We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Diglis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diglis House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2011

If there is one thing going for this hotel it is its great location on the river and within easy walking distance of Worcester Cathedral, Worcester town centre and other attractions. Because it is one of very few hotels/bars on the river in Worcester it does get very busy on a sunny day as it has a large sitting out area with many tables. This brings the problem of long queues at the bar.
However the hotel room was clean and my room in the more modern annex had a good view of the river and was away from the hussle and bussle of the main hotel.
The restaurant is in a large conservatory overlooking the river and is very pleasant but unfortunately appeared to be understaffed. When I tried to book a table for four people at 19.00 I was asked if i would mind a booking at 19.30 as the chef would be busy with other customers before then. When we went into the restaurant at 19.25 (no one to meet, greet and seat us) there were only six other diners so hardly a mass feeding exercise was required by the chef. The food was very good but perhaps a little pricey on those dishes where vegetables were not included. The service was fine but the sole waitress, who was very good, was also having to double up as receptionist!!!
Breakfast was fine and again served in the conservatory which on a nice summer day was very nice.
Overall a good experience but just a few organisational rough edges.
(As an aside I stayed at the hotel in June 2010 and the same comments could apply to that stay also).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamworthfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2011

When we arrived our first bathroom smelled like pee because the shower cutain ( I dont think) had never been changed We were given another room, here is a list of what was wrong with it...You couldnt flush the chain without holding on to the cistern to stop it falling off the wall, the shower was either a boiling hot or a freezing cold trickle..you couldnt shut the wardrobe door without kicking it..when the room was cleaned the next day the cups werent cleaned properly, at night there was a boiler or something starting up every half our and rumbled on for ages (had very little sleep) the windows didnt stay open when you look out of them they shut on your head!!! This hotel was not very clean or cared for it is shabby and run down. The reason it is so expensive £105 per night!!! is the location that is the only good thing about it. We were not offered a refund or discount just told to right to the manager with any complaints, all be it in a very polite manor, This I will be doing.

Room Tip: A shower and toilet that works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonsee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed 3 nights. Dirty carpet, stained bed linen on arrival, dirty drawers in cupboard, stained chair, even kettle and hair dryer dirty. Dirty glasses left in suite and not cleaned properly. Stained table cloths at breakfast and some threadbare. The whole place was shabby and grubby. The only good thing was being on the river. Dinner overrated and expensive £9.95 for 3 scallops as a starter!!! £138 per night b & b - certainly a rip off.

Middle ageed couple from Hertfordshire

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffinmilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We had a wonderful night. Every member of staff was very impressive - friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Our room had patio doors opening up by the river - very peaceful. Room was large with four poster bed and the bathroom was very chic and modern and spotlessly clean. This was an impulse stay but we are so glad we stopped and would definately return. We had a splendid full english breakfast in the conservatory - the sausages were outstanding! We travel a lot and have stayed in many hotels and this is in our top f.ive

Room Tip: Room 19 in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura-Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

While the Diglis hotel appears to be clean and convenient in terms of location I can't rate the rooms as I never actually managed to set foot in one. Despite having recieved both telephone and e-mail confirmation letters and travelling as part of a group booking myself and another colleague arrived to find that there was no record of our existence. It was implied that I had lied about the booking until I produced a printout of the e-mail. I was left waiting with no idea of what was happening and told to go and buy a drink in the hotel bar (no complimentary drink to apologise). After a long wait (over 1 hour) I had to go back to challenge the manager before we were seen. We were then offered no apology but a replacement room in a different town. When I said that this was not acceptable as we were travelling by train and had meal bookings in Worcester for that evening they eventually sourced 2 (very noisy) rooms on the ring road about a mile from the rest of our colleagues. We had to walk with luggage as they did not offer a taxi, although a member of staff did come with us to arrange the replacement rooms. We were also offered a breakfast with our colleague the next day - but of course had to do the return mile walk with luggage to claim this. I was very annoyed by the level of customer service and lack of apology and certainly would not recommend that anyone book at the Diglis in future. While they did their best to provide some solution they did not take responsibility for the mistake and offered no explanation as to why it had occured - hence appear to have no plans to remedy the problem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Location excellent - overlooking the river and a short walk to the city centre, cathedral etc. Stayed in the original period building in room 4 - a good size, with a couple of armchairs and side views of the river from its lovely bay window (does overlook the tables in the garden though so could be noisy in summer). The main building is listed and full of character - yes, the windows are single glazed sashes, yes, the bedroom floor was a little creaky, yes, the furniture is in keeping with the age of the property (no chain hotel MDF... and even had a proper wardrobe with doors!) and yes in places the decoration is a little on the tired side but the cleanliness and comfort of the room could not be faulted and the bathroom appeared virtually new and was "squeaky clean". Breakfast was excellent, served in the conservatory with its views of the river. The staff were friendly and efficient. If you want a change from the hotel chains then this is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

The hotel has real character,a beautiful Georgian building. Its location is wonderful,right beside the river Severn so the views of the river at meal times in the conservatory are wonderful.In the summer time you can have drinks on the lawn beside the river The room was spacious,and had character with pictures and a lovely old gilded wardrobe.
The service was first class,our waitress was perfect and all the staff from the chef to the receptionist were all very pleasant. This is not owned by a chain but is privatety owned so it has real character even to the grandfather clock in the hall.. The hotel is a minute's walk from the Worcester Porcelain museum and 3 mins walk from the cathedral

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.6 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diglis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diglis House Hotel

Address: Severn Street, Worcester WR1 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: £89 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Diglis House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Country House Hotel in the heart of the city. We are a Grade II listed building and you will find us located on the Riverside with a spectacular view of the River Severn. From Diglis House Hotel there is easy access on foot to the shops, cafes & tourist attractions that Worcester has to offer. We have superb rooms throughout our hotel buildings with many Superior Rooms & Junior Suites offering a River View. Food is available 12pm - 9pm in our Conservatory Restaurant, Bar and Garden Area, please see our website for Menus. The extended bar area and new William Leader room provides ample space to enjoy a relaxing drink or snack. As Worcester's premier wedding venue, we have three rooms licenced for civil ceremonies and the magnificent backdrop of the River Severn for those special photographs. We also have a selection of meeting rooms that can accommodate meetings up to 100 people. Proud to be the only hotel in Worcester with complimentary Wi-Fi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diglis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diglis Hotel Worcester
Diglis House Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing