We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Foley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foley Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for one night in a front facing twin room. Unfortunately there are no twin rooms at the back, where it is quieter. We were kept awake until well gone midnight by raucous revellers out the front. The window needs to be double glazed as a minimum. Room comfortable but basic. Food good and good value. Nice atmosphere downstairs in the bar with lovely terraces. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Go for rear facing room if you do not need a twin.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Foley Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Booked a two night stay here over the bank holiday. Not having stayed at a Wetherspoons Hotel before we were a little apprehensive. On arrival we were met with a very friendly guy on reception and although he could not initially find my booking as for some reason it had been put in my partners name he soon sorted us out and carried our bags into the room. We stayed in room11 with a valley view at the rear of the hotel. Quite small in size with only limited storage and I found the bathroom sink a little on the small side but apart from this our stay was a good one. The room was clean, nice comfortable bed and lovely views over the Severn Plain. Bathroom was small but clean and a nice selection of tea, coffee and Malvern Water with biscuits provided. All the staff both in the hotel and the pub below were very friendly and the service was excellent. Probably the best Wetherspoons staff I have come across. Food in the pub was the usual Wetherspoons menu and service was very good. I would stay again for a short stay but would ask for a larger room with more storage but the staff are the real asset here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoogieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Last time I stayed here it was a Best Western and it was OK then. Now it's a J D Wetherspoon joint the bar prices are excellent. The room we stayed in was not overlarge but adequate and well supplied with all the usual accoutrements.
I thought the food was very good and good value. Evening meals were good quality and the breakfast excellent. Staff were attentive, very friendly and efficient.
The hotel/pub is very well situated for walks up to the Malvern hills, the start of the road leading up is literally over the road.
Our room (221) was OK with superb views stretching for miles and miles across the countryside.
The BIG downside of staying at the Foley is the lack of car parking space. Quite simply, there is none. I had to park a good 10-15 minute walk away to be 'allowed' free unlimited parking down the main road. Great Malvern is a tourist region but the local council in there moronic wisdom have allocated all the nearby on-street parking a 1 hour slot with no return within 1 hour. OK if you arrive after 5:30pm on a Saturday when the restrictions are lifted (OK on Sundays). They'd be better off adopting a better system so as visitors can at least park near to their hotels... even an overnight charge is better than this stupid existing system.
OK rant over!
I can still recommend the Foley as a place to stay.

Room Tip: We had No. 221 which was OK with lovely views stretching for miles and miles...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Struggled to find somewhere reasonable to have a drink and a bite to eat.What a relief to find this nice clean and friendly place.Great terrace to enjoy the views.Good food and very clean.
Really liked thelayout of the pub and the service was excellent .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned from two nights in Foley Arms, staying in a family room over the Easter Bank holiday weekend. Wasn't sure what to expect as we have never stayed in a Wetherspoons hotel before (or even heard of them!). The customer service was particularly good in the hotel and the rooms are well decorated, the bed are also very comfortable with the exception of the sofabed in the family room. We ended up putting the mattress on the floor for the children and the staff were very helpful in providing extra pillows and duvets to pad it out for them. This is my only gripe with the hotel as it is very good value - on a par with Premier Inn prices for a lovely room in a gorgeous old building. I can imagine the rooms overlooking the terrace could become quite noisy on a summer evening though, fortunately although we stayed on a Saturday night, the noise level did quieten down after 11pm.

Room Tip: Room 9 in which we stayed is really big with a huge bay window, perfect for a family although the so...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelJ433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed for one night whilst visiting the area on business. I had a double room overlooking Malvern which was a great view. The hotel has no parking, so be warned when arriving. You can park on the main road in parking places for free between 1800-0900. The rooms are a good size, well equipped and with a comfy bed. The bar downstairs is ok, but there are plenty of other bars and restaurants nearby. I got a double room for less than £50, which for me is excellent value. I didn't have breakfast, which is served from 0700-midday but heard, its again good value. Overall, a good hotel and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scopie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

On arrival we check in to our room to find it's no bigger than a broom cupboard!!! You can't open the door without nearly falling on to the bed.
The bathroom is only big enough to swing a cat !
Pictures on website are so deceiving and untrue !
My food down in the bar was served cold .
The service at the bar was atrocious !!!! Regulars over guests is how you are served and when I was served it was like being served by Manuel the barman he was clueless and served me with all the wrong drinks !!!!!! Avoid this place like the PLAGUE.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Kizzy1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.1 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
1,177 reviews
2.5 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Great Malvern Hotel
Great Malvern Hotel
#8 of 10 in Malvern
253 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
952 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley Arms Hotel

Address: 14 Worcester Road, Malvern WR14 4QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range: £38 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foley Arms Hotel is set in a wonderful location from which to explore the stunning Malvern countryside, the Midlands and the Welsh Marches areas. The stunning Georgian architecture of this old coaching inn has been a feature of the Victorian spa town of Malvern for over 200 years. The area has a wide range of stately homes, beautiful gardens, lively farm parks and award-winning museums for you to explore, along with a host of modern-day attractions for all the family such as the Morgan's Visitors centre. It is also perfect for those visiting the Three Counties Showground and Worcester and Hereford races. Situated right in the heart of the town, we have 23 individual bedrooms, many of which have wonderful views across the Severn Plain. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area and in our rooms, however signal can sometimes be lost due to the style of the building. *** Please note WE DO NOT HAVE A CAR PARK! *** The long stay car park that we recommend is on Victoria Rd, postcode WR14 2TD and it costs £3 for 24 hours. Street parking is available after 4:30pm until 09:30am the next morning and all day Sunday. We recommend stopping in the lay by outside the hotel, bring your luggage up and ask reception for the directions to the long stay car park that we recommend. Due to being a Grade II listed building, we DO NOT HAVE A LIFT to our rooms and we are located on the first and second floor of our building, up a few flights of stairs. If you require a room on the first floor, please notify us when booking. Our hotel is situated above our lovely, busy pub where food is served from 7am to 11pm and the bar is open till midnight, 7 days a week. Large tables may be pre-booked, so if you are celebrating an event, please give us a call in advance so we can make sure we will have a table available for you. Please be advised we are a very busy pub so some noise from our terrace may carry to some of the rooms, especially at weekends during the warm seasons. We do monitor customers and do try to keep disruptions to a minimum but it is useful to bear this in mind when booking. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you soon! The Foley Arms Hotel Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Foley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worcester
Worcester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing