We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Como house”
Review of Como House

Como House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malvern
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Como House
Ranked #15 of 30 Malvern B&B and Inns
newbury
2 reviews
“Como house”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights for the spring show. Kevin gave us the usual welcome with tea and biscuits, he is always the same, nothing too much trouble. Our room was typically victorian, large with very high ceilings, quirkily furnished with old sideboards and paintings, very comfortable beds. Good hearty breakfast kept us going till afternoon.Beautiful old house in a very quiet area only yards from the town centre. We always like staying there, such a relaxed atmosphere and ideal for a short break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewburyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
35
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have stayed with Kevin on several occasions and highly recommend his establishment. The service is excellent, and nothing is too much trouble for Kevin. The location is great for Malvern, and the breakfast is superb.......... We have stayed both self catering and bed and breakfast and both facilities are comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Q999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My girlfriend and I have stopped at Como House on a couple of occasions now, mainly visiting friends in the area. We have found Kevin to be an excellent host where nothing seems too much trouble, a big hearty breakfast and use of the big 'country-style' kitchen whenever you want. The whole vibe of the house is open and relaxing. Lovely rooms, good value and a great location. Will definitely be going back this summer. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Como House on many occasions whilst visiting family in Malvern and each time we leave we look forward to the next time. Kevin has got to be the most genuinely hospitable host ever. Nothing is too much trouble for him. On one occasion we had a flat battery and he sourced one locally for us, gave us a jump start and followed up to the garage to make sure we got there alright. What a champion!

As other reviewers have noted Kevin serves up a delicious fried breakfast, the full works plus cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and several different types of locally made marmalade. It is also possible to make requests for additions or alterations for the next day. And he even asks us what time we want breakfast, rather than giving us set times. The dining room has large windows overlooking the beautiful garden which is delightful whatever the weather.

Como House was a Victorian prep school and is full of charm and character as far away from corporate/chain hotel uniformity as you can get. We have stayed in 2 of the bedrooms both very comfortable but each with its own unique atmosphere. One with twin beds and window shutters. It has a bathroom with both bath and a separate shower which is very spacious. The other has a kingsize bed and 2 armchairs. The bathroom is normal size with a shower, so we have been spoilt for choice.

Although quiet to stay in, Como House is very close to the centre of Malvern and we are able to walk to the shops, restaurants, pubs, theatre and cinema which are only a few minutes walk away. We leave our car in the walled grounds of the house. Kevin is a mine of local information and we have never been disappointed with his recommendations.

I can't think of a nicer, more relaxing place to stay and look forward to visiting there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Como House is so welcoming especially as we had our 2 westies with us and all felt part of the hospitality shown. Very tasty breakfasts with good quality ingredients. Comfortable beds, great location in the town and great value too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our 3-night stay in this wonderful old converted prep-school built in the 1850s was a very lovely experience. Kevin is a smashing host, thoughtful and caring, and cooks an extremely good breakfast! Our room was the epitome of comfort and we felt thoroughly at home the whole time we were there. Como House is right in the very centre of Great Malvern and everything you could want is readily available, just a short walk away - honestly! We totally enjoyed our stay in the lap of luxury and comfort and we don't hesitate to recommend Como House to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in the garden flat for 2 weeks recently and everything you want is there and couldn’t believe how spacious the flat is. Kevin the owner is also there living above and offers lifts to the hills and knowledgeable about places to visit. The flat is so quiet too and we appreciated the little extras provided like our little tipple of Shiraz. As we were there for 2 weeks we were invited up to have a free breakfast one day and scrumptious it was. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Malvern Hotel
Great Malvern Hotel
#8 of 10 in Malvern
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Foley Arms Hotel
Foley Arms Hotel
#3 of 10 in Malvern
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Como House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Como House

Property: Como House
Address: Como Road, Malvern WR14 2TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing