We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location”
Review of Foley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foley Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a Saturday and overall experience was very good. Hotel is in a great location for visiting Malvern major disadvantage being a lack of parking although we managed to park on road for free about a 5 minute walk away. Our room (no 7) was right next to reception and overlooking courtyard of pub which was noisy so think we got the poorest of the superior rooms although view was great. Room was tastefully furnished and well equipped although bath was probably suited to Warwick Davis due to its tiny size. Overall a decent stay though would stay again if we could get a different room

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lutterworthcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was a real surprise as I was a bit unsure about staying in a Weatherspoon's Hotel. The hotel was lovely and central in Great Malvern. It had a very warm and welcoming feeling with lots of character. The staff were all very friendly and our family room was lovely. Our daughter loved her little alcove room with its own door which made her feel more private. There was plenty of hot water, decent sized bath and brilliant shower over it.
It is worth asking for a back bedroom as the views are stunning.
We had a good meal in the evening and a bottle of wine all for just £27 great value!
Highly recommend

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lems63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stopped here for three days with family. The location is good being in the centre of Malvern with great views of the countryside at the back. Th staff were very friendly and the rooms comfortable with our room having a great view. Overall it was very good value and the bar and restaurant served good food at very reasonable prices with a full breakfast being less than four pounds. We had a meal in the evening for two which came to just 26 pounds including a bottle of wine! One disadvantage was the lack of parking at the hotel which meant we had to park a five minute walk away and pay daily rates (about 3 pound a day).

Room Tip: The family room is huge and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Our room was at the front and we were aware of some road noise and I would certainly go for a room at the rear next time. That said it was comfortable with a spacious bathroom, good TV, free wi-fi (more expensive hotels please note), complimentary still and sparkling water and a comfy bed.
Staff were really friendly and helpful and the bars just downstairs were really convenient.
We didn't take breakfast but the choice was varied and reasonably priced.
It was most civilised to return late Monday evening, order coffees, double whisky and double Amaretto and get change from a tenner.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KitGolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stopped in for a quick bite to eat on a Friday lunch. My wife and I enjoyed the simple, cheap food all served very well and tasting good, thank you staff.

Would definately use this place again for a quick cheap meal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

OK, I only went in for a meal. But impressions were good. The view from the rear is superb; compensates in some way for this being about the highest located hotel in Great Malvern, so you need to be fit to get there in the first place. Service was first rate and the food delivered quickly, although being out of season business was admittedly quiet.

Menu is, of course, standard Wetherspoon. Love it or loathe it, it is fantastic value for money. I had cod and chips, an extra side salad, and a real ale. All for less than a takeaway fish and chips at my favourite chippy in London. Wetherspoons are not all the same however; here, for example, they offered to bring condiments to the table and the sauces were served in ceramic pots, not those awful paper things some branches use. As usual the side salad was fresh and plentiful, the food piping hot and the beer spot on.

It is also a genuinely old building which was given a makeover about 3 years ago. I had a good look around the public areas and was impressed. Oh, and did I mention the Morgan 3 wheeler in the bar? Their factory is well worth visiting, but that's another review...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DaveSodbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Foley Arms Hotel is part of the Wetherspoon's chain so the food and drinks are much the same as anywhere else, a bit like a 'Travelodge' you know what you are going to get before arriving.
I have just spent 8 nights here and there were a few problems. On a couple of occasions they could not cope with the food orders due to a large demand so the wait was about 1 hour, not really acceptable.
The room was not cleaned well on 3 occasions with towels just thrown over the radiator when I had put them in the bath for a clean change, bins not emptied and bed not made.
There are NO drawers so you underwear, jumpers etc have to be kept in your suitcase and just an open hanging rail for shirts. The work space is so small (taken up with the drinks tray/kettle) that for a business user like myself it becomes difficult to work.
The staff in general do try but the above lets them down.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear, should be good views as those at the front can be a little noisy due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.1 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#10 of 10 in Malvern
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Malvern Hotel
Great Malvern Hotel
#7 of 10 in Malvern
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 10 in Malvern
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley Arms Hotel

Address: 14 Worcester Road, Malvern WR14 4QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range: £38 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foley Arms Hotel is set in a wonderful location from which to explore the stunning Malvern countryside, the Midlands and the Welsh Marches areas. The stunning Georgian architecture of this old coaching inn has been a feature of the Victorian spa town of Malvern for over 200 years. The area has a wide range of stately homes, beautiful gardens, lively farm parks and award-winning museums for you to explore, along with a host of modern-day attractions for all the family such as the Morgan's Visitors centre. It is also perfect for those visiting the Three Counties Showground and Worcester and Hereford races. Situated right in the heart of the town, we have 23 individual bedrooms, many of which have wonderful views across the Severn Plain. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area and in our rooms, however signal can sometimes be lost due to the style of the building. *** Please note WE DO NOT HAVE A CAR PARK! *** The long stay car park that we recommend is on Victoria Rd, postcode WR14 2TD and it costs £3 for 24 hours. Street parking is available after 4:30pm until 09:30am the next morning and all day Sunday. We recommend stopping in the lay by outside the hotel, bring your luggage up and ask reception for the directions to the long stay car park that we recommend. Due to being a Grade II listed building, we DO NOT HAVE A LIFT to our rooms and we are located on the first and second floor of our building, up a few flights of stairs. If you require a room on the first floor, please notify us when booking. Our hotel is situated above our lovely, busy pub where food is served from 7am to 11pm and the bar is open till midnight, 7 days a week. Large tables may be pre-booked, so if you are celebrating an event, please give us a call in advance so we can make sure we will have a table available for you. Please be advised we are a very busy pub so some noise from our terrace may carry to some of the rooms, especially at weekends during the warm seasons. We do monitor customers and do try to keep disruptions to a minimum but it is useful to bear this in mind when booking. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you soon! The Foley Arms Hotel Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Foley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worcester
Worcester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing