We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”
Review of Grassendale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malvern
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grassendale House
Ranked #26 of 30 Malvern B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here during August 2011 (sorry for the delay in posting, only just getting up to date with reviews) for four nights whilst I attended the Malvern Arts Summer School.
We found the whole experience delightful and the B & B well situated to allow easy access to the campus.
The breakfeast was an occasion in itself, served in sumptious surroundings, beautifully presented and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts.
Our room was comfortable and elegantly decorated, with a beautiful victorian patchwork quilt covering the gorgeous bed - all other comforts were thought of and considered.
The hosts deserve another mention, they were really wonderful and full of good local knowledge and ideas to make our stay special. When I was not quite sure of the location of my course, the delightful gentleman even offered to walk me down - which I think goes well beyond something which you could expect.
All in all - an excellent experience and cannot recommend highly enough. Only wish I had more time to stay and make use of the extensive library and enjoy the atmosphere more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DyeVerse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed at Grassendale House during a trip to England as chaperone to a group of teenagers. We stayed in Malvern and took day trips to neighboring communities. I returned to Grassendale House completely exhausted each day in the late afternoon or evening. The host would greet us cheerfully, then make tea and join us for a visit. The hosts had great ideas for places to visit and restaurants to try. They generously offered to drive us to various places in the community where we were meeting the larger group. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: We saved money by choosing the self catering option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank refreshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Grassendale house is a little difficult to find as the numbers in the street don't seem to be sequential .... eventually I parked in a carpark on Victoria Road and strolled along looking for a house that matched the picture in our brochure...
In the event it is sideways on to the street and set back a bit.
The house is full of interesting things and has a lot of character. Our room was large and comfortable and whilst our ensuite was not actually entered from our room it was almost as good, as there was a curtain which could be drawn across the alcove to give privacy.
Our hostess was charming and the breakfast was very good. We would go back and probably will, as there are quite a lot of things to do around Malvern.
Loads of eating places in town and we had a really nice meal in a restaurant our hostess recommended... no more than 10 mins walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelican65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

With the refrains of Tiger rag and Flat foot floosie and other tunes in our heads from the nearby Upton jazz festival, we arrived at Grassendale, which has an air of art deco and ease and comfort. We opened the bedroom curtains to the view of the Malvern Hills. Our hostess drove us up after breakfast to a starting point on the ridge for a circular walk back to the b&b. We have memories of spectacular panoramic views over the most beautiful scenery of Herefordshire and Worcestershire. We were touched by the hostess and host's warmth and cordiality and would heartily recommend this as a choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny209964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

A very pleaseant nights stay, with excellent service. Large rooms with strong artistic touches. Very close to town centre oustanding food at breakfast. Particularly helpful landlord and wife.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josieschorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

It is always a pleasure to stay in this lovely period house, which is beautifully furnished and full of character, unlike many bland hotels. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfasts are excellent.

The owners are very welcoming and eager to be of assistance. The house is only 5 minutes walk from the town centre and yet the surroundings are very peaceful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna-artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We were recommended to stay here by a b&b that was already full. For this I shall always be grateful. This place is wonderful. It is a five minute walk from tthe town centre with parking right outside the house in a quiet, safe area.The house is a delight, full of beautiful furniture, tastefully decorated and very home from home. Nothing was too much trouble. I forgot my daysack and was able to borrow one. We were offered a lift to British Camp for us to walk back and directions and suggestions for places we might like to see were both useful and accurate. The bed was really comfy and there was no traffic noise at all so we slept really well, only waking to the smell of Rowley's bacon wafting up the stairs. Breakfast was excellent, with a full 'English' and hot toast.The garden was open to us to sit in and the whole stay felt like staying with friends. We added an extra night to our visit and would love to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewmarketSausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malvern hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Malvern Hotel
Great Malvern Hotel
#8 of 10 in Malvern
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
1,191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cannara Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Wentworth House B & B
Wentworth House B & B
#17 of 30 in Malvern
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassendale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassendale House

Address: Grassendale House 3 Victoria Road, Malvern WR14 2TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Malvern
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing