We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have no question suggesting that it is the No 1 BnB in Great Malvern”
Review of Grassendale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malvern
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grassendale House
Ranked #30 of 33 Malvern B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Spent 2 nights there, both Roly and Hilary are wonderful, arrived extremely late and surprised to find Roly stayed up for me! Came back again very late at night, and found a note asking me what i wanted for breakfast the next day. Whats more, the breakfast is awesome, place is nicely decorated and the location is superb. Def will come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip_jeremy_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2012

We spent a weekend in Malvern for our first wedding anniversary, and finding this place was one of the highlights of the trip. Our room was stunning; decorated in a vintage style with beautiful furniture, comfy beds and lots of warm bedding, important at this time of year! The breakfast was fine, if not spectacular, and there is an interesting library to spend an afternoon relaxing in. The location is good - the B&B is nestled at the foot of the hills with the town centre, and a couple of pubs nearby. The hosts Hilary and Roland are friendly and accommodating and can offer some decent advice on where is good for food nearby. I think this hotel is extremely cheap considering the quality of accommodation - and don't be fooled by the Grassendale website, which doesn't do the property itself justice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the first floor which has a private, but separate bathroom with a roll-top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adamia189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Hilary and Roly were great hosts; super-friendly and accommodating. The house is beautiful and full of character and personal touches, and the room we stayed in ws lovely and had everything we needed. The homemade breakfast was a total delight, including the homemade jams. We were left wanting for nothing. If we return to Malvern, we will definitely return to Grassendale.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I stayed one night at Grassendale and it was lovely. The bed was comfortable and cosy. I loved the patchwork quilt. The bedroom and bathroom were beautiful and very clean and well equipped. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The owners were very kind and helpful, and the wifi worked well. i would happily stay here again, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I had the room with a seperate bathroom and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

just returned home from this marvellous bed and breakfast.Roly and Hilary were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble.Grassendale is a lovely house and offers excellent value for money.I thoroughly recommend it!.

Colin sleight

Room Tip: the brass room where i stayed has views of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I have stayed here twice. Hillary and Roly make you feel so welcome. They serve French coffee in a Cafetiere at breakfast. I was delighted, and the biggest selection of jams, honeys etc. imaginable. The house is very charming, and in a quiet location, but within easy reach of the centre of Malvern, and has a beautiful garden. Great value.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank johnedwardpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just returned from a peaceful and relaxing stay in this wonderful and quirky house, just a short walk from the town centre but in a very quiet road. Every room is different, with plenty of interesting and unusual objects, pictures, wall hangings and furniture. Hilary and Roland are the most friendly, relaxed and helpful of people, and went beyond the call of duty in even offering to try to fix my old car. Breakfasts are delicious and freshly cooked to order. If I am ever staying in Malvern again this is where I would choose to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malvern hotels
2.7 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 10 in Malvern
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foley Arms Hotel
Foley Arms Hotel
#2 of 10 in Malvern
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassendale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassendale House

Address: Grassendale House 3 Victoria Road, Malvern WR14 2TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Malvern
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing