We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we had stayed at home”
Review of Ye Olde Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde Talbot
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wished we had stayed at home”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We arrived at Talbot on Sunday14th Oct. We unpacked - had to move the bed to open the wardrobe. Put the T.V. on didn't work. Member of staff fiddled with it - told us to pack again and he would find another room for us. When we finished packing again, he rang to say other T.Vs not working so we would have to stay put. Unpacked yet again ! We are 69 and 72 and a T.V is very much part of our stay - we hoped it could be fixed quickly. Not until the end of our 2nd day was it fixed. On our 1st evening lager ran out, 2nd night - no whisky !! Glad to be packing for the 3rd time by Monday. The Manager during all this miserable time at this hotel was conspicuous by his absence - even though he lives on the premises. Never spoke to us or rang us. The young staff did their best but were clearly embarrassed. Our bill was over £200 (which included a meal first night which was very average pub grub) When I questioned why our bill hadn't been reduced was told the problems were not their fault. So then does that mean that if food supplies don't get delivered, that breakfast can still be charged for if not supplied ? Not their fault ! So a T.V is a service to be included in the price. As for using the bar which couldn't supply either - we had to go elsewhere. Never again - only saving grace freshly cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: My tip is go round the corner to the Travel inn for £19 (even more central)you will have a t.v. at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    234
    136
    57
    32
See reviews for
63
246
46
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

When we arrived we were told that we were not booked. We had the booking confirmation and the person on the desk said that his receptionist had taken the booking but not updated the system. We waited for ages to get this sorted out and eventually got a room.

The room was ok but needed some tlc. When you flushed the toilet it made a terrible noise which continued for over 5 minutes so it was better to try not to flush at night to avoid disturbing other guests. Not hygenic.

We were overlooking a side road and all through the night there was noisy deliveries going on, so we hardly slept. In the morning felt awful. Breakfast was ok but nothing special and some of the items on the menu were not available. Difficult to get a coffee refill. Not the waitress fault she was too busy, needed two people.

We usually stay at a different hotel in Worcester but it was full so we booked this one but wished we had not. We would not come again.

Room Tip: Do not overlook side road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatdiverKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worcester hotels

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

£79 for one night for 2 including breakfast, you pay for what you get and i have no complaints. The room was warm, big and clean enough. The bed was comfy although the pillows could do with being a bit softer. Our room was on friar street and i didnt find it noisey at all, (like other reveiws). slept like a baby. We also ate in the restaurant which we found to be very good food, and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good too lots to choose from other than traditional english breakfast. Would definitely stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Visited this Pub for a charity quiz night with friends and thought we would have a light bite before hand. We arrived afterwork at 5.55pm two of us wanted sandwiches with chips and one wanted jacket potato, we were told that this was not available after 5.00pm. Choice of food was quite restricted but eventually made a second choice although one made a third choice when second was unavailable. Drinks were served quickly and the food too was quite prompt. Scampi was hot and juicy, mushy peas lacked flavour and the chips looked "old" , the sausage and mash was lovely. We went through for the quiz at 7.00pm to be joined by a couple on the next table with exactly what we had been denied - sandwiches !! I felt a little disgruntled as I hadn't particularly wanted such a large meal and felt £7.99 for size and quality rather high

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annetherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback as we take all feedback on board. Firstly we apologise that you could not have sandwiches at that time although it does state on the menu they are until 5pm the staff should have let you have what you asked for and that is something we will cascade down the team especially if we did not have other products on the menu available for you. We are also sorry if you weren’t happy with parts of your meal we will take this up with the head chef as this is not the normal service we like to give. Again we would like to apologise if this effected your evening and we hope you do give us another chance to restore some faith in us by visiting again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I ate here with friends earlier this month and were less than impressed with the food. We found the menu choice limited and really struggled to choose. When the food came it was clear straight away from the portion sizes of our starters that it was very over priced for what it was. What we were served tasted okay but the portions were minute even by normal starter size standards. There was a problem with the mains as my husband was served up the wrong dish and it transpired that they were out of what he had chosen. He didn’t fancy what they had brought to the table so ordered again…obviously this meant that we were almost finished with our meals by the time his main arrived and unfortunately there were several mistakes on the plate presumably due to their rushing to get it out so that he could eat at the same time-ish as the rest of us i.e. raw chips and lasagne with burnt top. As for the rest of our meals…mine was okay but nothing to write home about. Veggie burger and chips at £8.95 again a little overpriced for what it was (another local pub serves a similar but more enjoyable version of this dish £2 cheaper). Our friends both had issues with their mains…chicken fajitas served without the cheese promised on the menu and a surf and turf style burger with burnt prawns. My friend decided to complain and asked the waiter who cleared our plates if she could speak to speak to the manager who came promptly. My friend explained very politely the problems we had experienced and the Manager was very sympathetic. She apologised and explained that she had no intention in charging for my husband’s main course anyway but would also discount our food bill by a further 25%. She gave my friend a card with the head office details and encouraged her to contact them with the complaint explaining that because the hotel is part of a chain the portion sizes etc. are strictly controlled by head office. Well we were all absolutely impressed with the manager’s professional manor and all agreed that we had never experienced such a polite and satisfactory reaction to a complaint. So whilst we were not at all impressed with the food at the Talbot we are very happy to sing the praises of the manager.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenRowberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Firstly can we just apologise for your bad experience as that should not have happened and it is not the high standard we set ourselves. We will pass on the feedback about the limited options of the menu and the pricing of our menu and portion sizes to our food development team. As for the meal that came out wrong we will investigate as to how this happened and why items were missing off your meals as this should not have happened and is not the standard we set ourselves. Again we can only apologise for what has happened to you and we will do everything in our power to ensure it will not happen again we are starting a new menu today and we hope that you will give us a chance to restore some faith back and visit us again thank you for the comments on how the manager dealt with the problem we will make sure we pass that feedback on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We found the hotel to be comfortable and in a good central location. Do expect to pay extra for parking though - public car park very close by. The room was clean and reasonably spacious. Variety of food on offer, all tasty and good value for money. The staff were polite and friendly which contributed to make our weekend stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Great location close to the cathedral and the city center. The hotel is a typical old English hotel, meaning the layout is unconventional, and a bit "up and down". This wasn't an issue for us, but I think the disabled or those who cannot handle steep stairs will not be happy. The rooms are small, (cosy), but clean, tidy and well maintained.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good, all this for less than the Travelodge. I think you won't find a better deal in Worcester. Recommended.

Room Tip: The inside rooms, not facing the street are very quiet, but no view of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#3 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Talbot

Property: Ye Olde Talbot
Address: Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Talbot 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ye Olde Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Talbot Worcester, Worcestershire
Ye Olde Talbot Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing