We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, helpful staff but accommodation poor.”
Review of Diglis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diglis House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff but accommodation poor.”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We were part of a party of conference delegates staying here. The location is idyllic, nestling beside the river and the Cathedral and a short walk from a busting city centre. However, our 'Superior Double' was definitely NOT superior! Small, airless and located directly above the kitchen extractor fan we were very disappointed with room 7 (especially as we had been told on the telephone that we were booked into a Garden Cottage Room! which sounded rather lavish!) There were some stains on the very worn carpet and wallpaper was lifting from the walls. In fairness, the bathroom was clean and well appointed and the bedding was clean. Unfortunately, we arrived on a very busy Bank holiday Monday and so we couldn't even park our car on site.
This hotel has huge potential but is very tired in places.

Room Tip: Avoid room 7 for extractor fan noise and cooking smells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank disneydiva_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    148
    66
    43
    28
See reviews for
97
231
23
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

A friend had recommended this place to as the only dining place with a river view. The setting is lovely with both indoor and outdoor seating, today it was just a shame that the weather was not warm enough to sit out. We only wanted a light snack and the menu provided a good choice and we were soon served with a freshly made sandwich. Would certainly go back if I visited Worcester again. There is also a pleasant walk along the riverside.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

I am a frequent visitor to the Diglis & I love it's relaxed feel and love the riverside views. We are always made welcome there. I did not have dinner there this time but breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was as lovely as usual. My room was large, clean & comfortable my only criticism was that the water pressure in the shower was poor.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lem0n_tart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
We are pleased you enjoy your stays with us, next time you stay you will see we have a new dinner menu with some mouthwatering dishes. We would appreciate you contacting the hotel directly so that we can ascertain which room you stayed in then we can address the problem with the shower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Lovely location. Communal areas of hotel fine, food very acceptable but accommodation not good. Room in annexe was small, dingy and carpet needed cleaning. Far too hot and stuffy despite having turned the radiator off. French doors opened to outside but no window so unable to get any air during the night. Previous occupants had left items which had not been removed before we took the room and makes you wonder how well the cleaning had been done. Bed rock hard. Not impressed - would not stay again. Not worth the money - have stayed in B&Bs that were far more spacious, spotlessly clean and cost less.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdie508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City of Chester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Set right next to the river. The restaurant overlooks the river and had the Easter weather been warmer we could have sat in the ample garden to watch the world go by. The city centre is a leisurely 15 minute stroll away and a 10 minute walk back via the Cathedral. I would agree that one or two areas look a little bit tired, but it cannot all look newly painted. First impression of the room was that it was small. However, as we were not in it 24 hours a day this was not a problem. It had been recently decorated, and had a decent sized bathroom - with a mirror that did not get steamed up!! (well done) - so overall we were pleased with the accomodation.
The hotel is well, but discreetly signposted, so is easy to find. There are two car parks, the left hand one is along a narrow lane, so drivers of big vehicles beware. However, no other vehicles use the lane so that is a bonus.
There were 2 weddings on whilst we were there and as they were in the annexe there were no problems with noise.
Staff were friendly and helpful

We will visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Rooms very comfortable and clean, perfect idyllic location on the river, friendly helpful staff, breakfast tasty (the order was a little wrong but food was good quality) and the bar was open all night! The hotel does need a little updating but we would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Water83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. You are right when you think we are in the process of refurbishment. We are awaiting final approval to extend the bar and remove an niside wall to increase the size of the bar/lounge and improve our meeting room facilities. As a listed building this process has taken some time and we can only apologize if the room appears a little tired
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Hotel staff were excellent, attentive, informative and friendly. The Hotel is in need of refurbishment and looked tired. we did notice that whilst we were there the Hotel team were planning some building work which may freshen-up the Hotel. The location, however, was fantastic - even with the river Severn in flood. Right next to the river and adjacent to the Cathedral it could not be better. The room we stayed in was apart from the main building and did feel a bit like chain type hotel accommodation. The location and staff ensure we will use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoMark79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diglis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diglis House Hotel

Property: Diglis House Hotel
Address: Severn Street, Worcester WR1 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Diglis House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diglis House Hotel has the best location in Worcester it is on the Riverside yet has easy access on foot to shopping,tourist attractions and the riverside walkIt is a Grade II listed building. We have superb junior suites overlooking the river in the main house where all the rooms have been recently refurbished There is a new annex with many rooms having a river view. Food is available in the Conservatory Restaurant, bar or there is the option of eating in the gardens on warm days. The extended bar and new William Leader room provides ample space to enjoy a relaxing drink or snack. As Worcester's premier wedding venue, we have three rooms licenced for civil ceremonies and the magnificent backdrop of the Malvern hills for those special photographs. We have a selection of meeting rooms that can accommodate meetings up to 100 people. The only hotel in Worcester with complimentary parking and W-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Diglis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diglis Hotel Worcester
Diglis House Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing