We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting Customer Attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ye Olde Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde Talbot
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgusting Customer Attitude”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

In December I booked a room for three nights 30 April, I & 2 May, through Booking.com. To confirm the booking I had to make the full payment of £243 straight away.
Late January I found that I would not be able to travel to Worcester at that time and tried to cancel. I was informed that I would not be refunded one penny of the amount I paid despite the hotel having three months minimum to relet the room.
I had also made three other bookings through Booking.com for the period following the 2nd May and there was no problem with the cancellation
I can only assume Ye Olde Talbot is so desperate for income that customer service goes out of the window.
My advice to anyone travelling to Worcester is to take care where you make a booking !!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We ar sorry that you feel you on this occasion you have received poor customer service. When a booking is made on our advanced reduced rate the booking is non refundable and non transferable as stated in the terms and conditions on the websites before you book and also on the confirmation you receive after you book, We do also offer a flexible rate that allows guests the freedom to cancel or modify a booking up until 2pm day before arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    233
    136
    55
    32
See reviews for
63
245
45
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Had a 2 night stay on a newspaper offer with breakfast and it was good value for money. The location is good and generally the hotel is clean and tidy. However on the second evening the entire hotel had no hot water and this was the same the following morning which made things very difficult. There also appeared to be a change over of some staff and the difference was notable, especially at breakfast on the second morning. The staff do seem stretched at busy times.
Admittedly we were on an offer, but I feel a gesture of some kind for the lack of hot water would have gone a long way. We didn't really get any information or an apology.

Room Tip: The night life on Friar Street at the weekend is very lively.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. We take on board your comments regarding breakfast are pleased to say that we have now allocated more staff for weekend breakfasts to help ease the pressure at busy times. We are sorry that you experienced the issues with hot water this has now been rectified and we are looking to compensate any guests who were affected. If you could give us a call on 01905 23573 or email 9250@greeneking.co.uk with your details we can speak to you further
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We booked the hotel via an offer in the newspaper. Excellent offer and great value for money...three nights for two people for £60 including breakfast!

Excellent central Worcester location and within easy walking distance of the town and attractions. Its a very old building in the main and full of beams and nooks and crannies.

Rooms were clean, tidy and adequately furnished. Not Buckingham Palace, but totally acceptable, if a little tired in places.

Jimmy, the manager, was very helpful when we required better pillows, the ones supplied were far too soft. Keen to please and obviously cared about the hotel and guests.

Breakfast was excellent. A large and varied buffet and hot food menu available. The full English was a good portion and nicely presented.

We found all of the staff to be friendly, cheerful and polite, even when obviously busy.

Happily would stay there again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Friar Street is a pretty view, but can be quite noisy late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to leave your review. I will pass your comments on to Jimmy and the rest of the team. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed in Ye Olde Talbot for two nights when we were in Worcester for a wedding.

The booking was made via Late Rooms, for £58 a night I can't fault the place. The room was nice and clean overlooking the street, staff in the hotel and pub were very friendly and friendly, and the breakfast was very good. Discounted secure car parking is a two minute walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve1980x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Supervisor at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are very glad that you found your stay with us enjoyable! Thank you for your comments, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Having spent a lot of my youth drinking in this place it was nice to return, the room was superb, clean and comfy. There appeared to be a staff shortage with one guy working like a trooper during our stay, manning reception, the bar, seating us in the restaurant, he was constantly working and very professionally to. The breakfast was like a greene king beer, just not quite right. It was bedlam, again one poor woman seemed to be trying to cater for everyone, clear tables, take orders, restock juices and cereals, seat people, bring food etc. On the whole it was a great place to stay and only seemed let down by insufficient staffing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Supervisor at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your comments, we welcome along any feedback from our customers and will look into the understaffing issue. We strive for excellent service, so we are glad that you noticed that the team are hard working throughout the hotel. We do hope that you stay with us again to see if these issues are rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed here as part of a weekend away with my husband. On arrival we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. Our room, with 4 poster bed was very well appointed (this included a very authentic uneven floor) with a large and well equipped bathroom. Even though the Pub/hotel was in the centre of town, we did not experience any noise nuisance. The Bar downstairs is very cosy.
Breakfast in the morning had a good choice of dishes from a cold buffet and a menu for hot options. The combination of Poached egg on Toast with Bacon was not on the menu but the staff accommodated the request without any problems. If in Worcester don't look any further and stay here. I for one would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beentheretoo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank-you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and especially your breakfast. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
229 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is a quaint old hotel that offers a unique experience of old England. Centrally located it is very convenient to the center. Staff are very friendly, breakfast filling, and the pub a great place to relax after a long day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
970 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Worcester
508 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Talbot

Property: Ye Olde Talbot
Address: Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Talbot 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ye Olde Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Talbot Worcester, Worcestershire
Ye Olde Talbot Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing