We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional food and welcome..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and welcome..”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was my forth visit to Cotford Hotel and it was even better than the last three.. I received a warm welcome on arrival and a great recommendation to visit The Nags Head for a pre dinner beer, if you like real ale you must go..

The food offered in L'Amuse Bouche is exception from start to finish; excellent cooking and presentation. everything on the varied menu looked good, I had the prawns followed by the fillet...and then crème brule. One of the best meals I have enjoyed out this year. Oh the service was most attentive too.

My room (8) had been recently refurbished, the bed was most comfortable and the bathroom was well fitted.

All in all a lovely evening followed by an excellent breakfast. Having stayed away for four nights in Dec' with work this was head and shoulders above everywhere else.

Thank you all and I hope to have the privaledge of visiting The Cotford Hotel again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjohnnacepilot50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Oh thank you. It was lovely meeting you and a pleasure making sure you enjoyed your stay,
Hope Christmas went well and you have a lovely 2014,
Kindest regards
Chris and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    73
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
100
249
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My extended family had my wife's birthday lunch here on a Sunday and having heard good things about the food we were not disappointed. The service was prompt and discreet and the food was superb, with my beef moist and succulenbt and vegetables crip and fresh. Lovely occaision and can't wait for an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingduane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
That's lovely.... thank you for visiting and your lovely comments, Its warming to hear and read comments as yours in such busy moments. It means so much to us all.
Kindest regards
Chris , Barbara and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a wonderful small country hotel in an old spa town. The hotel gave easy access to the beautiful Malvern Hills, which are well worth a few hours if you time to explore...more if you have it. Since my stay was split with a trip elsewhere, I had the pleasure of staying in two different rooms, both nicely appointed with comfortable beds and good chairs for reading. The full hot breakfast was wonderful and I did enjoy an evening meal at the l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant. I can highly recommend the perfectly prepared salmon. We enjoyed before dinner drinks and after dinner coffee in the beautiful lounge, with a nice fire in the fireplace. I will definitely stay here, if business takes me to this area again and have added this area to my place to return on vacation. I would enjoy more time in the hills, and if you are walking the hills, I recommend a lunch stop at St Anne's Well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thompson2_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
That's lovely...thank you.
It was a pleasure looking after you during your stay, and it means so much to be appreciated and even more to read about it.
Kindest regards
Chris, Barbara and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have been putting corporate guests into this small hotel for a couple of years and they have uniformly been enthusiastic. I finally spent a night there and was extremely impressed. The hotel is a large house, sympathetically converted and the rooms (if mine is anything to go by) are charming, eccentrically but beautifully furnished and the room amenities and services first rate. The en suite and shower are fine, the towels are large and fluffy, the complimentary soap and shampoos and conditioners splendid.

The hotel is set in beautiful gardens, the staff are delightful and keen to please and the hotel dog - every hotel should have a hotel dog - is large and friendly, I can thoroughly recommend the Cotford for the business traveller and from conversation, the leisure traveller exploring the local area will find everything here he or she might want.

Altogether a fine experience and refreshingly good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My friend and I arrived Tuesday afternoon to a stunning looking hotel. Walked through the front door and greeted by the owners Barbara and Chris, lovely people who can't do enough to help you. This instantly creates a feeling of a more personal touch / service rather than a big hotel chain. We were shown to our rooms which were immaculately clean with all of the usual amenities you would expect from a classy establishment. We went out for the afternoon in Malvern which is only a short walk away and then came back for dinner in the restaurant. The service and the food were exceptional! I had the scallops which were fresh and cooked to perfection and at a very reasonable price. All in all we had an excellent stay and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Arriving late at night from the USA and having traveled the world, Barbara, owner was a delightful introduction to a beautiful updated 1800's home. The staff were so helpful, happy and attentive all the time as we explored a couple days before business started on Monday. They recommended a couple restaurants, all within 5-8 minute walk and always asked about our experiences for the day. On the 3rd night we ate at the hotel and it was fabulous - presentation was brilliant; each food had incredible flavors and Chris, owner/chef was so informative and kind. Beautiful area with homes to marvel at with their design, keeping the old English and wondering what design was around the next corner. Everyone that we spoke with, either staying there or not, who came to dinner explained they had to wait weeks to get a reservation. Absolutely 5 star service with 5 star passion and attitude - delightful and brilliant and everyone was so helpful! OH - and the cost for value was unexpected and refreshing. We will stay there when we return again.

Room Tip: We had a garden room with all the amenities you need to be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We read the good reviews and so we went and it was good. Good food, good room and good service too. Apparently the normally attentive owners had gone away for their holidays and we didn't notice until I asked as we checked out! So congratulations on a well run place.
For us to go away Great Malvern made a great weekend break - the country, a show ( the theatre is a few minutes walk ) Worcester ( the bus stop 2 minutes away ). So good to go away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
1,154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
126 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
4.2 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant

Property: The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Address: 51 Graham Road, Malvern WR14 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gothic Victorian hotel of character which has recently achieved the status of Runner-up "Hotel of the Year in Worcestershire 2016 ". The hotel also hosts the popular and inovative L'amuse Bouche Restaurant, an award winning French themed restaurant set on the side of the Malvern hills. Awarded its original 2nd AA rosette for culinary excellence in 2008 it has now been awarded the title of Winner in the Eating Out Category of Restaurants in Worcestershire 2016 and will represent the county in the Visit England Finals. The hotel has just completed a full refurbishment throughout. Original features from the 1850's adorn many areas of the hotel. Family owned and run with 15 individually decorated and furnished rooms. Set in its own secluded grounds and with its award winning gardens (Overall winners of the "Heart of England in Bloom Awards 2010", hotel gardens) overlooking the Severn Valley. A short walk from the theatre and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing