We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel and not very clean!”
Review of The Montrose Hotel

The Montrose Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Montrose Hotel
Ranked #28 of 30 Malvern B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is definitely a b&b. nice building and gardens but room not at all clean....didn't even get hoovered. We waited 30 minutes to be served breakfast and it was of poor quality. Very disappointed after having to spend £75. Would definitely not recommend this.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

Proprietors gave a very warm welcome and the rooms acceptable but a bit outdated. The building has character but requires modernisation. Breakfast was good but earliest was 8am which is not too good if you are on business. Free wifi and modern tv in room with tea making. Some very good restaurants nearby. Pleasant stop over for 3 days. Not vat registered and prices are what you would expect to pay for a hotel. Breakfast was included.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stejeppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Nice homely hotel. Little parking at front which was nice after a long drive. Only issue was that the sign on the road needs replacing, otherwise if we hadn't spotted the hotel, we could have quite easily driven past.

Very clean hotel and breakfast was really nice!

Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbsentDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This B&B is in the middle of Great Malvern town but far enough from the road to make it a very quiet and peaceful stay. The rooms at the back look towards the Hills which is a nice view.
The rooms are a bit old and the walls are a bit cracked but it's not too bad. The ceiling in the rooms are high and that makes the rooms look and feel bigger and spacious.
The breakfast was OK and so was the service.
It's close to the Malvern Theatres and we saw "The Handyman" there which was a nice play.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I would rate this as a B and B not an Hotel. Good location, off road parking. Friendly welcome although help with my case to the first floor room would have been appreciated. The room was small with one corner used as the en suite. Twin beds, very comfortable but the furniture was tired looking and the curtains and duvet cover has definitely seen better days. The bathroom was ok shower over the bath was not very efficient. Toiletries provided, but the towels were damp when we got there and as the towel rail was not on they didn't have chance to dry before we had to use them. Hospitality tray well stocked and a request for extra milk was greeted with a smile .
Breakfast was lovely, as much toast as required and a good selection of fruit and yoghurts.
Overall a decent place to stay but does need some TLC on the rooms and linen

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back not overlooking the road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed two nights. Our room was No 6 at the front, overlooking a minor main road with a little bit of traffic noise but not too intrusive. A small but comfortable room with a double bed, en-suite bath with shower over and loo. Handbasin in the bedroom. Everything worked. Plenty of hot water, good quality soap and bath gel as well as posh loo paper!

Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and nice extra touches, no packets of butter or jam here.

Location can't be beaten, easy parking and just five minutes walk from the town centre.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RunningRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Great location for the town centre. Nice sitting area on the first floor at the front of the hotel with lovely views. We booked a Superior room just for the one night.
Nice warm friendly welcome.
Not a brilliant room but adequate for a night or two. There must have been some recent refurbishment as the room smelled of paint. We couldn’t open the sash window when we got in in the evening, only to find in the morning a bit of wood on the side by the window which was there so you could ‘wedge’ the window open. Bathroom was basic with shower over bath. My wife declined having a shower as she has difficulty with mobility in her legs and needs a shower cubicle.
Breakfast was good, nice full English and no little packets of butter to struggle with.
Overall a good experience and would recommend this hotel for a weekend or short term stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike888Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malvern hotels
0.2 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Malvern Hotel
Great Malvern Hotel
#8 of 10 in Malvern
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wentworth House B & B
Wentworth House B & B
#17 of 30 in Malvern
46 reviews
2.6 mi away
No photo provided
The Old Rectory - B&B
#23 of 30 in Malvern
2 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cannara Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montrose Hotel

Address: 23 Graham Road, Malvern WR14 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Malvern
Hotel Class:3 star — The Montrose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing