We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly noisy”

The Malvern Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 98 Restaurants in Malvern
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Tewkesbury
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terribly noisy”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Poor value food, warm bottle of white wine, no drinks offered before meal, wrong dessert served. Chef offered to remove items for gluten-free diet but not replace with anything. Cramped seating and so noisy from other diners - actually could not wait to leave as my ears hurt. Went for Valentines Night and won't be returning.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Sophie

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to learn you had a disappointing Valentines evening with us.

I am surprised by your comments as we usually receive very good feedback on our food and service but it seems we fell short on this occasion. It is unusual for an alternative meal not to be suggested and I apologise this did not happen.

The restaurant is limited in size and numbers to ensure a great atmosphere without the crowding and noise you mention and I will ensure we look into why you did not experience this on Friday.

Once again, I am sorry you had a disappointing evening with us and thank you for your comments.

Laura Fish, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Pork Belly was incredible”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great menu, and amazing food. Myself and partner both had the pork belly to start and i have to admit it was probably the best pork belly I've tried, the sauces used complimented it beautifully. The mains were lovely too, the only minor criticism is the desert we had which included a sticky toffee pudding,mulled fruit, and cinnamon ice-cream could of done with a little bit of sauce for the pudding.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi there again Camilla!

Thank you for taking the time to write a separate review regarding your dining experience.

I am delighted you enjoyed the food so much, especially the pork belly and will take on board your feedback regarding the sauce for the dessert.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Laura Fish, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The staff were very attentive, sometimes a little slow with service but overall good. The food was excellent. I had the slow cooked angus beef and it just fell apart. Very tasty and good value for money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandrahagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The food was overpriced, the scallops were not very fresh and the lamb was overcooked. Not a disaster but not worth the money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Syborg5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Special Occasion Venue”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Food was well prepared and tasty. Prices quite high (Starters £6-£9 Mains £15-£19) but worth it overall. A little concerned as to how often they change the menu, with only 5 or 6 Starters and 5 or 6 Mains choices could become very limited fairly quickly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tumpty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Malvern Restaurant also viewed

 
Malvern, Malvern Hills
 

Been to The Malvern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing