We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in amost every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wood Norton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Visited the Wood Norton in mid July. It really is difficut to find fault with the place. Excellent friendly and helpful staff, good sized clean and tidy rooms and possibly the best food I have eaten for years.

The only issue we did have was errors on our bill at checkout, caused a small unwelcome delay to the checkout process as we were in a rush but staff resolved the issues in a fast and efficient manner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear CognosJohn,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to The Wood Norton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and please accept our apologies for the slight delay when checking out.

We look forwward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

their mark up only had a night's stay but wish it was longer.
The suite at the front, room 101 (I know it made me smile too) was huge. I lay in bed knowing the history of this place as the former BBC head office then a BBC training center. Dr Who used it many times as it's so full of atmosphere and intrigue. I wondered if a Dalek had stood where I slept and as a child used to hide behind the sofa.
The evening dinner was really good with a fab selection of some cracking wines, even a Margeaux 2005 if one was willing to splash out for it. Although, knowing wines, the mark up was very reasonable.
The staff were attentive and genuine. Made me smile and definately wanted to make sure you were satisfied.
I stuffed myself with an excellent breakfast and made a mental note to return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rich_d_Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Rich,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on TripAdvisor.It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were booked into the hall queen deluxe room. It was very spacious with a large bathroom, I was a bit disappointed to find it only had a shower and no bath, I have a mobility issue and don't feel safe in them. The bed was extremely comfortable indeed with crisp white linen, it was difficult to get up in the morning as we felt so cosy. I loved the peace and quiet, it was absolute bliss! :)
To wake up to hear birds singing without any other noise was wonderful. The breakfast buffet could do with a little work as two days out of three it wasn't really hot enough. We had dinner there one evening which took two and a half hours as they were very busy.The best part was the dessert which was a work of art and delicious. All the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. With a small amount of fine tuning this could be wonderful, would definately go back there again. Felt very refreshed from our stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Samantha,

I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor.

Please be assured we take all feedback received at The Wood Norton very seriously indeed and that we are fully committed to delivering an outstanding guest experience. I will be sure to pass on your very kind words to the rest of my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a really enjoyable evening,the food and the service was excellent. The staff were all very friendly,especially the receptionist, and the setting is beautiful. We will definitely be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Helena,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor. Your time and feedback is much appreciated. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the rest of my team who be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Wood Norton.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from our fourth stay at the "Wood Norton". Can`t fault the very high standards of accommodation, food, ambiance etc. etc. but what really makes the place" tick" is the professionalism, friendliness and warmth of the staff in all areas. Looking forward to returning again.
Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are very much appreciated and I can assure you that everyone will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your return visit.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My partner and I stayed for one night only on a dbb deal as a treat. After trawling through dozens of possibilities we decided on the Wood Norton; I'm so pleased we did!

We stayed in one of the Pear Tree rooms which are set around a courtyard adjacent to the main building. It was
beautifully clean, smartly furnished.....not huge but very pleasant.

The hotel gardens and terrace were very pretty and we had fun playing bowls and croquet on the lawn before rain stopped play!

Our stay was made special by the charming attention given by the staff here. They were all professional but wonderfully friendly and made you instantly feel relaxed and "at home". The food at dinner was delicious and I thought perfectly portioned. If I were to make one comment it would be that our main course was served on a slate and was a little cold.....I had no reservation that I could have sent it back with no unease but once I had taken my first mouthful I didn't want to stop eating it!! My cherry dessert was to die for!

I had two occasions when I had to request room service. Firstly for an iron and extra sugar abd secondly I had forgotten my toothbrush. Both times my requests were dealt with immediately and happily.

I would love to return to The Wood Norton and hope to in the future. Thank you for making our short stay with you so great.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Lesley,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on Tripadvisor.It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Wood Norton Hotel for our Golden Wedding Anniversary.
I cannot praise this hotel enough everything about our stay was wonderful.
The staff cannot do enough for you especially in the restaurant and bar.
We loved the food and wine in the beautiful dining room.
Thank you so much to you all at the Wood Norton for a wonderful few days we will never forget.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Barbara,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that the team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon and congratulations on your Golden Wedding Anniversary from all the team.

Kind regards,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
611 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,143 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
110 reviews
8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
479 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wood Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wood Norton Hotel

Address: Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB, England (Formerly Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range: £84 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wood Norton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Wood Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Wood Norton Hall Country Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing