We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Accommodation”
Review of Diglis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diglis House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Lovely location. Communal areas of hotel fine, food very acceptable but accommodation not good. Room in annexe was small, dingy and carpet needed cleaning. Far too hot and stuffy despite having turned the radiator off. French doors opened to outside but no window so unable to get any air during the night. Previous occupants had left items which had not been removed before we took the room and makes you wonder how well the cleaning had been done. Bed rock hard. Not impressed - would not stay again. Not worth the money - have stayed in B&Bs that were far more spacious, spotlessly clean and cost less.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birdie508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Set right next to the river. The restaurant overlooks the river and had the Easter weather been warmer we could have sat in the ample garden to watch the world go by. The city centre is a leisurely 15 minute stroll away and a 10 minute walk back via the Cathedral. I would agree that one or two areas look a little bit tired, but it cannot all look newly painted. First impression of the room was that it was small. However, as we were not in it 24 hours a day this was not a problem. It had been recently decorated, and had a decent sized bathroom - with a mirror that did not get steamed up!! (well done) - so overall we were pleased with the accomodation.
The hotel is well, but discreetly signposted, so is easy to find. There are two car parks, the left hand one is along a narrow lane, so drivers of big vehicles beware. However, no other vehicles use the lane so that is a bonus.
There were 2 weddings on whilst we were there and as they were in the annexe there were no problems with noise.
Staff were friendly and helpful

We will visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chesterman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Rooms very comfortable and clean, perfect idyllic location on the river, friendly helpful staff, breakfast tasty (the order was a little wrong but food was good quality) and the bar was open all night! The hotel does need a little updating but we would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Water83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. You are right when you think we are in the process of refurbishment. We are awaiting final approval to extend the bar and remove an niside wall to increase the size of the bar/lounge and improve our meeting room facilities. As a listed building this process has taken some time and we can only apologize if the room appears a little tired

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Hotel staff were excellent, attentive, informative and friendly. The Hotel is in need of refurbishment and looked tired. we did notice that whilst we were there the Hotel team were planning some building work which may freshen-up the Hotel. The location, however, was fantastic - even with the river Severn in flood. Right next to the river and adjacent to the Cathedral it could not be better. The room we stayed in was apart from the main building and did feel a bit like chain type hotel accommodation. The location and staff ensure we will use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMark79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

A beautiful characterful hotel in a good location next to the river. Shame then that we were put in an annex building which was more like a holiday inn express. We were told this was an upgrade!!!. If I had been told this on the phone when I booked I would of gone to a different hotel. The room was cramped and in need of a little maintenance and cleaning but did have a good view of the river. We had a drink in the evening and enjoyed a lovely atmosphere which old furniture and a gas/coal fire. The drinks were well priced too. Just as the character and atmosphere was missing from our room it was also lacking at breakfast. This was a disappointment with thick fatty bacon and a down market cafe/B & B atmosphere. This was a shame really as you could see they had not skimped on the quality of the ingredients. and the staff were attentive too. My girlfriend could not eat her cold fatty English breakfast and we seemed to be constantly asking for things to be replenished as well as getting up and down like a YOYO to sort out a couple of pieces of toast. Please buy a proper hotel toaster and remember to top up the bread. We stay in lot of hotels and went away feeling disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel many times and just returned once again from yet another pleasant stay, the staff are always friendly and attentive and nothing seems to much trouble for them. The hotel is located right on the river bank should you wish to take a gentle stroll, alternatively less than five minutes walk you can be in Worcester town centre. Although my stays are generally only for one night on business, I always look forward to arriving to a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

9 of us stayed at this hotel for new years party had a lovely time staff were very friendly and helpful .evening do was very good ,all had a brilliant time there and have recommended this to friends.....cannot fault this hotel in any way ...and would stay again well done diglis from the obriens

Room Tip: did not relise there was a gym we could use
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubmanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

The staff and management are really pleased you enjoyed your New Year with us.We understand the importance of these special events and try to make them memorable.
If you return next year make sure you let us know you are a returning guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.6 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worcester
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
600 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diglis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diglis House Hotel

Address: Severn Street, Worcester WR1 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: £93 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Diglis House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diglis House Hotel has the best location in Worcester it is on the Riverside yet has easy access on foot to shopping,tourist attractions and the riverside walkIt is a Grade II listed building. We have superb junior suites overlooking the river in the main house where all the rooms have been recently refurbished There is a new annex with many rooms having a river view. Food is available in the Conservatory Restaurant, bar or there is the option of eating in the gardens on warm days. The extended bar and new William Leader room provides ample space to enjoy a relaxing drink or snack. As Worcester's premier wedding venue, we have three rooms licenced for civil ceremonies and the magnificent backdrop of the Malvern hills for those special photographs. We have a selection of meeting rooms that can accommodate meetings up to 100 people. The only hotel in Worcester with complimentary parking and W-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diglis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diglis Hotel Worcester
Diglis House Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing