We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely riverside setting - great Wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Diglis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diglis House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely riverside setting - great Wedding venue”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We got married at the Diglis Hotel in June and from start to finish there was very little I could fault them on. We are quite regular visitors to the Diglis in the summer months for drinks as we live nearby but I had never really considered it as a wedding venue. However, after meeting with the wedding co-ordinator I was sold - she was so helpful and flexible which meant we could tailor all aspects of our day to personalise things and to meet our budget. Throughout the whole process Karen was an absolute star, she was always helpful and friendly and full of great ideas.
We went for afternoon tea for our wedding breakfast which was made up of tasty sandwiches and a selection of lovely cakes. The evening buffet was a hog roast, chips and salads which lots of people complimented. The hotel were great at setting up the table decorations to our specifications which saved us rushing about decorating the day before. Everything about the day went smoothly and ran more or less to time so we didn't have to worry about a thing.
We also stayed in one of the bridal suite rooms which was lovely - the hotel made an effort to get it cleaned asap so I could check in early and get ready before the wedding (they did not charge me extra for this either). We even had breakfast in bed the next day!
The Diglis is a great setting for drinks and food - there is no other riverside location like it in Worcester. And now to top it off it will always be special for us as the venue for our fantastic wedding day!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebs1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    144
    65
    43
    28
See reviews for
96
229
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK & Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our daughter had her wedding reception there at the weekend (previous reviewer .... it was ours!) and the Hotel's attention to detail was excellent. I had the task of "wedding planner" and the staff were brilliant with all my requests and individual touches. We basically had an a la carte meal which was delicious, and the Management and Staff were very friendly and efficient. All the guests commented how lovely everything was and as the weather was good too then it could not have been a more perfect day.

The hotel is very well placed for strolling along the riverside and enjoying the local nightlife if you wish, and the Chef is creative and very amenable. It is Worcester's only Riverside Hotel so if you have a special occasion, wedding or party to organise then I cannot recommend the place highly enough. Thumbs up for the Diglis - and thankyou for a special day!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaycee1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Walking along the Severn river in Worcester came across the Diglis House Hotel noticed a sign outside offering bar meal to non residents, called in, at the time there was a wedding going on and I thought this may be a mistake but no despite a large number of people attending the wedding we were served quickly we had sandwiches option they were beautifully prepared on granary bread the price was very fair would recommend a visit

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Lovely hotel right next to the river in Worcester. Like the previous review I was a little worried about the hotel but we had a lovely room overlooking the river and the riverside bar. We were a little worried we'd be disturbed by the noise of the clients later on as it was really hot and we had to have the windows (more about those later) opened for fresh air and to cool the room down but we weren't disturbed at all. Bed was very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on one night of our stay - very good food and lovely friendly waitresses. Breakfast was good and plenty of tea & coffee.

Only downside, we arrived late afternoon on a very hot day and the hotel staff had not thought to close the curtains or open the windows - the room was way too hot to stay in, so we dumped the luggage, closed the curtains ourselves, opened the windows (well the 2 out of 5 which we could get open) and headed for the bar for a cool drink and to let the room cool down - thankfully it cooled down a little so that we could get ready to go out without getting to hot and bothered and we left the windows open all night and although warm we managed to get a good nights sleep. It was unfortunate that only 2 windows would stay open. 3 windows were stuck and wouldn't open and the 5th wouldn't stay open - the sash kept falling back down.

Even so would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HellyWelly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The lovely location by the river and sitting eating breakfast in he conservatory are big plus points for this hotel. Unfortunately arriving in the room was a huge disappointment. Arriving in an evening of a very hot summer day we were shocked that the hotel had not thought to open the windows in out room. It was sweltering. The room was small and although clean was very tired. Mismatched decor, iron burn on the carpet, yellowing grout in the bathroom.

The next morning my husband pushed the on button on the shower and realised the whole front cover was loose. This lifted forward allowing potentially water to enter the shower mechanism. Cleary this is very dangerous. On leaving for our day out we told reception that the shower needed repair. We were advised it would be looked at. We arrived back late at night and found that no repair had been made. We spoke to the night porter who was very helpful and managed to carry out a make shift repair. Again very disappointing that a potential safety risk was not addressed when we raised our concern and it had to be done at 1am.

Staff at breakfast were very friendly and the view was lovely. Unfortunately on the two mornings of our stay our breakfast orders were incorrect. (Not us being picky - scrambled eggs on toast not a full english, full english not a veggie brekkie!!). This meant on both mornings we ate separately as we had to wait for our breakfast orders to be recooked.

I would not recommend this hotel and would not go back. Priced for its central riverside location and not for its rooms or service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juice82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We appreciate all reviews and do our best to rectify any problems that are bought to our attention. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme, however the decor is personal taste and the iron marks on the carpet which was recently made by a guest will be changed as soon as possible. With regard to the windows being closed, we are in the middle of a spell of unusually hot weather and for security reasons we can not leave windows open and leaving the curtains shut would create problems with guests arriving in a dark room. With regard to the shower it should have been attended to and I can only apologise for this oversight. However it is a completely sealed unit and should be safe in all situations..
All our breakfasts are cooked to order and we are sorry that you had to reorder your breakfasts and we are looking into the matter to make sure there is no repeat of this in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I am so glad my friend recommended this hotel as if I had read the reviews it would have put me off, and I could not disagree more with some of the comments made. We had a lovely room, overlooking the river at first I was a little concerned at how busy the bar garden was but later having drinks overlooking the river I felt it was the perfect balance between the privacy of the guest area but the life going on around us. The room was very clean, bed gorgeously comfortable and the best power shower I have had. We ate in the conservatory overlooking the river on a beautiful hot summer evening. The food was good and I could make no complaint about the service. I thought that the breakfast was of a very high quality, one of the best I have had in a hotel. I would definitely recommend this to friends and return as the quality and setting were of a high standard.

Room Tip: We had a superior standard on ground floor with French doors onto private residence garden and overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The Diglis was visited by my sister an I for a Sunday Lunch on 14 July. A lovely day to sit by the riverside and enjoy a typical roast Sunday Lunch. The welcome was excellent and the two female staff who served us in the packed restaurant were just right. Speed of service including drinks from the adjacent bar was very good serving a well kept real ale (Speckled Hen) A glorious position for the Hotel and Restaurant by the River Severn a short distance down river from Worcester's Cathedral. The gardens and terraces were packed with folk enjoying a drink and the hot sunshine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.6 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
970 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
670 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diglis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diglis House Hotel

Property: Diglis House Hotel
Address: Severn Street, Worcester WR1 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Diglis House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diglis House Hotel has the best location in Worcester it is on the Riverside yet has easy access on foot to shopping,tourist attractions and the riverside walkIt is a Grade II listed building. We have superb junior suites overlooking the river in the main house where all the rooms have been recently refurbished There is a new annex with many rooms having a river view. Food is available in the Conservatory Restaurant, bar or there is the option of eating in the gardens on warm days. The extended bar and new William Leader room provides ample space to enjoy a relaxing drink or snack. As Worcester's premier wedding venue, we have three rooms licenced for civil ceremonies and the magnificent backdrop of the Malvern hills for those special photographs. We have a selection of meeting rooms that can accommodate meetings up to 100 people. The only hotel in Worcester with complimentary parking and W-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Diglis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diglis Hotel Worcester
Diglis House Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing