We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of Diglis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diglis House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I spent one night at this riverside hotel in Worcester. Our 'Junior Suite' was excellent and the dinner in the hotel restaurant first class. We had the rack of lamb.

The suite was very hot during the night - this was really the only downside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thanks for your kind comments, We are sorry the room was a little warm but with the exceptionally warm weather this year it has been a problem which we hope to resolve by next summer.Our chef appreciated your comments about the food and we have just moved to our new winter menu with some new and exciting dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for Diglis House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is a few minutes stroll from the centre of Worcester, it is in a beautiful setting. All staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast over looking the river was very pleasant. I Booked a superior room at £120 and I do not believe that it was superior in any way!!!! I'm still baffled as to how it was superior other than the reproduction bed matched the wardrobe. None of the trappings that one assumes with this price tag. I came away feeling that I didn't get value for money. I was in room 6 and the bathroom was so out of keeping with the room and hotel (bad taste). I would stay here again due to it's location but only at a more favorable tariff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happiness098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We appreciate all feedback, however I would like to clarify a couple of points. The bed is not reproduction but the bed and the wardrobe are a matching antique set. The bathroom is modern as most guests prefer this. We looked at the option of period reproductions when refurbishing the room but felt that it would be in bad taste. Room 6 overlooks the gardens and the river and is in the Georgian house. It conforms to hotel standards for a superior room. We have noted your comments and will be looking at ways to improve the guest experience in our superior rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Amazing place to stay massive room which overlooked the river really comfy bed! Staff were fantastic friendly and very helpful! Especially the receptionist. Breakfast was nice great deal of choice something for everyone!!! Ideal place we walked to the train station from the hotel and took us 10 mins ideal location cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolliipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we have passed on your comments to the relevant staff members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A spacious room in the annex, with a lovely view over the river, was completely spoiled by the state of the carpet. It was disgusting! Filthy dirty, with stains and marks all over it. If you can't afford to replace the carpet in room 19 please, please at least clean it! As it stands, I wouldn't put it in a dog kennel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 360Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thanks for your comments, I have inspected the carpet this morning and although it is vacumed every day and cleaned on a regular basis there are a couple of marks that cannot be removed. One is a iron mark made by a previous guest. We do have a renovation programme and changing the carpets in all the ground floor annexe is a priority, however I do feel your comments about the state of the carpet very unfair, most people remember the views from the room, the home cooked English Breakfast, the complimentary parking and wi-fi and our proximity to the town centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed one night as husband had business meetings in the area. Had Room 21 which was good location, quiet and lovely view of the river. Breakfast was adequate but not brilliant. Staff were friendly and helpful and location is wonderful - and the sun was shining which added to the general ambiance. Would stay here again due to pleasant situation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19lucy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location with a price to match. But reading the previous reviews, the hotel management ate not listening to their customers. The furniture is poor quality antique, decoration shabby in parts and stair carpet worn. This is not a matter 'of taste' but skimping.
Having one person to sort out breakfast this morning was not fair on the staff member and the breakfast was slow and poor quality (I did not eat it).
Most telling, we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay on departure.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pianoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

We are pleased that you agree that our location is superb but feel that your comments on price a little unfair. Prices range fro £70 to £135 depending on the room type you choose. This includes complimentary parking, wi-fi and breakfast. With a location within walking distance of the city centre this represents great value, far better then some budget chains in city centres.
I can only apologise for the delay in your breakfast service but this was not because of scrimping but a member of staff called in sick and it is very difficult to get a replacement at 7am in the morning. With reference to the quality of the breakfast, all the produce is locally supplied and freshly cooked to order, this does mean that there is a short wait. However there is a Continental buffet option with a wide choice of fruit,cereals and croissants. We are sorry you weren't asked about your stay on departure but checkout is a very busy time and we try to reduce everyone's waiting time. There is a comment sheet in every room for guests to pass on there feelings to the management.
If you stayed recently you would have been aware of the refurbishments taking place in the bar and shortly we will be making improvements to the William Leader room and our refurbishment programme will continue through the year with at least four of the bedrooms being completely refurbished a great expense. We are very careful about refurbishing parts of the hotel as we try to keep disturbance to a minimum for our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The bar, lounge and conservatory restaurant in the Georgian part of the hotel had just been painted, so looked very elegant. Small car park, but luckily there was a space when we arrived. Easy check in, asked if we wanted an early morning call or newspaper. Directed to Room 21 which was very nice. Situated at end of bedroom extension so quiet. Large bedroom with traditional decor with double doors that open onto a small terrace that leads to the lawn that looks over the river. Bathroom is modern in design, lots of fluffy towels replenished during stay. No safe in room - you may be able to ask for one, not sure about this. There was an iron mark on the carpet, but not a lot the hotel can do about this. Free wi-fi for guests.

Breakfast was in the conservatory, help yourself to continental breakfast and ordered cooked - very nice. Didn't eat in the hotel as we like to have a bit of a walk in the evening but one afternoon sat at table on the lawn and ordered anti-pasta. Thinking it would be quick - cold meats and a few olives, but took a little longer than I expected because it included cooked mixed peppers/courgettes and artichokes - it was very good and combined with a glass of wine and view of the river made for a lovely afternoon following our walk around the cathedral and town.

Ate at Puccinis one night - pasta special/pizza - small busy place, good food and service. Other night ate at Saffron - steak/grilled sword fish - again great food and service. Both easy walking distance from hotel.

The hotel is in a great location, on the river, easy walk to the race course, town centre and cathedral. One day we did the 21 mile mid Worcester ring cycle/walking path which takes you next to the canals and River Severn. Picked this up close to hotel via the Diglis Basin. This route is not very well sign posted, but as long as you stick to the canal you can't go wrong. We went anti-clockwise and just remember to turn left at Hanbury Wharf or we would have ended up in Birmingham! On road bit at the end. See http://www.visitworcester.com

The canals have only been re-opened in the last few years, but many pretty house boats use it and each lock or bridge has a number linked to an audio trail you can download to listen to it's history, Contact tourist board about this.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished bedroom if possible.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.6 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diglis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diglis House Hotel

Address: Severn Street, Worcester WR1 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: £94 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Diglis House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diglis House Hotel has the best location in Worcester it is on the Riverside yet has easy access on foot to shopping,tourist attractions and the riverside walkIt is a Grade II listed building. We have superb junior suites overlooking the river in the main house where all the rooms have been recently refurbished There is a new annex with many rooms having a river view. Food is available in the Conservatory Restaurant, bar or there is the option of eating in the gardens on warm days. The extended bar and new William Leader room provides ample space to enjoy a relaxing drink or snack. As Worcester's premier wedding venue, we have three rooms licenced for civil ceremonies and the magnificent backdrop of the Malvern hills for those special photographs. We have a selection of meeting rooms that can accommodate meetings up to 100 people. The only hotel in Worcester with complimentary parking and W-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diglis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diglis Hotel Worcester
Diglis House Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing