We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great location and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ye Olde Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde Talbot
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Telford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location and friendly staff.”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night with 4 friends. Room are fine but a little tiered but perfectly fine, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. Staff were all friendly and easy to get hold of when you needed something. We stayed for the cricket which is a short walk away. There are many good bars and restaurants in the area, we tried several bars serving great real ales.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stubris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent vist to Ye Olde Talbot.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to the team.
We are looking to employ a full time Handyman to keep the place updated.
Thank you again for you comments and we hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    233
    136
    55
    32
See reviews for
63
245
45
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed here for one night. Great location. Room was a nice size with power shower. Breakfast was lovely with great choice. Only thing that let's it down is the noisy room. Even though people in next room were only talking normally, it felt like they were in our room! And every time someone flushed a toilet in another room it sounded like the water was flowing through our room. Shame this can't be sorted

Room Tip: Don't have room 23
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent vist to Ye Olde Talbot
We do apologise if your room was noisy and sadly this is something that is quite difficult to fix if you do vist again we can try putting your on the other side of the hotel which should be quieter.
Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I really enjoyed my stay nothing was too much trouble for staff. room comfortable. Really appreciated Giddeon Bible in room. I felt there could have been slightly more choices for full English breakfast maybe hash brown or fried bread. Having said that breakfast lovely. My favourite meal in the restaurant was Sunday roast

Room Tip: Traffic noisy in room 31 but long way from bar so once asleep did not wake up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank-you for your review I will pass your comments on to all the team who will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Nice central location, but on a weekend noise from the party goers is a problem, with no air con you need to leave the window open
The hotel is a 3 star type place and meets all your basic requirements, clean, tidy etc, but just that
Guy on reception was helpful and friendly
Breakfast was good and freshly cooked, rather than one of those awful buffets

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WardyWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank-you for your review. Due to our excellent city centre location right in the heart of Worcester guests may experience outside noise from time to time sadly this is beyond our control. I am glad you found the team pleasant and that enjoyed the breakfast we offer. Thank-you again for taking time to leave a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed for the weekend at Ye Olde Talbot for the weekend with my cricket team and found that it is a great hotel if you want to see Worcester. Situated in the city centre opposite the cathedral and within walking distance of great pubs, restaurants and nightclubs. The rooms are clean and spacious with the softest beds are have ever slept in. The staff are friendly and there is a good selection for breakfast. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: My room overlooking the courtyard was fine, but rooms on the other side are a bit noisy in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Al007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for your review, I am please you found your room comfortable. Even though reception is not always manned, a member of the team is always around and we provide a bell for attention. Thanks again for taking the time to review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Craig, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
180 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Much of the building dates, I would guess, from the 60s or 70s and is integrated into one of the ugliest developments in Worcester - you cannot imagine planning permission being granted these days for such a building in the centre of the old part of the city. That is not to say all the rooms are of this vintage, no doubt there are others in the smaller old part of the hotel. Our room was spartan to say the least and the bathroom could most certainly do with an upgrade and refurbishment. In fact the shower was quite dangerous as the thermostat appeared not to be working and the stronger the flow of water the hotter it got! Basic furnishings in the room and a very small double bed.

The bar was comfortable and seemed to be doing a good trade - meals and drinks - but we only took breakfast in our two night stay. Breakfast itself was served, not the more usual buffet you often find these days. No complaints though.

As there is no night porter and the hotel shuts its doors once the bar closes, accessing some of the rooms after closing time is quite an adventure which means negotiating the gate to the courtyard, the entrance to one set of rooms, up a staircase, along a passageway and then down into the other half of the building.

This does not set out to be a fully equipped hotel, rather an inn, and as such it is priced accordingly and this must be taken into account. It is very well situated being next door to the cathedral, and a short walk to all that Worcester has to offer, including the restaurants nearby.

We were in Worcester for the cricket but I fancy the Premier Inn currently being built at the ground may seem more attractive in the future. If you want somewhere that is central and provides the basics, however, the Talbot is okay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank-you for taking time to leave a review. Ye Olde Talbot is a 3* 13th century coaching inn that is attached to the Cathedral Plaza NCP complex, and all our rooms have standard double beds. I apologise that the shower was working incorrectly thank-you for letting me know so that I can ensure it is fixed for the next guests. We are glad you enjoyed our excellent city centre location and Thank-you again for leaving a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. Everything I needed for a comfortable night. Excellent breakfast. Quirky old room with spartan decor and fitments but clean and comfortable. It's not the ritz but it doesn't pretend to be.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ybabobmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Ye Olde Talbot hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
971 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Worcester
508 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Talbot

Property: Ye Olde Talbot
Address: Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Talbot 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ye Olde Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Talbot Worcester, Worcestershire
Ye Olde Talbot Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing