We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malvern Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malvern Hills Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2005

We were a group of 4 ladies away for a weekend of shopping and relaxing. WE FOUND IT. The hotel is in a good location, for walking and shopping near the main road, but not affected by the noise. Very near local towns for shopping.
The staff on arrival were efficient and friendly. and thoughtout our stay were helpful and informative, felt that nothing was too much trouble.
The newly refurbished rooms were outstanding. Very clean and comfortable, and the beds were so comfortable we didn't want to get up for breakfast. Breakfast was an experience in itself, the choice and quantity. We didn't eat all day until the evening, we were so full. Evening meals were beautifully presented and filling.
The dining rom was clean and comfortable, and the bar was cosy and like a step into the past.
Can't find any fault with this hotel and came home feeling refreshed and relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAnnDSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    135
    31
    25
    30
See reviews for
87
185
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2004

Expected more from this well-located hotel for the price. Our room was furnished like a 1980s spare bedroom. Heating did not work in bathroom (our visit was in November) and the shower should have been condemned by Health and Safety due to the wildly erratic water pressure which turned the water output from a dribble to a tidal wave within seconds, coupled with additional extreme variations in temperature. Check-out staff seemed unmoved (and unapologetic) by our comments on the danger of this to the old or young (or those just plainly scared of water). This bathroom experience was not ameliorated by the visible organic presence (present?) in the toilet leading us to skillfully deduce that the toilet had not been cleaned. Having said all that (and no it didn't make up for it) the bed was comfortable and the food and range of beer were pretty good. Overall, the hotel promised more than it could deliver, and we wouldn't go back.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2004

We visited the Malvern Hills hotel last night (8.5.04) for a drink and decided to stay for a meal in the bar area. Whilst the quality of the meal was acceptable we were extremely disappointed that it took an hour to serve our meal. Even then the meal only arrived after I had approached the bar to complain that we had been waiting one hour, it then arrived within minutes.

We will not be visiting this hotel again for a meal due to the above incident. The staff were apologetic but that does not alter the above facts.

Helpful?
3 Thank jetsetterGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2004

We had a pleasant stay at the Malvern Hills Hotel a friendly welcome by very friendly, helpful and polite staff. The room was of excellent quality and tastefully furnished and decorated, which made our stay all the more relaxing and comfortable. With fantastic views, good location and a stones throw away from the beautiful Hills of Malvern aswell as easy access to the town of Malvern and the city of Worcester. This was our first visit to the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to return very soon. We highly recommend a visit to anyone who's looking for a relaxing break.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2004

What a fantastic hotel and brilliant combination downstairs of a cosy pub and a tastefully decorated restaurant should you decide for informal or formal nosh. The food is of a very high standard in both with the restaurant well worth a try.

The rooms have a slightly 80's feel about them but this is a 2* country retreat not your art decor West End hotel.

Staff were very friendly and you are in the right place for some lovely walks in the country.

As the picture of the place represents, this is a landmark in the middle of this lovely part of the U.K.

We go back whenever we want to unwind.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taylor339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
3.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.4 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malvern Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern Hills Hotel

Property: Malvern Hills Hotel
Address: Jubilee Drive, Malvern WR13 6DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Malvern Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Malvern Hills we look forward to welcoming you for a relaxing break, delicious meal or a quiet drink in front of the fire. The Malvern Hills Hotel nestles high on the majestic western slopes of the Malverns, in the heart of an area of outstanding natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Malvern Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hills Malvern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing