We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make your own judgement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malvern Hills Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Booking this hotel on the last minute we were somewhat alarmed by the low ratings but like other reviewers we looked back at previous comments and formed our own opinions.

We had a lovely 2 night stay, the food was superb, the room faultless and the staff caring and giving much attention to detail. As a mother of 3 children who have now almost 'flown the nest' I have to say it is not an area of the country I would have considered for them. This hotel is for adults, there is no crime in that. I have eaten and stayed at family hotels recently but because they are are what they are I will not critcise the poor behaviour of some of the children, all the crying /wailing running around the dining area,food throwing and the general disregard for other diners.

The other issue apparently for his hotel is dogs. I am not a pet lover but found over our weekend there was no problem, the dogs I did see had caring owners who made sure their pets were cared for but unobtrusive.

Enjoy this hotel do not be put off by people who have not even stayed here the food was presented perfectly, the room spotless and tastefully furnished and the staff pleasant and professional I would have no hesitation in returning.
.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodiemum09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a very nice small hotel which is very popular both as a hotel and as a restaurant and bar. We stayed for a weekend break and found the place to be used by passing walkers, people out for a drive and also people just taking a break in the Malvern area. It has a dedicated restaurant and also serves a bar menu in the bar area and obviously for guests of the hotel it has a wide breakfast menu served in a separate area.

Food was good, lots of different beers and wines to choose from, a good "proper coffee" machine behing the bar and friendly service.

The rooms are also to a good standard (kettles, TV, telephone and free WIFI) with nice modern bathrooms. We stayed during the recent very hot whether and the owners could not have been more helpful in settling us in and finding a room fan !

There is lots of information at reception regarding "what's on" locally and a rack full of printed flyers detailing local attractions.

Unless you are just going to be walking or hiking then you will need a car (or taxi) to take you to other places as the Hotel is on it's own a few miles out of Great Malvern and a few miles away from Ledbury (right next to the British Camp Archeological Site).

All in all a nice place to stay and thoroughly recommended for anyone wanting a few days in the Malvern area.

Room Tip: 117 has a dual aspect with two opening windows - handy for this recent hot weather !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z_Paul_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is a very comfortable stay, perfectly positioned for walks in the hills, (being at the bottom on 'British Camp'), but also for Ledbury, Great Malvern and all the surrounding beautiful countryside.
Jim and Jenny Cooke run a very smart set up with many lovely little touches that can make a stay. The rooms are modern and well decorated with beautiful bathrooms, comfy beds and tea/coffee etc. The bar is welcoming - as is the outside area and you can choose to eat from a good menu in either the bar area or the restaurant with lovely views over Herefordshire. The staff are very nice and helpful. This is not a hotel if you are on a tight budget but we thought it was very reasonable considering what is on offer.
We asked Jenny before going to bed if she had any suggestions for walks in the Golden valley. Well she didn't but the next morning, having thought about it over night, she did, having researched the internet and come up with a route and map for us - it was brilliant!

Room Tip: Rear or side facing will get you complete peace and quiet and views over Herefordshire
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old-peculiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel staff here are very welcoming and helpful (a rare thing these days I fear). We arrived after 6pm having driven from Cardiff. Having emailed in advance about our late arrival, the staff had booked us a table in the restaurant - a wise move as the place was very busy. Our room was lovely - really comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom. The food in the hotel was excellent and if you use the restaurant you have wonderful views across the countryside. They have a large patio area outside and as we were blessed with some sunny weather it was very relaxing to sit outside and enjoy a drink in the evening. Breakfast is very good but be prepared to wait. The food is freshly cooked for each table so you have to be patient but it is worth it! There are some lovely walks to enjoy within easy distance from the hotel and a large car park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKlady56uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stopped here with the family, including the dog, for a snack after a walk on the hills. Good Value, Good food. Everybody made to feel welcome. Sometimes it can be busy so aim to arrive out of the 'rush hour' which will ensure a seat!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We arrived at British Camp at Malvern opposite The Malvern Hills Hotel paid our £3 National Trust car park fee and off we went for a walk over the Malverns.A few hours later and famished we arrived at the Hotel.Very clean and friendly, and rather than eat outside we chose to eat in the Conservatory.Between us we had various starters and main courses in a lovely environment watching the sun go down.The views are stunning.The service was very attentive without being intrusive

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here on 25th May as a surprise treat for my mums 50th! Myself, sister and mum shared the family room...perfect! Room was spotless beds were very comfortable and the large bath was great to relax in after walking the hills!
Food was fantastic and the staff were friendly and very helpful! On our arrival the gentleman who check us in showed us the table we had booked for our evening meal and took us to our room! Very welcoming! Would 100% recommend this hotel and will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieCroucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
1.5 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
969 reviews
1.4 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
164 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
#10 of 10 in Malvern
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malvern Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern Hills Hotel

Address: Jubilee Drive, Malvern WR13 6DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range: £95 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malvern Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Malvern Hills we look forward to welcoming you for a relaxing break, delicious meal or a quiet drink in front of the fire. The Malvern Hills Hotel nestles high on the majestic western slopes of the Malverns, in the heart of an area of outstanding natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Malvern Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hills Malvern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing