ,eg kippers should have been within the price. Overall we would happily recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Lily,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed with friends to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. A great setting, wonderful staff, very comfortable rooms and superb food. Staying as part of a special deal, the scene was set with a couple of free jugs of Pimms combined with a game of Croquet on the picturesque lawn. The room was clean, great bed and nice ensuite bathroom. Food in the restaurant for the evening was wonderful, attentive staff and a great selection.

A nice little gem, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Jolly_Nick,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are very much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just had daughter's wedding reception at Wood Norton with guests staying overnight. Excellent food and the rooms were great slick performance of staff at all times cannot be faulted all round.
Set in lovely countryside.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnbracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear John,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that they helped make your daughters wedding such a magical day.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
651 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This review will be in two parts because I, personally love the place but there were little niggles peculiar to my group of companions.
I would definitely stay here again (if they would have me back!). The building exterior is beautiful, historic and is positioned in a lovely setting. The gardens are beautiful, with for a change, lots of roses - with perfume! The lawn to the front of the house is elegant, lovely patio seating, views from the parapet wall and even a set of bowls on the grass. In the sun, as it was on the morning we left, all looked totally elegant.
The inside of the house is architecturally interesting and unusual because of the nature of its history, with door furniture as I have never seen before. The styling for the Hotel has been done sympathetically with a tasteful modern twist, love the chairs throughout the place. The dining/breakfast room is classically tasteful, white linen table cloths and beautiful windows/French doors. The bar and bar eating area is modern inside the historic room and blends well.
There was a wedding party in residence whilst we were there but they had separate facilities so we had the bar eating area to ourselves, and as the last night of our trip, it made a lovely occasion. The bar menu was quite varied although one of my companions had great difficulty in choosing something as he cannot eat garlic. The only soup on the menu was Gazpacho but the chef was persuaded to find an alternative. The food was well presented, good and reasonable value for a venue such as this. Our waitress Agnes, just learning, was charming, with a lovely attitude. The bar manager too dealt with our "awkwardness" with smiles and patience. The reception staff too were very efficient and charming and management smartly dressed.
We were in rooms in a building that I understand was formerly a zoo to one of the earlier owners, interesting entranceway to it. The rooms were spacious, elegantly designed and immaculate. On the plus side, being away from the main building meant it was very quiet and wedding guests returning that night must have been like mice! How considerate.
Breakfast was very busy and buzzy because the wedding party were in. The maitre d saw our approach and had already moved tables to accommodate us as we walked in.
Of all our recent stays, this was the first totally buffet breakfast we had experienced, I suppose not surprising with the volume of guests there, and although the buffet was extensive, great sausages!, the remaining fried eggs didnt look attractive so I asked for fresh ones. When they arrived sadly, they had clearly been keeping warm on a hot plate in the kitchen, the yolks were hard and the white was rubbery. Disappointing for such a quality venue, particularly when I had specifically asked for fresh eggs.
Whether because of the wedding, but I got the distinct impression that there were a lot of recently new staff, some appearing not to know whether they should step forward and clear plates and at what point. One of the girls placed a fresh pot of coffee onto the table by reaching right across the front of my disabled companion, rather than walking round the table. (My former mother-in-law Silver service waitress would have had a fit!). Young waiting staff do not seem to be trained in the same ways any more. Im sure these are all teething problems though. On the whole, the stay was lovely, and for me as an individual, the following issues would not normally be issues.

On the negative side, for our party having a disabled guest and effectively me as carer to two, our accommodation was very awkward to reach. If we had been in the main house, there is a lift but of course, these rooms are priced accordingly, and in truth, we would probably not have wanted to pay such prices. Our accommodation was up a sloping access road, quite steep and difficult for my companion who uses a walker/trolley. Then it was through two doors, up a flight of quite narrow stairs (with bannister rail), and through yet another door. On arrival because work was going on near our accommodation, the bar blocking use of the service road was down and I assumed I could drive up it, but I was subsequently told that the service road was not for the use of guests. There appeared to be no assistance available to guests for carrying bags, which whilst I normally manage them myself, would have been much simpler had their been a luggage trolley available and a little surprising for this quality/standard of Hotel.
So, I would say if you are a disabled person/carer considering staying here, be aware of the pitfalls. Despite the issues, my party were all totally glad I had made the booking and loved the place. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, I should think the ultimate would be staying in the main house, otherwise, roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Gail,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor.It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I would also like acknowledge receipt of your email.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
565 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,089 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
204 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wood Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wood Norton Hotel

Property: The Wood Norton Hotel
Address: Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB, England (Formerly Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wood Norton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Wood Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Wood Norton Hall Country Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing