We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent retreat from the busy streets!”

Mac & Jac's Cafe-Deli
Ranked #20 of 340 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$18
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are an independent, family run café - deli situated in historic Friar Street Worcester. Our fully licensed Café serves a great breakfast & a diverse lunch and we occasionally host our popular supper evenings. In our shop and deli we sell a range of artisan products made by us including our breads, tarts, cakes and pastries, all baked in house daily. We also stock a range of artisan products from local producers as well as fine food and drink from further afield. With a fantastic range of teas, delicious coffee and located just a short distance from the shops and attractions in the centre of Worcester, Mac & Jac's is a great place to meet, eat and visit!
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent retreat from the busy streets!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely, inviting deli/cafe. Excellent coffee. Light with wifi and newspapers. Great selection of deli products and food options. Didn't have a meal but the bake well tart was lovely. Great service too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrPeterJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    46
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Visited this restaurant one lunch time and had a great lunch. I had a club sandwich which is best ive ever had. Mac & Jac is set in Friar Street which is in a historic part of Worcester where you will find a number of restaurants offering great value lunch. Well worth a visit

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
292 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Super bistro cafe deli.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We had a day out in Worcester and had read all the reviews so decided to find this restaurant and try it out. It wa a Tuesday lunchtime and quiet. Got a nice table by the window and had a lovely sharing platter. It had a couple of hot things - a lamb kebab and s pakora and lots of yummy accompaniments like pickle, olives, Parma ham, chorizo, tapenade, a huge bowl of flat bread and brown bread. The service was really friendly and with a opulent of soft drinks the bill was just over £20. There was a huge list of tempting desserts but as we were going out later, we didn't have one.

I'd go again and enjoyed it very much.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank georgegibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent spot of lunch!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Popped in here with my daughter. Very impressed with the quality of both the food and the service. I had an Onion tart with new potatoes and salad which was fabulous, along with a glass of very good Sauvignon Blanc. My daughter had the courgette and mint fritter which while a little small was accompanied by generous portions of hummus, crushed broad beans with feta and a fabulous caponata with flatbreads. The cafe is upstairs, but whilst there I noticed a pushchair being carefully stowed at the back of the deli so a young family could eat upstairs. Lovely old building too... look out for the original decorations on the wall in the main seating area... they must date back centuries. Definite recommendation for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caterpilllar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

It's been a while since I've been to Mac and Jac's in Worcester because it's upstairs and I'm a new mum with a pushchair (I always take the pushchair if planning on going for food as my baby is too young for a high chair and he sits in the pushchair away from hot drinks etc while we eat) - there's also a fantastic Mac and Jac's in Malvern with no stairs to stop me frequenting it.

On this occasion I took the baby in the sling and tried him in a high chair for the first time. The little monster was overtired and screamed the place down before we left. Nevertheless, the food was delightful as always, fresh, tasty and just right portions and the service was fantastic as ever.

Keep up the good work. :-)

(Would benefit from a baby change though!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winter-st*r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mac & Jac's Cafe-Deli also viewed

Malvern, Malvern Hills
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Mac & Jac's Cafe-Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing