We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat
Ranked #3 of 30 Malvern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I am the first to admit, I am extremely fussy when it comes to accommodation on weekends away, however I found it impossible to fault this place.
The room was beautiful, spotlessly clean and extremely quiet. The lounge area was gorgeous with a roaring cosy fire it was easy to forget about the rain outside.
The owners were very helpful in giving local knowledge of the area and recommending activities for us to do, but we ended up on our first night staying in and sampling some lovely red wine from the honesty bar in the lounge, a lovely touch.
The breakfast each morning was so fresh, tasty, and with amazing presentation.
For a relaxing weekend away look no further, we will be back many thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liskea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sodie69, Owner at Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give Treherne House such a positive and complimentary review, we so appreciate it. It is so important to us to know our guests enjoy their time here and would return. We have enjoyed Treherne House for 7 years now and are so happy to say we have many loyal return guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
178
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Booked the Malvern Retreat for a family weekend break. We all loved the cottage - so comfortable and warm with a great private garden. Mark & Alex couldn't do enough for us with lots of advice on local walks (long & short!) and great places to eat. Thank you, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Smudge370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sodie69, Owner at Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello Richard, thanks for taking time to review us, Mark and I enjoyed your Mums 70th birthday weekend as much as you all did, especially when Ray proposed! Wonderful, thanks for your kind words, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I booked all the rooms in the main house bed and breakfast and the Malvern Retreat (the 2 bedroom cottage) for my Mum's 70th Birthday over the weekend of 30th January 2014. It was a surprise for my Mum and Mark & Alex (the fantastic hosts) kept it a secret that the rest of the family were arriving later, the evening went brilliantly and Mark and Alex even laid out a lovely buffet in the heated conservatory.

Everybody had a superb time, all the rooms are of a good size, very nicely decorated, all en-suite, our kids had the cottage to themselves and were very happy. The furnishings are very tasteful, all in all the best B & B I have ever stayed in. I could not fault the place at all.

Mark and Alex (& Coco the dog) are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The full English Breakfasts went down really well, the sausages were delicious. On top of the fact that it was a brilliant weekend it was great value too. Thanks Mark & Alex, we will definitely be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rmbeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sodie69, Owner at Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thanks for your review. We are happy to book and recommend local restaurants, all of which we have tried and can advise what suits most tastes. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is our third visit. It was only a last minute break so we decided to stay in one of the rooms although we did have a fantastic break in their cottage (The Malvern Retreat) last year. The room (Roosevelt) was beautifully appointed, quiet and the breakfast was to die for. Expect all the usual trimmings but with free range eggs fresh from the Treherne hens, pork and leek sausages followed by home made bread and damson jam. As you can tell...I enjoyed it ! In the evening, we had a great meal at the local Indian restaurant then returned to Treherne to sample the selection of wines from the honesty bar in front of a roaring log fire. Our stay was perfect but I am sure that if something had been missed, nothing would have been too much trouble for our charming hosts Mark and Alex. I can see a 4th visit on the horizon.

Room Tip: We have tried two of the four rooms in the main building both of which were really well appointed. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sodie69, Owner at Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello Simon, thank you so much for your review, 3rd time and we sincerely hope you return. It's always a pleasure to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

You could tell by the welcome we got on arrival (at a rather unsocial hour) that it was going to be a fab stay. The hosts were very attentive all weekend and full of advice as to how we could make the most of our weekend. The room was very tasteful and thankfully, very quiet! Malvern is a beautiful small town and the hills are great to stretch your legs.The breakfast on the Sunday was nigh on perfect. Keep it up.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russ w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sodie69, Owner at Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello Russ, thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your weekend after your hectic business adventure!!! We are delighted you and Andrea have booked to stay again in July and really look forward to welcoming you back. I will ensure I have some homemade Damson Jam available!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Have just spent a fabulous couple of days in this wonderful house which is presented to a very high standard and is very clean. The hosts are friendly,attentive and a good source of local knowledge when planning a trip or meal out. We found the breakfasts to be a much higher standard than a normal B&B
( best eggs we have ever had , home made bread and home made jams all helped) Other nice touches include a reasonably priced honesty bar,well stocked DVD library and plenty of books and magazines.
We have stayed in lots of B&Bs and this one is better than all of them. We hope to be back and would not hesitate to recommend this place. Faultless !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sodie69, Owner at Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Wow! What a fab review. Thanks so much for your kind comments. The eggs are from our hens, and we make our own bread and various jams and we are so glad our guests appreciate them. We love to know what goes in our food and use organic milk and produce where possible. We believe you can taste the difference and are really grateful
when our guests do too. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our daughter was marrying nearby - away from our Essex home - and Treherne House was our base for the week, staying first in the house and then moving into the coach house. Alex and Mark are fabulous hosts and moved us effortlessly into the Coach House from where our daughter was leaving for the wedding. Nothing was too much trouble and their attention to detail was amazing - dressing up the breakfast table on the morning of the wedding with tea-lights, flowers and lovely crystals. And the breakfasts themselves are delicious. The house is beautifully decorated and exceptionally comfortable and the Coach House is a perfect spot for a family holiday with a lovely garden and patio. Thank you Mark and Alex for making a memorable stay so lovely and we will look forward to staying again. Tim and Louella

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sodie69, Owner at Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, it's a pleasure to accommodate you and we sincerely hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
1.4 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Malvern
1,162 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Cannara Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat

Property: Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat
Address: 54 Guarlford Road, Malvern WR14 3QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Worcestershire Bed & Breakfast of The Year 2013 and Visit Britain Gold Award 2011,2012,2013,2014 and 2015. Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat Self-Catering Property is privately owned by Les Routiers Award Winning proprietors who have re-designed this wonderful house with relaxation in mind. Beautiful en-suite rooms, superb beds & mattresses and great breakfasts are on offer. We are licensed, have free Wi-Fi throughout, White Company toiletries, stress-free private parking for numerous vehicles on our private drive. Our rooms enjoy Digital Flat Screen TVs with Freeview, DVD/CD Players and use of our private DVD Movie Library, I-Gear Docking Stations and Hospitality trays as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Treherne House & The Malvern Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing