We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be lots better”
Review of The Malvern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Malvern
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could be lots better”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

For an expensive spa I must admit I was very disappointed. The place was scruffy, the restaurant was poor (lady who served us lovely) but staff just standing around chatting and our food took over1/2 hour to one out and was just a omelette and poached eggs.
The relaxation room was also not great the staff chatting in the corridor were noisy and the place just was t well kept.
A disappointing time - never use the place again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KJCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello there

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit.

I am so disappointed to read your comments and that you did not enjoy your time here. As can be seen from our many previous positive reviews, it is most unusual for our guests to leave dissatisfied.

I will ensure your feedback is shared with all of the teams so that we can ensure we make learnings/changes where needed.

Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    307
    114
    52
    24
See reviews for
115
450
40
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed overnight and both had spa treatments, despite being initially disappointed by the location it proved to be an enjoyable night away.
All the staff without exception were pleasant and accommodating, a big plus point.
Our hotel room was clean and spacious the views aren't the most amazing but thats not really what we went for, so we weren't overally concerned.
Our treatments we very good, especially the elimis facial I had -would definitely recommend, my back and shoulder massage was cut a little bit short and as it was only for half an hour in the first place I felt a little cheated!
There was a nice and relaxing ambience inside the spa, and I feel that the wonderful staff together with the vast selection of lovely treatments available make the Malvern Spa worth a visit....we would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GemmaLNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Gemma

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted you both enjoyed your stay and 'saw beyond the location'.

It is great to learn you enjoyed your treatments but I am disappointed to note one was cut short. This is most unusual and I hope you did discuss this with the Spa Manager at the time

I look forward to welcoming you both back at The Malvern in the very near future.

Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My boyfriend surprised me with a spa break at the Malvern and we throughly enjoyed it! We had a very warm welcome at reception in which the lady gave us a short tour of the facilities and directed us to our room. The room was very spacious with slippers and robes on the bed waiting for us to begin our spa experience. The outdoor pool was great with all the different heated jacuzzi/whirlpool areas, indoor heated pool was lovely and we enjoyed the various steam rooms, salt rooms and saunas that were available. We also tried out the gym facilities and we found a varied amount of gym equipment for us to try out. We dined at the restaurant for our evening meal and it didn't disppoint we both had the lamb which was so tender and gorgeous and breakfast in the morning didn't disappoint. We would definitely return to the Malven again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Kate

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am delighted you both enjoyed your surprise break at The Malvern.

It is great that you enjoyed using all of the facilities and restaurant and I hope we will see you both again soon.

Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Internal of the hotel including rooms and facilities were very nice.
Massages were amazing and the outdoor pool.
Staff were friendly.
Comfortable beds
Very disappointed we couldn't use any facilities till 3pm.
Expected more facilties for a 'spa' hotel, most good hotels have the same.
Restaurant didn't live up to expectation, and no atmosphere. Poor buffet breakfast selection and only available till. 9.30.
No separate bar for drinks before or after meal. So an 9.30 retreat back to our room which was a shame.
Hotel is on a business/retail park which was a little strange, but was easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezzie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi there

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to learn you were a little disappointed with your visit to The Malvern although I note you did enjoy the treatments, facilities and rooms.

As with many hotels check in, and use of facilities, is from 3pm. This is detailed in the booking confirmation and is advised at time of booking.

I am surprised at your comments regarding the bar as we do have a bar, within the restaurant. This is open to residents for as long as they want it. At this time of year, we also offer drinks on the outdoor patio. I am unsure if you asked a member of staff about the bar area as they would have pointed you in this direction.

Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were a family of four adults celebrating a special birthday and staying for two nights. We were essentially hotel patrons although we anticipated using the spa and well-being facilities at the end of a long walk we planned or in the event of bad weather. We were certainly glad to have this option because the weather on the full day of our stay was so wet that we were kept in the hotel. Our experience was on the whole positive.

The bedrooms were clean, well maintained and quiet even though the hotal is situated on a fairly busy road. There was a great range of "aquatic" experiences within the pool complex; saunas and steam room were large, fragrant and peaceful. Ice or cold water facilities were the options for cooling off. Cleaning staff were constantly but unobtrusively tidying and cleaning. The manicure I had was done to a high standard and by a friendly beautician - very positive experience in a very relaxing atmosphere. We ate mainly in the Brasserie.The quality of the food was good although we were disappointed that on the first night some items on the already shortish menu were not available.

Overall the staff were friendly, wishing to be helpful. Our main criticism was the hapazard nature of the administration of the hotel - e.g. when we came to check out we found wrong names on two of the room accounts and a charge appeared on one account which should not have been there causing a significant delay whilst it was sorted out.

In summary a good choice if you plan to make full use of the spa and well-being facilities, but if you just want somewhere to eat , drink and sleep there are probably better value options around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48DelbOy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello there

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am pleased you enjoyed all of our facilities, even though this was not the main theme/reason for your visit.

It is a shame the restaurant had run out of some of the menu options when you came to eat and I am sorry you did not get to fully experience our amazing food.

With regards to the errors at check out, I can understand how this marred your stay and apologise that this happened. We have recently had a few new reception staff and although this is not an excuse for errors, as they are in training, it may go some way to explaining how they happened.

I do hope you will visit us again soon.

Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Last night me and my friends went for a meal in the Malvern Spa Restaurant, The food was ultimately amazing. The quality of the Lamb that I had was divine and the raspberry sorbet was perfection. All of the four of us enjoyed every aspect of our meal and the waitresses were just so lovely, Megan, Charlotte etc. Delightful. I thoroughly recommend if you want a outstanding meal at an exceelent price go to Malvern Spa

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie-AnneAbba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Carrie-Anne

Thank you for your review of our restaurant.

I am delighted you and your friends had such an enjoyable time and loved our amazing food and service.

I do hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Izzy Zapytowska, Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at The Malvern for one night, we stayed in an 'Executive Double' which wasn't that impressive.

The plus points:
+ Spa is lovely and the facilities are all very nice.
+ Nice touch that you can come and go into the Spa having completed paperwork at checkin.
+ Staff were friendly and helpful.

The downside:
- Handles on the shower in our room came off if you touched them.
- Due to handles being broken there was little temperature adjustment.
- Nescafe coffee in the room! I cannot recall the last time I stayed in a hotel which sells itself as a 'boutique hotel' and couldn't get a decent coffee until breakfast time.
- Breakfast was nice and clearly well sourced ingredients, but the poached eggs we both had better resembled hard boiled eggs!

We won't be rushing back in a hurry, as nice as the facilities are, they don't make up for the downsides.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello Jamie

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback.

I am sorry to learn you had difficulties with the shower in your room and also that you were disappointed with the coffee and eggs. I will share your comments with the team for future reference.

As you enjoyed our spa facilities I do hope you may reconsider and visit us again.

Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
1,136 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
119 reviews
4.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
3.5 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malvern

Property: The Malvern
Address: Grovewood Road, Malvern WR14 1GD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malvern 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Malvern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malvern Hotel Malvern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing