We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“RELAXING BREAK IN A VERY QUAINT COTTAGE”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Byre, Malvern

The Byre, Malvern
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre, Malvern
Sitting Room Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The Byre, Malvern
Sitting Room
Bedroom
Bathroom
Private Patio
Looking South
The Byre, Malvern
The Byre, Malvern in Charcoal
Welcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Malvern, Malvern Hills, Worcestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
coznewsam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“RELAXING BREAK IN A VERY QUAINT COTTAGE”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just returned from a lovely relaxing weekend In the Byre.
Malvern is beautiful and the cottage is perfectly located for exploring.
The owners were very friendly and informative.
The cottage has cute décor with lovely oak beams, it was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for our stay, I even prepared a lovely roast after our long walk.
I have already booked another short break for my parents as a Christmas gift!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole weekend
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandy37
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slightly smug!”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our third visit now and enjoyed it even more than the previous ones ( which were hard to beat).
Two main reasons, the hospitality of Clive and Joan and following in the footsteps of George Mallory! My wife and I conquered the 22 peaks (?) of the Malvern Hills just before dusk and felt rather pleased with ourselves ( however, our legs regretted it the next day).
Again, Clive and Joan were the perfect hosts and the facilities were just right for us. It was such a relaxing and enjoyable break.
Sometimes I wonder whether I'm being a little over zealous with my reviews so I read some of the others on tripadvisor and, so far, all but one back me up! Amazed at the 'fault-finding'. Just goes to show that you can't please everybody all of the time.
My only grouse is that I couldn't get the dates I wanted originally because the cottage was already booked!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and the Malvern Hills- spectacular.
Liked least: Cramp the next day!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halcyon_t...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not a 1 bedroom cottage, 'dodgy' shower, no bath, restricted cooking facilities”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is not a 1 bedroom cottage, the photos are deceptive. It is just 1 big open-plan area with a separate bathroom. We were kept awake by the fridge humming on and off, couldn't get up and make a coffee or even read without disturbing the other person.
The shower is temperamental to say the least. It went off completely for over 30 seconds, came back on cold, which was just as well because it meant that I moved out of the way before it suddenly became scalding hot, without me touching the thermostat control. I had bright red marks on my skin where the water touched me.
it is not a bath in the picture, it is an odd sort of half-bath with a step/seat, no plug, no taps.
Cooking facilities: combination microwave, grill, oven which looked fine but the hot plates were just a couple of solid electric plates, bit tricky if you wanted meat and 2 veg.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia P
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Brilliant!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Joan & Clive are a lovely friendly couple. Everything in this cottage was well equiped. It is the best accomodation I have stayed in. Fresh Milk and Orange awaiting us in the fridge. Lovely homemade flap jack even a few chocolate treats and a bowl of freshly picked apples from their orchard. What more could you want? F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S. as Craig would say on Strictly Come Dancing!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael p
1 review
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Nice accommodation will equipped

Location great for walking a little bit difficult to find even with a satnav

All round winner

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Superb Getaway”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We spent a couple of nights at this property and were very impressed. The owners were helpful and friendly and kindly left milk,orange juice and home made flapjacks for us on arrival.

The converted barn was spotlessly clean and had everything that you could possibly want for a short break. We liked the peace and quiet and the fact that we had access to the Worcestershire Way and yet we were within a mile of Malvern itself.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisday...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Back for a second visit”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ideal for walking the malvern Hills or for a family occasion.
Lovely extras that make a difference , milk and goodies in fridge and home made flap jacks.
Cosy and well equipped ,we will be back again for sure .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing