We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing New Year”
Review of Diglis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diglis House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

It gives me no pleasure to be critical of a hotel. As leisure travellers we pay from our own pockets for these stays, often well in advance, and expect good standards. At Diglis House we were disappointed. I should say first that our room (23) was small but clean and had most of the facilities we wanted. It also had an excellent view of the River Severn flowing past and across to the Malvern Hills.
However, and these are general comments, why is there only, in a twin or double room, enough space to put one suitcase on a rack? Are we alone in taking a small suitcase each? Secondly why is the kettle full sized and too big to fit safely under the only available tap when you need to fill it? More importantly why do hotels have complicated shower fittings with no explanation of how to get a shower which is both warm and an acceptable flow rate.
The bath here was high sided with no grab rail and no anti slip mat. However a suitable mat was provided within minutes of requesting.
Our main disappointment was the New Years Eve Dinner and Disco. The evening reception with champagne and canapes at 7.30 was fine but from there it was downhill. Dinner was supposed to start at 8.30 but it was nearer 9pm which is very late. The whole meal took an age to be served and we didn't get to coffee until after 11pm which is far too late. Our chosen starter, wild game terrine , was OK but salty to our taste (which I know is a subjective comment). Our main course, local roast lamb rump, was not acceptable. It was undercooked and very pink. Several guests including my partner, had to send it back. It then came back over cooked and tough after a quick grilling. It was noticeable that there were four members of management in the room and they spent a lot of the evening placating guests who were not happy with the meal.
By the time the dessert was served it was so late in the evening that we couldn't really enjoy it.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the evening but our impression was that there were problems in the kitchen which caused the meal to be delayed.
The entertainment, disco, was supposed to start at 10.15 but it was well after 11pm before it got going.
Breakfast was OK, cooked breakfasts are cooked to order. Slices of white or brown bread were available as usual for guests to toast. There didn't appear to be any serving tongs available and I saw a member of staff use their hands to transfer a new supply of sliced bread from a plate into the bread basket on the servery counter. Definitely not the thing to do!
Finally we had booked for two nights but decided to cancel our second night. We were informed that hotel policy was that cancellations must be made by 2pm on the PREVIOUS day and we would have to pay the room charge, the information passed to us by a receptionist after consulting a member of management who failed to make an appearance to discuss it with us. OK, but don't expect us to return or to recommend the hotel to others. A brand new Premier Inn opens soon in Worcester. On our next stay in the city you'll know where to find us!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronaldtudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

As with all reviews we appreciate constructive criticisms and do our best to rectify them. It is however only possible to do this if we are told about them at the time, I will try to give some explanation relating to your comments. With regard to your room we are glad you appreciated the view. There is only ever one luggage rack in hotel rooms and most guests simply stack their cases on it. In budget chains you don’t get a luggage rack or the choice of a twin room. I have personally been to the room today and checked on the kettle which I filled easily from the sink and all the instructions for the shower are in the hotel information booklet which is on the desk also if there had been a problem a call to reception could have resolved the matter as we did with the request for a bath mat.
The New Year’s Eve dinner was delayed slightly as it took longer than anticipated for the photographer to take everyone’s complimentary photo. With regard to your comments about the meal I believe it was discussed at the time and resolved, however you will be contacted in the near future to discuss the matter in more detail.
We have noted your comments about breakfast and will be acting on them.
Finally our cancellation policy is standard throughout the hotel industry and unless there are extenuating circumstances it is applied across the board. Obviously is everyone’s personal choice where they stay but when booking at the Diglis full English breakfast, complimentary parking and wi-fi are included in the room rate, unlike most budget chains

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were upgraded to a Junior Suite, which was perfect for us, quiet! and...there were wedding parties! brilliant service, comfy bed, spotless bathroom, great breakfast and great bar prices! will certainly return, thanks all

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a Junior Suite, which was perfect for us, quiet! and...there were wedding partie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Claims to be best hotel in Worcs were not exaggerated
From very first minute all staff teamed together to give an old fashioned good customer service experience
Was expecting a bit of dust as the Hotel is old and listed but was staggered as to the high level of cleanliness .
Bed was v comfy,and views excellent

Will visit again!

Room Tip: be nice to reception-they upraded us to a superior! with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thanks for such a great review, our housekeeping team will be especially pleased as they strive very hard to keep the hotel clean. When you next visit you will see all our refurbishment completed and the new William Leader room will be available as an extra lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the weekend in room 2 in the main building. The photos on the website made the hotel look a little old fashioned and perhaps the decor was a little old style but in a nice way. Lovely room and bathroom, friendly staff and a decent breakfast. There was a real fire in the fireplace on the Sunday night which was a nice treat.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Poacher_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, room 2 it is in the original house which is a listed building and is decorated in an older style. In fact every room in the hotel is individually decorated and we think adds to its charm. Our chef is proud of the breakfast selection and each cooked breakfast is individually prepared this does mean there is a short wait but there is plenty to occupy you with the superb view of the river. The new bar extension and the lounge are very welcoming and as you said the fire on a cold evening is nice treat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Forget what else you may read on here, I simply cannot fault the Diglis...the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, the room spotless with one of the splendid and comfortable beds I have ever slept in...and the bathroom really was something else! The hotel is pet friendly, but apart from the odd muddy springer in the lounge, there is nothing to suggest this...no smell or hair! Wi-fi is quick and free and the bar prices are more than competative...cheaper than a lot of pubs in the city.
Breakfast in the morning came with a choice and a superb view of the river. The food really was excellent. The hotel was busy, and I'm pleased. They deserve to do well.

Room Tip: We had room number 3, in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write this review, The management and staff have been working hard to make every guests stay an enjoyable experience. We have spent a lot of time and money upgrading the rooms in the house and we are pleased our investment is reaping results. Our situation on the river means that dog walkers hikers and cyclists make the hotel their drink stop and we like to make everyone welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

It is difficult to fault this hotel, hotel and rooms have character, the food is excellent, and above all, all the staff are fantastic, made us feel very welcome, a credit to all.
Great location for shopping or sightseeing, and very picturesque being by the river.
Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, I just can't understand why this hotel is not number one in Worcester...

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

As a frequent visitor to Worcester your comments were very much appreciated. With the best location in Worcester we aim to provide the best service. We will soon have completed our refurbishment of the bar and William Leader room and there will be more room for enjoying the bar menu and a more comfortable area to relax in next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

just got back from a weekend at the Diglis house hotel. We had a wonderful experiance, from the time we booked in until we checked out. We were greated in a very friendly professional manner and was taken to our room which was in the cottage. The room although a little dated was lovely. Bathroom was excellant and very modern and the bed was one of the most comfortable we had ever had in hotel. The food was excellant and as I have special diet requirements they went the extra mile to cook what I wanted and it wasn't too much trouble for them. The staff "Laura in particular were all so friendly and helpful. We will be back and in fact have made another booking!! The hotel is very central to the town and is situated on the river which was really nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thanks for the review, we really appreciate your positive comments. As a small family owned hotel we try to make every guests stay memorable. We have passed on your comments to the staff and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.6 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diglis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diglis House Hotel

Address: Severn Street, Worcester WR1 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: £89 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Diglis House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Country House Hotel in the heart of the city. We are a Grade II listed building and you will find us located on the Riverside with a spectacular view of the River Severn. From Diglis House Hotel there is easy access on foot to the shops, cafes & tourist attractions that Worcester has to offer. We have superb rooms throughout our hotel buildings with many Superior Rooms & Junior Suites offering a River View. Food is available 12pm - 9pm in our Conservatory Restaurant, Bar and Garden Area, please see our website for Menus. The extended bar area and new William Leader room provides ample space to enjoy a relaxing drink or snack. As Worcester's premier wedding venue, we have three rooms licenced for civil ceremonies and the magnificent backdrop of the River Severn for those special photographs. We also have a selection of meeting rooms that can accommodate meetings up to 100 people. Proud to be the only hotel in Worcester with complimentary Wi-Fi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diglis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diglis Hotel Worcester
Diglis House Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing