We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful assitant manager”
Review of Fownes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fownes Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Managed to forget to follow the protocol for parking when visiting this hotel. A hefty fine followed and no help from management at all to solve the issue.

After several attempts to get the female assitant manager to actually speak to me she gave me an empty promise that she would try and help me sort the problem explaining how difficult it was.etc etc.(it was painfully obvious she was going to do nothing). crap attitude.

I had to pay the fine...thanks for that fownes! i shall make sure my work place puts no further business their way and i will certainly not visit this hotel again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ddr185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
There are newer reviews for Fownes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel looks great from the outside; but it stops there. Prepare for aggravation, expensive aggravation.
Their motivation seems to be to use every opportunity to make money whatever the cost to the guest experience.
One is greeted by an aggressive notice warning the guest that a failure to properly enter a number plate for one's car parked in their car park will result in a £100 fine. FINE! This is a hotel. The next notice informs you that should you wish to pay by credit card, (who does not), there will be a £3.90 charge, do they think they are Ryanair? The next informs you that should you wish to use WiFi, (who does not), there is a £5 charge for 24 hours. Once in the room, if you want to order a snack, there is a tray charge.

There is much worse to come: The rooms are mostly built around a courtyard. In France that would be where you would want to be for tranquility. But not here, because in this establishment they use it as outside entertainment space for the Event room adjacent to it. One might have thought that there was an implied contract that a hotel room offers some reasonable prospect of sleep? But not if the hotel insists on simultaneously offering itself as an events location when the event cannot but create insufferable noise because the bedrooms are clustered around the event location. We returned to the hotel at around 10:30 and there were notices posted everywhere warning, (another warning, but this one was too late being post event), that there would be a disco until midnight and apologising for the "inconvenience". Inconvenience? This is a virtual breech of contract. There was a guest, almost incandescent with rage in the Reception pounding a bell to summon someone - anyone - to insist that his room be moved because he could get no sleep. Of course, no one appeared. I suppose that we should have been grateful that they did not charge for the "entertainment" since they charged for everything else.
We retired to our room which was insufferably hot because there is no air conditioning; but we could not open a window because of the noise. Then at 1:30 in the morning the revellers from the event spent 40 minutes saying goodnight to each other right outside our window. I don't blame them, they paid for an event, but events and hotels do not mix, at least not in this hotel's construction. It was the worst night's sleep or lack of sleep I have ever endured in a hotel.

Just to check out whether this was a one off, we went back a week later on the same Saturday night at the same time to see if it was the same. And what do you know, 200 yards from the hotel we could hear the noise of music and revelry in the same location. It is and was not a one off event.

I did not entirely agree with previous contributors comments, the rooms were clean and functional and the staff were sympathetic about the noise - I suppose if they work for an establishment that conducts two businesses under the same roof one of which is going to severely annoy the clients of the other, they get used to apologising? I did agree with one contributor's comments when asked which would be the best room location - "look for another hotel"! Amen to that.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed in the hotel for business. The room was spacious and the staff friendly, polite and helpful, The room was clean and had everything I expected to find. Unfortunately the overall interior is shabby and dated. It was extremely hot inside the hotel and my room only had 1 window. The furniture was chipped/stained and in one instance had a hole in it. The a la carte menu was ok but not totally inspiring but breakfast was very good. It was the minor touches that let this hotel down - no steak knives, plastic glasses for the fruit juice at breakfast, no coasters in the room, uneven floors, shower heads at strange heights, mascara on the towels, the TV had poor reception. This could be a really nice hotel if some effort was made with the small details.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonN99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My second visit. The staff were much better, pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was really good as well. But the general cleanliness of the hotel and our room was awful. Carpets either all need replacement or a deep clean. In our room the chairs and bed head was stained, carpet disgusting. All the furniture is chipped and marked Our experience was not helped by the windows being left closed on a stifling day so you were hit by the heat as you went in. Until they do something about cleaning this hotel avoid.

Room Tip: If you are disabled ask for an accessible room as the lift does not reach all rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I'm from Worcester originally and have always admired this hotel. From booking to leaving it was a trial staying with them. Photos are misleading,this poorly maintained hotel is very scrappy and dated. Externally, this historical building is beautiful to look at, the parking is excellent and it's location is perfection for getting into the town, but that's it. The rooms are of a decent size & bed linen is clean but the walls are dirty and scuffed, the floorboards creak very loudly and the carpets are threadbare. But the staff are the rudest I have ever come across.They just cannot be bothered, it's as if you're bothering them when you have the simplest request. Never again. I rated two stars as they serve alcohol, albeit expensively, but that was one microscopically small mercy.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We'd booked this hotel as one of the few in Worcester that were able to accurately articulate the disabled facilities that were available (one of our party is a wheelchair user). We have extensive experience of hotels promising a level of access which has turnd out not to be accurate but the Fownes hotel were clear and accurate in respect of the facilities they had.
The hotel is situated within a (very) old glove manufacturing factory so the exterior is quite imposing but not really aesthetically pleasing however the interior is fine albiet a little eccentric. There is a small lift which was good for our wheelchair user to move up and down the floors, we were caught out a couple of times as the hotel defines their floors the american way so our first floor, is their second floor, not really a problem. Unfortunately one of our rooms was on the first floor and right next to the lift and this, along with very creaky floorboards led to a disturbed sleep and one of our party having to move rooms as she was unable to sleep at all. The hotel has a library area which is decked out almost a s a gentlrman's club complete with leather armchairs, fireplace and 19th century pictures - great fun!.
The rooms are of a good size especially the disabled room with wider doors and a larger bathroom. It's not a fully equipped disable room in that there is no walk in shower but it was as described when we booked.
We had booked B&B but ate in for dinner one evening. Breakfast was OK, the normal range of hot and cold foods (although the cold dishes were unimaginative consisting of juice, cereal and some pastries). We did have have an issue on two seperate days at breakfast when the crockery was unclean - when we pointed it out each day there wasn't much interest taken other than replacing the offending cups.
The dinner we had in the hotel was very good albiet a little pricey at around £70 for three with only a single glass of wine.
The hotel is slightly out of town and tucked away but ws quiet and still reasonably convenient.
Wifi is chargeable
All in all a pleasant stay at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxLondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Love the building a bit of history behind it staff great in all aspects eg bar reception restaurant. Out door spaces relaxing. Bed comfy. My only problem was the hot bedrroom even with windows open apart from that well worth it

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Esther Lucas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worcester
554 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fownes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fownes Hotel

Address: City Walls Road, Worcester WR1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: £46 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fownes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Fownes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fownes Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing