We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ye Olde Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ye Olde Talbot
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at Ye olde talbot for our anniversary,we have stayed in a number of hotels in this chain ,as always the food was good, the staff were very busy at breakfast which resulted in us waiting for tables to be cleared & buffet to be replenished only one waitress on one morning, our room was very warm (6) a connecting door to next room was blocked by a wardrobe which was at the bottom of the bed with not much room,the tv was on the wall to the right of the bed, so had to sit on edge of bed to watch it or have a crick in the neck, the towel rail in bathroom was broken, i caught my arm on the bracket a couple of times , shower was fab really powerful our stay in worcester was very pleasant, but hotel rooms needs a bit of TLC

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review we are glad that you enjoyed the food. We were sorry to hear that you were not as pleased with the room, thank-you for bringing thhe broken towel rail to my attention this has now been fixed. Sadly due to where the aerial point is we are unable to move the tv to a better position, We hope that you will stay with us again in a different room that is more suitable for your needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    233
    136
    55
    32
See reviews for
63
245
45
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
somerset uk
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location was convenient for us. The service was good... MUCH better than our last stay, last weekend, at another hotel in the same 'chain'. The receptionist on arrival was efficient and polite. She also doubled as the waitress at table next morning and was equally efficient and polite. I didn't 'get' her name but she should get some accolade!
Some of the décor was a bit dated and shabby but it was a very good value for money stay.

Room Tip: Our room was noisy in the morning but the hotel is in the centre of town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank-you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Good location, no parking though! But parked for free overnight on town roads, staff were very professional and nice, room was clean etc and yeh we would be staying here again, beds comfy too and breakfast was cooked to a high standard will be staying here next time as long as we find a good deal again hopefully, this was booked with one days notice!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueshadowchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Ye Olde Talbot hotel
I will pass your feedback onto the staff.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Staff is wonderfull, location is almost perfect. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, bathroom is nice as well. The breakfast is superb! Had a nice wine and cheese plate in the pub: loved it!

When you sleep at the front of the hotel, you have a lot of noise 'till late in the evening from pub guests. When you sleep at the back, there's a night club or so, and street races 'till late at night and...you get woken up by a garbage truck emptying the glass container at 5.30 am! From 6 'o clock on, there's delivery trucks and vans coming and going...

That said, on my next visit, I'm definitely staying here again. I'll just bring earplugs :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_ragazza_mela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Ye olde talbot hotel
We sadly are not able to control the noise we have around us but when you come to stay next time we can try put you in a quieter room.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed at the ye olde Talbot on the Friday the 16th of august and thought it was amazing we checked in and the member of staff on reception was very friendly and helpful. We also had a table booked in the restraurant and when we got there we were greeted in a polite and friendly manner, the staff on the restaurant were delightful they were friendly kind and very helpful I think there names was Emily and Aaron they work really well together and have a good working relationship and have great customer service skills. Me and my husband were thrilled on how good they handled things even though they were a little busy I recommend coming back again because these two members of staff made our night especially it was our anniversary thank you to all the staff at the ye olde Talbot

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coke-cola2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Ye Olde Talbot hotel
I will pass your comments onto emily and aaron as they will be pleased to know you had a great time thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The first time my husband and I have visited Ye Olde Talbot hotel, and we were pleasantly surprised. The bar staff were helpful and polite, and despite the restaurant being fairly busy the staff serving managed to find us a table swiftly after our arrival. Food was excellent and to a very good standard for great value, the staff that served our meal, Emily and Aaron were very attentive, and regularly checked to ensure our meals were up to standard along with checking our drinks were always topped up. Great value and staff, will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chmadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback om your recent stay at the Ye olde talbot hotel.
I will pass your positve feedback onto all my staff and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights recently with my husband and friends and found the rooms to be clean and spacious although a little bit dated. The hotel is situated in a very good location close to pubs, restaurants and shopping centre. However we found it to be rather noisy especially early morning (5am onwards) due to seagulls, street cleaning, dustbin wagons and delivery trucks. Breakfast was until 12 noon and had a good range of food to choose from. Bar drinks were a bit overpriced

Room Tip: All rooms seem to overlook rather noisy main streets/roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith11UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Due to our excellent location right in the heart of Worcester City Centre, occasionally guests may experience some noise from the road outside; sadly this is out of our control. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Talbot

Property: Ye Olde Talbot
Address: Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Talbot 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ye Olde Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Talbot Worcester, Worcestershire
Ye Olde Talbot Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing