We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
46
19
3
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
19
3
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak and ale pie the pub well behaved dogs on arrival good size landlord kempsey merlot labrador beams
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed overnight and had dinner with friends, the room we had was lovely and bright with charming furniture, and the owner was very welcoming, dinner was good and everyone enjoyed it, lovely place that I'd return to

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarkHAlameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I think the landlord of this lovely friendly pub is unique. There is a good selection of food on the menu but Martin will tell you about the additional items that he can offer and ways that they can be cooked......have never come across this before! Tasty meals, prepared and served by a brilliant host...and not overpriced!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

My wife and I , with our greyhound Jilly, had a delightful overnight stay at this lovely inn. The enormous double bed was immensely comfortable; dinner was quite splendid - the landlord's home-made steak and ale pie was simply magnificent and my wife greatly enjoyed her vegetarian fare.
The bar/restaurant is cosy, warm and quaint and the locals are a thoroughly friendly bunch, who make you feel very much at ease.
The welcome offered by landlord Martin could not be warmer or more genuine, and in a really lovely touch, he even handed each of us a bar of dark chocolate for the drive home!
We'll certainly be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

You should always stay in places like this in the UK, if you can at all! Classic old country pub full of architectural and atmospheric heritage. The landlord is friendly, down to earth and multi skilled. The food is traditional, wholesome and great value. The rooms are full of old world charm with modern en suite. All the comfort of your global hotel chain except it's got charm, character, atmosphere and that personal touch!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank SeanF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We were a party of nine who visited this establishment on Bank Holiday Sunday lunchtime having made a firm telephone booking for lunch earlier in the week. We were astonished on arrival to discover that no food would be available . No apologies were given and neither any positive suggestion as to what we could do to alleviate our predicament other than 'you will be lucky to find anywhere round here for lunch on Bank holiday Sunday'. Well fortunately we did at the Talbot directly opposite who with twenty minutes notice organised a table for nine and provided excellent service and food for nine of us.
Would we return to the Cantelupe - definitely not but to the Talbot definitely yes.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews