We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel, would go again”
Review of Ye Olde Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ye Olde Talbot
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel, would go again”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Nice clean, friendly hotel, nice welcoming pub, good pub prices, lovely cooked breakfast, very comfortable bed, clean, functional room. Noisey from the road but with the windows closed (and a fan on) the second night was much better. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: In room 27 the road is noisey with the windows open but not too bad with them closed, get a fan from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverleyinkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    239
    141
    59
    33
See reviews for
65
252
46
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The hotel is in a good location to visit Worcester, but the down side of this is that there is a lot of noise. It is next to the cinema which closes late at night. The rooms are a little small but nicely decorated and appointed. Had a bit of trouble with the shower not getting hot, took a while but the next morning it was fine, hot and powerful. The bed is very comfortable. The staff there are friendly, polite and very helpful. I had a bit of trouble with my wifi set up and they spent time in helping me get it going. There is good selection for breakfast and the waitress was lovely. The hotel has a bar and restaurant which were very good. Good place I think for a holiday not so good for business if you want a quiet nights sleep. Traffic around the hotel is busy so getting to it early evening is a bit difficult. Surrounded by lots of bars and restaurants, overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melaniet970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank-you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, as you say we are located right in the heart of the city centre and this may mean that occasionally guests may experience some outside noise sadly this beyond our control, we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night with 4 friends. Room are fine but a little tiered but perfectly fine, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. Staff were all friendly and easy to get hold of when you needed something. We stayed for the cricket which is a short walk away. There are many good bars and restaurants in the area, we tried several bars serving great real ales.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stubris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent vist to Ye Olde Talbot.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to the team.
We are looking to employ a full time Handyman to keep the place updated.
Thank you again for you comments and we hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed here for one night. Great location. Room was a nice size with power shower. Breakfast was lovely with great choice. Only thing that let's it down is the noisy room. Even though people in next room were only talking normally, it felt like they were in our room! And every time someone flushed a toilet in another room it sounded like the water was flowing through our room. Shame this can't be sorted

Room Tip: Don't have room 23
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent vist to Ye Olde Talbot
We do apologise if your room was noisy and sadly this is something that is quite difficult to fix if you do vist again we can try putting your on the other side of the hotel which should be quieter.
Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I really enjoyed my stay nothing was too much trouble for staff. room comfortable. Really appreciated Giddeon Bible in room. I felt there could have been slightly more choices for full English breakfast maybe hash brown or fried bread. Having said that breakfast lovely. My favourite meal in the restaurant was Sunday roast

Room Tip: Traffic noisy in room 31 but long way from bar so once asleep did not wake up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank-you for your review I will pass your comments on to all the team who will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Nice central location, but on a weekend noise from the party goers is a problem, with no air con you need to leave the window open
The hotel is a 3 star type place and meets all your basic requirements, clean, tidy etc, but just that
Guy on reception was helpful and friendly
Breakfast was good and freshly cooked, rather than one of those awful buffets

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WardyWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank-you for your review. Due to our excellent city centre location right in the heart of Worcester guests may experience outside noise from time to time sadly this is beyond our control. I am glad you found the team pleasant and that enjoyed the breakfast we offer. Thank-you again for taking time to leave a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed for the weekend at Ye Olde Talbot for the weekend with my cricket team and found that it is a great hotel if you want to see Worcester. Situated in the city centre opposite the cathedral and within walking distance of great pubs, restaurants and nightclubs. The rooms are clean and spacious with the softest beds are have ever slept in. The staff are friendly and there is a good selection for breakfast. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: My room overlooking the courtyard was fine, but rooms on the other side are a bit noisy in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Al007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for your review, I am please you found your room comfortable. Even though reception is not always manned, a member of the team is always around and we provide a bell for attention. Thanks again for taking the time to review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Craig, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
3.0 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
905 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cardinals Hat
The Cardinals Hat
#6 of 28 in Worcester
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Talbot

Property: Ye Olde Talbot
Address: Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Talbot 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ye Olde Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Talbot Worcester, Worcestershire
Ye Olde Talbot Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing