We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Ye Olde Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ye Olde Talbot
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Warks
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Needed a hotel to stay close to Worcester Cathedral. A price of £69 for two including breakfast was astounding as I put the breakfast on a par with many much more expensive places. Staff very helpful, friendly and efficient. Meal in evening well presented and good quality, and beers well kept

Sleep quality rated poor due to being in room facing main road. Understand some rooms face away from road. Wouldn't be a bad idea to hand out ear plugs to occupiers of main road rooms

Room Tip: Ask for room away from road OR ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fennyWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We value all your comments and aim to deliver the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    239
    140
    59
    33
See reviews for
65
251
46
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here on a stop over to Wales, beautiful building, great staff the rooms were simple but lovely, bathroom was spotless and water pressure for the shower was awesome. The breakfast choice was superb. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank air-we-go-again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We value all your comments and aim to deliver the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

myself & three others spent a couple of days at the talbot 13th to 15th march, imust say the stay was lovely, friendly staff, clean& tidy rooms, (a shower to die for), very nice food, and a great atmosphere in the bar. central to everything, bars train station carparking, restraunts, i must say i wouldnt hesitate in going back there, we had a great time thank you. BIG WILLA FROM THORNE.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willaspoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Worcestershire has some interesting attractions ,countryside and history.the hotel offers good sized rooms ,comfy bed and good food.Its nearby shops ,a cinema complex, bars, restaurants and the cathedral.There can be some noise form the road below which is quiet the majority of the time but late on a Saturday night we could hear people and traffic below as we were in a room over Friar Street below .Next time I would ask for a quieter room if there is an alternative.
Good service during both evening and breakfast.Good quality food on offer.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1samantha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed here for two nights on the 24/02/12 & 25/02/12, this being the second time.

On the "plus" side:-

This Inn offers good value for money, it is very conveniently situatuated right in the centre of town, the rooms are clean and modern, flat screen TVs , crisp white linen, comfortable beds, offer room service, food is good (breaksfasts are very nice), there is multi storey car park located at the back where it is easy to park and parking tickets can be validated at the hotel so that you pay half price (£6 per day).

On the "minus" side:-

There seems to be little or no "Management". On both ocassions I have stayed here there never seem to be anyone at reception, have to wait ages to book in and as for "room service"! You can forget it, phone just rings out.

At breakfast on Saturday morning a member of the restaurant staff came into the restaurant in there payjamas and sat and had their breakfast amongst the guests. One guest came down at @ 11.30am (breakfasts at weekends are advertised as being served form 8am - 12pm), waited to be seated and was told by the waiter "I would have thought most guests would have had their breakfast by now!"

On Saturday evening there was a member of the bar staff sat at the other side of the bar in uniform drinking and somebody without uniform behind the bar serving.

Rooms are noisey due to its location, but this is only to be expected.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pampurrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for leaving your comments on trip advisor. We would like to apologise for your long wait at reception as a duty manager should always have the phone on them and answer it promptly. We are currently recruiting for a receptionist to make sure we have somebody on reception at the busy times. As For the member of staff she was off duty at the time and a paying guest but we will make sure that all staff if they are eating breakfast sit in the bar and are appropriately dressed.

We can only apoloigise about your experence at breakfast we serve breakfast until 12 and the member of staff should not have made any comments to you and he will be dealt with accordingly. As for your experience Saturday evening it is clearly unacceptable & we will be dealing with this as an internal matter.

Thank you again for your feedback and we aim to fix these issues so nobody else will experience them again as this is not the high standard of we set ourselves at the Ye Olde Talbot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

stayed for 2 nights 17/18 feb 2012 it is in a great location for shops and pubs, we was in room 26 it was clean and the best shower that i have ever been under, it was a bit noisy as the dust bin men woke us up at 6.30 on the saturday morning, the food is very good, a visit to the cathedral is a must, if in the area would stay againe.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights on saturday and sunday 11th & 12th of Feb and promised Richard I would write a review as we had a fabulous time. Checked in to room 23 and was really impressed.
Really good size room and well decorated with table and chairs next to picture window overlooking friar st. ( the older and quieter street ) Bed was really comfy with great bed linen and pillows and the room and bathroom were spotless - the bathroom was lovely as well with great power shower.
Decided to eat in the restaurant Sat night which was only minor problem as the bar and restaurant were so busy ( valentines weekend ) and the i think the kitchen was finding it hard to cope. Ordered from the valentine special menu - 3 courses at £15 so good value, but had to wait 50 minutes till the starter arrived, which was a sharing platter for 2. However, the items on the plate were very different to those on the menu but we chose not to complain. Then waited 45 mins for main course - 2 very nicely cooked steaks which were both meant to be accompanied by sauces but never arrived until almost at the end of the meal I managed to attract the waitress and she brought the wrong sauces! Felt I had to say something this time and The Mangeress came and apologised and said she would make our bottle of wine complimentary which was very kind. The desserts were wonderful.
Breakfasts on both mornings were excellent with great choices incl eggs benedict, smoked salmon & scambled eggs , kippers and full english as well as buffet style cereals ,fruit etc. really good choices.
The service from everyone was first rate, not just polite but so friendly.
Location cant be beaten - just across the road from the cathedral, close to many pubs, bars and restaurants so loads of choices . We ate at a superb Thai restaurant in Friar st. on Sun in a wonderful 16th cent. building ( think it was called Orchard House ? ) Wonderful food and atmosphere.
Thank you Richard and your excellent team for a wonderful weekend. We recommend your hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Friar St are probably quieter - the barman told me room 4 was haunted ! Give it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandkarenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
3.0 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
903 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cardinals Hat
The Cardinals Hat
#6 of 28 in Worcester
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Talbot

Property: Ye Olde Talbot
Address: Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Talbot 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ye Olde Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Talbot Worcester, Worcestershire
Ye Olde Talbot Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing