We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Galleria Italiana

Galleria Italiana
Ranked #4 of 342 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Italian Restaurant. Pasta, pizza, specials and gluten free options
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Myself, husband, son and his girlfriend went to the Victorian Fayre today and popped in to this place at 5.30 to try to get a table expecting to get a no as even this early they were very busy . After checking their bookings we were told we could have a table providing we could vacate the table by 7.15. I'm so get we got a table as the restaurant is beautiful, staff attentive and food delicious!! All that we had was excellent and the Rigatoni Con Cozze was outstanding!! Thanks so much for squeezing us in!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moor40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galleria9, Owner at Galleria Italiana, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. At Galleria we can get very busy and always try to accommodate customers that walk in,. so I am really pleased we managed to get you a table without compromising any of the bookings and we are really pleased that you enjoyed everything about our restaurant. Hope to see you again. Kind regards Galleria Italiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    169
    44
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST IN THE CITY!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The only thing I can say is you will not regret booking this restaurant. Warm, hospitable and just great food. A great place for a night out either in a group or as a couple. Fabulous!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galleria9, Owner at Galleria Italiana, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review an many thanks for your lovely comments, we are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Galleria Italiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant this side of Tuscany”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

As we approached the restaurant from the car park at the end of the street, we noted how few people were eating out in the many nice looking places in New Street and Friar Street. That was until we reached our destination and discovered what appears to be the busiest restaurant in Worcester!
Despite being busy, we were welcomed with a genuinely friendly smile from the staff and taken to our table.
The menu is extensive and interesting, with everything being prepared on the premises as it is ordered (just like in Italy) but what is even better is that the prices are very reasonable for what is currently the highest rated restaurant in the town.
The food and wine were faultless. The service was attentive but not intrusive.
We must go back because I had difficulty choosing between risotto and calzone, and I need to satisfy my curiosity!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paolo9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galleria9, Owner at Galleria Italiana, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review. WOW! what can I say about the heading, what a compliment especially from a 51 senior reviewer. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Galleria Italiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We couldn't belive how busy this place was on a Mondya night when we arrived but having eaten there, we now understand.

The sharing meat platter to start with was outstanding and great value and the pizza's were just what you want, thin, crispy, freshly made and served piping hot!

All of the staff were really helpfull and pleasant and just couldn't do enough.

Definately a place to recommend and a place to go back to!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galleria9, Owner at Galleria Italiana, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, all our food is freshly prepared with only authentic Italian ingredients, from the antipasto you described to the pizzas. We look forward to seeing you again Kind Regards Galleria Italiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem Offering Great Service & Lovely Food”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We found this gem of a restaurant on Tripadvisor after planning a day trip to Worcester. The previous reviews were generally very good so we decided to give it a try for lunch. We were so glad we did as this became the highlight of our day. The restaurant is tucked away in scenic Friar Street and could easily be missed if you didn't know it was there. We were greeted with a smile as we entered and were shown to a table. As it was the start of the lunch opening times we were the only people in when we arrived but a few other people soon arrived. There was some pleasant Italian music creating a nice ambiance and the small restaurant felt relaxed, cosy and welcoming.
As my wife was celebrating her birthday we began with a glass of strawberry flavoured prosecco. Our starter was a sharing platter of Italian meats and cheeses with olives and salad. This was plentiful and delicious. For main course my wife enjoyed a beautifully cooked risotto and I went for a fantastic calzone crammed full of lovely flavours. The choices were plentiful with some unusual and different offerings. Having holidayed in Italy this year it reminded us of our meals there and was every bit as good.
We couldn't resist a dessert and I went for the traditional Tiramisu washed down with a latte. A friendly gentleman we assume was the owner came over early on in our meal and had a quick chat as he was about to head out of the restaurant. It was nice that he took the time to speak to us before heading off.
The entire bill including 3 courses each, coffee x 2, 2 glasses of prosecco and 2 glasses of wine came to £60.00 which we felt was a fair price for excellent food and service.
We only wish the restaurant was closer to home but could easily be tempted back on our way past or for a special visit. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCoysOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galleria9, Owner at Galleria Italiana, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I am very pleased that my Restaurant was the highlight of your day and that the food was as good as what you experienced on your holiday in Italy. The reason being, I have a great team of passionate chefs who take pride in everything they cook. If your travels bring you back to Worcester we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Galleria Italina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galleria Italiana also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Galleria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing