We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent value.”
Review of Fownes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fownes Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent value.”
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Booked 2 nights for weekend break on Groupon. Room and facilities comfortable and in good order. Full sized bath and flat screen with freeview. Staff friendly, good breakfast and perfect location seconds walk from town centre. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    205
    155
    118
    102
See reviews for
72
269
33
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I booked a 2 night stay here with Groupon but was very alarmed to read some of the reviews on Trip Advisor so went along fully expecting to be disappointed. Pleased to say not disappointed at all. The hotel is in a great location . We received a warm and friendly welcome from the receptionist and all staff we encountered were friendly and efficient. The standard of cleanliness was acceptable . The breakfast was very good. The room we had (214) was very much in need of refurbishment (our room probably had the worst hairdryer in the world) as indeed from what we could see that whole side of the hotel was. However, we paid a low price and did not expect to get the best room in the hotel. We would stay here again and would be happy to pay a higher price for a better room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

After reading the reviews on this website we booked an overnight stay with some trepidation, however our worries where banished by the warm welcome, friendly staff and the ideal location with its on secure on-site parking.

The hotel is dated in some areas but this is being rectified but obviously as the funds dictate due to the current economic state. Our room was spacious, clean and adequately equipped (take your own hair dryer though) tea making facilities, flat screen Tv, heated towel rails, spacious wardrobe, and immediate hot running water are in every room!

It's not 5 Star but they are not pretending to be, breakfast was excellent which had everything you could want ( hot and cold)' well stocked bar, quiet library/ reading room with fresh coffee and tea.

With a few more licks of paint and tiling this place surely would be top class but it is good now considering the size and age of the building and it still retains some of the character from its previous use(glove factory)

IGNORE PREVIOUS REVIEWS AND TAKE A PUNT, YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 208 and it is really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Very central location 200 meters from the town centre. Good sized reception area, which looks a bit tired. Rooms are large, but windows are ill fitting and heating switches off automatically in the evening. Bathrooms need updating. Furniture is battered and room needs to be properly cleaned. Staff are however ver friendly and helpful. Could be a really good hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFiVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worcester hotels

Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Booked for 2 nights having been given a voucher for this hotel as a birthday present. Having read the comments we were concerned about the cleanliness of the rooms etc. we asked if they had upgrades available and they had at £30 per night. Not wanting to risk spoiling the break I agreed to the upgrade and charges.
The room was fine, clean and quite big but the furnishing were old and worn. I would describe it as no better than an ordinary room in most hotels I have stayed at. On arrival (2.00pm) we passed a table in the library which had used cups, teapot etc., it was still there at 9.00am the next morning!!!!
You should note that a charge is applied if you pay for extras using a credit card.
On the plus side the breakfast was good and the free parking was a bonus with the hotel being close to the town centre.
Not sure I would stay again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

just back from this visit,the hotel is very nice,the reception and restaurant staff very nice,the food first class.but it fell down on cleanliness.at first we couldnt get into our room as we had to wait for it to be serviced,then at first glance all seemed well,apart from the fact that the bathroom grouting needed attention,but when,on the second night the sheet was falling off, i saw to my horror a nasty stain on the mattress!also, the valance was very grubby, though the sheets were clean,with a little direction from those in charge concerning checking on the cleaners, this could be a really nice hotel.

Room Tip: therfore, presume the rest of the rooms were also not noisy,we were in room 212 at the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We booked 2 nights on a kgb deal for this hotel hoping to be able to visit sometime in September or October. Right from the beginning of September we have tried to make bookings on numerous occasions but each time we were told that the hotel had wedding parties every weekend right up to Christmas and so we could not be accomodated. We then tried to book some time during the October November half term (I teach so we cannot go during the week) This also proved to be impossible. The person we spoke to on that occasion said that the only weekend they could offer us was the 14th and 15th December but as this was after our voucher date of the 2nd December expired they said they would have to check with the reservations clerk to see whether we could extend it and they would phone us back to let us know. After a few days when nobody had come back to us we phoned again. We were told in no uncertain terms that this weekend was not possible as the voucher would have expired. When we tried to explain that it had been impossible to be able to book anything with them during the 2 or 3 months we had been trying to fix a date, the receptionist said and I quote, "we're a hotel we cannot fit you in any time when you decide that you want to come." She also said that she had offered us dates that we could not do. She provided all this information without even taking my name or asking when we had tried to book! Forgive me but I was under the impression that you booked a hotel when you wanted to stay and not when they dictated to you the only dates they had available which happened to be during the week when you had already said that you could not go during the week! Finally as I do not teach on a Friday we asked if we could go on a thursday and Friday night anytime in November or December. Alas no they couldn't do that either. The receptionist then had the cheek to tell me that they had some people in this weekend on a KGB deal, When I pointed out that this weekend had never been offered as an option to us, she said that they had booked earlier than us. (All this was still without asking for my name or any information about the amount of times we had tried to book and when!) Unless she is telepathic my feeling is that they have had a lot of problems over this issue with other unhappy would be clients who cannot redeem their vouchers. When I mentioned to her that we had booked the deal in good faith and that there were no restrictions mentioned about weekends not being possible and could they possibly as a gesture of good faith try and accomodate us, she became very abusive. I have never in all my life met with such rudeness from a member of staff in a hotel. I had always laboured under the belief (obviously incorrectly) that the hotel industry was a service industry who tried to accomodate and cultivate their clients on whom they rely for their income and reputation. The conversation ended by the girl putting down the phone on me and then refusing to answer when we tried to telephone back to speak to the manager. As you can imagine, even if they were now to offer us dates for a weekend, we would not dream of setting foot over their threshold. We have had many stays at hotels through the medium of KGB deals over the last few years and although some have been better than others, I can honestly say that they have always been able to offer us a variety of dates and done their best to try and fit us in if they possibly could or at the very least offer us suitable alternatives. This experience has been extremely distressing, 3 months notice should be sufficient for any hotel to be able to accomodate one weekend or one Thursday and Friday night but apparantly not the Fownes Hotel in Worcester who can only accomodate guests when they dicatate the dates to you and you are expected to fit in with them. If you are thinking of planning a visit to Worcester for business or pleasure and are considering he Fownes Hotel, then I would urge you to remember the words of their receptionist to me, " you can't expect us to fit you in around your work and social life."!! need I say more.

Room Tip: Would love to but have not managed to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boheme_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.3 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
473 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.4 mi away
St. Lawrence Hotel
St. Lawrence Hotel
#11 of 11 in Worcester
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fownes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fownes Hotel

Property: Fownes Hotel
Address: City Walls Road, Worcester WR1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fownes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Fownes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fownes Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing