We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
45
19
3
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
19
3
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak and ale piethe pubwell behaved dogson arrivalgood sizelandlordkempseymerlotlabradorbeams
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017

My husband and I had wanted to travel to Worcester for a long time, particularly to visit the Royal Worcester Museum and Worcester Cathedral. However, with two Labradors in tow, it is sometimes difficult to find a suitably comfortable and homely place to stay which is happy to welcome our rather large, furry, four footed friends. This won't EVER prove a problem any longer for future trips to Worcestershire, as we have discovered the Walter de Cantelupe Inn, in the village of Kempsey, near the city of Worcester.

Martin, the landlord and chef, is a delightful man. His inn and pub is a historic property which is warm and inviting. Our room, complete with a very clean en suite bathroom with lots of white, fluffy towels, was furnished with antiques. The cosy bed was made
with fresh white linens. There was a flat screen TV in place, and everything else one would need, to ensure a a relaxing visit. And the Inn is set in a fine village where walks for dogs are plentiful.

As if this wasn't enough, the food cooked and served by Martin at the Walter de Cantelupe Inn was brilliant! For breakfast, we enjoyed orange juice, a choice of cereals, fresh blueberries, Greek yogurt, hand sliced bread for toast, cantaloupe (of course!) and superb coffee. Cooked breakfasts are also available. For dinner, we were served the very best steak and ale pie we have ever had the pleasure of eating, along with a fine Merlot. Well behaved dogs may stay on their own in the guest rooms during meals or accompany their human companions to the dining room.

All in all, the Walter de Cantelupe Inn proved an ideal place to enjoy our first journey to Worcester. We will definitely be back! Thank you, Martin, for making our weekend away so delightful.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalterdeCantelupeInn, Owner at Walter de Cantelupe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Diane,
Thank you so very much for your high-praise review after your first visit to my Inn.
It really is encouraging to know that guests/customers have enjoyed their stay and the reasons why. I will make sure the staff are aware of your satisfaction as I know they will be as delighted as I am.
Having seen this area in wonderful autumnal colours, you really must take an opportunity to come and stay in spring-time. There are plenty more super walks and places to explore.
Looking forward to welcoming you all again.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed overnight and had dinner with friends, the room we had was lovely and bright with charming furniture, and the owner was very welcoming, dinner was good and everyone enjoyed it, lovely place that I'd return to

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarkHAlameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I think the landlord of this lovely friendly pub is unique. There is a good selection of food on the menu but Martin will tell you about the additional items that he can offer and ways that they can be cooked......have never come across this before! Tasty meals, prepared and served by a brilliant host...and not overpriced!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

My wife and I , with our greyhound Jilly, had a delightful overnight stay at this lovely inn. The enormous double bed was immensely comfortable; dinner was quite splendid - the landlord's home-made steak and ale pie was simply magnificent and my wife greatly enjoyed her vegetarian fare.
The bar/restaurant is cosy, warm and quaint and the locals are a thoroughly friendly bunch, who make you feel very much at ease.
The welcome offered by landlord Martin could not be warmer or more genuine, and in a really lovely touch, he even handed each of us a bar of dark chocolate for the drive home!
We'll certainly be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

You should always stay in places like this in the UK, if you can at all! Classic old country pub full of architectural and atmospheric heritage. The landlord is friendly, down to earth and multi skilled. The food is traditional, wholesome and great value. The rooms are full of old world charm with modern en suite. All the comfort of your global hotel chain except it's got charm, character, atmosphere and that personal touch!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank SeanF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews