We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay in Worcester”
Review of Diglis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diglis House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in Worcester”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I arrived on a sunny afternoon so sitting at an outdoor table by the beautiful riverside with a cold drink made a perfect start to my stay. The room in the Annexe was large and comfortable. Dinner in the Conservatory after a drink in the bar was excellent. I had a good night's sleep and a good English breakfast. Overall a very good stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel avoid the need to walk 20 yards from the Annexe but tend to be hotter ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    148
    66
    43
    28
See reviews for
97
231
23
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

went to this hotel on a sunny day today to have a drink and lunch arrived at bar at 13:13 food not served on sign till 1:15 so silly me i thought i could order at that time
i was then told that i could not order till 13;45 or maybe not at all as they had a function on in the other room then they refused to take payment of my drinks
bar staff rude and were out of there depth did not have any customer service skills and when i asked to see the owner manager i was told they do not talk to customers
overall rude staff who did not know whats going on. clearly nor does the owner or manager
dont waste your time go somewhere else

Room Tip: nice building but in the wrong hands clearly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We appreciate all reviews and use them to improve our service,however in this instance I feel it necessary to clarify the points you made. At very busy times we do occasionally suspend food service to ensure twe don't compromise on the quality and that waiting times are not unacceptable. With regard to the comments about not wanting to take money, it was simply that the bill came to under £5 and our policy for accepting payment by debit card is that the cost be over £5. The duty manager did speak to you but you requested to see the owner who was not in the hotel. We felt your attitude and aggressive behaviour was unacceptable despite our efforts to explain the situation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Had afternoon tea with some friends today at the Diglis Hotel in the conservatory. Great views, lovely room. I am a coeliac so on strict gluten free diet. I had selection of sandwiches on very dry gluten free bread and a selection of very dry mrs crumbles Chocolate brownie and bakewell slice which were both from supermarket served with a small bowl of jam and cream. The others had group had a lovely selection of fresh sandwiches and freshly made cakes. It's 2014 can I suggest you make your own gluten free desserts as afternoon tea it very easy to do rather than buy from the supermarket which were definitely not fresh ! Also gluten free scones are incredibly easy to make and freeze if need be.

The others enjoyed their regular afternoon teas reasonably priced at £9.95 per head inc tea and coffee.

The location is perfect ideal venue with direct access to some fantastic walks. The staff are average.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your afternoon tea. We did buy in the gluten free products as you recognised and it's a matter we will be trying to address in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Perfect setting on the banks of the Severn:yet a short walk along the riverside path brings you to the perfect Early English Cathedral on its green, Crossing the busy main road brings you to what is left of the ancient city: esp. The Commandery, Greyfriars and Guildhall, all of which are open with excellent tours or audio-guides. Across the river is one of the most picturesque County Cricket Grounds in the country.
Old part of the hotel is in a lovely Georgian house - tastefully extended, with balconies overlooking the river. Staff very courteous and helpful; went out of their way to provide use with freshly cooked lunch, supper and breakfast, even though they were very busy with a large wedding party.

Room Tip: Book a room with a river frontage, in the newer block which is further away from public functions an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
We are really pleased when guests enjoy their stay, you obviously enjoyed your visit to Worcester and appreciated our location. The improvements to the hotel have taken place over a number of years and we are constantly striving to make the hotel a pleasant place for people to stay or visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If your looking for a city break the hotel is in an ideal position close to the centre with an idyllic riverside location.
Really friendly staff and can recommend locally sourced breakfast and good menu.
Hotel has added benefit of being dog friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimskopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
We are glad you enjoyed you visit. We are especially proud of the quality of our breakfasts which are cooked to order and included in the room rate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stop here all the time when we walk our dogs by the river. I love the fact that dogs are allowed in the gardens. Such a bonus and definitely the main reason we stop off there! It's so lovely to just sit down, with a nice cold drink and look out over the river. The staff are always polite and efficient. It does get busy outside in the summer but I think that this gives the place a great atmosphere. Food is great too. Would definitely recommend! Can't wait for the weather to get better so we can go back.

I haven't stayed in the hotel, but it looks really lovely inside. Very clean and the new refurbishment downstairs is very nice. A great location, close to the town centre but without all the noise!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Visited on a busy wednesday evening with my partner as it was a sunny evening.
We were overwhelmed by the number of incredibly young drinkers at the hotel. We both agreed that had we been behind the bar. Everyone of them would have been asked to prove their age. We witnessed no checks of any sort and a lot of very drunk teenagers. The bar is not cheap by any means so I was rather baffled by the whole thing.. certainly in my teens people couldnt afford to drink at hotel prices!!

Ive visited the Diglis hotel many times and its great in the summer but I have now started to question it. If I had been a business visitor staying at the hotel or been perusing it as a potential wedding venue the very young clientele would put me off.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank deltasierra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We do appreciate reviews and try to look at them objectively to see if you make make improvements based on the comments. We do understand that in the summer because of our great location we are a popular venue. We try to ensure that the gardens have a family atmosphere and make every effort to ensure all of our customers to have an enjoyable experience. We are very aware of our legal obligations and the staff are trained to ensure that checks are made on anyone under 25. You may not have witnessed any on your visit but rigorous checks are carried out. Unfortunately we have had instances where some people have consumed drink not purchased at the hotel and this is something we do not allow.
We do have a section of the garden exclusively for hotel guests and as we are the premier venue for weddings in Worcester wedding parties have a further section of the gardens allocated to them for there special day. This has been very effective in making sure guests and events enjoy the full benefits of the superb location
If you wish to discuss the matter further please ask to see the duty manager on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#3 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diglis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diglis House Hotel

Property: Diglis House Hotel
Address: Severn Street, Worcester WR1 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Diglis House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diglis House Hotel has the best location in Worcester it is on the Riverside yet has easy access on foot to shopping,tourist attractions and the riverside walkIt is a Grade II listed building. We have superb junior suites overlooking the river in the main house where all the rooms have been recently refurbished There is a new annex with many rooms having a river view. Food is available in the Conservatory Restaurant, bar or there is the option of eating in the gardens on warm days. The extended bar and new William Leader room provides ample space to enjoy a relaxing drink or snack. As Worcester's premier wedding venue, we have three rooms licenced for civil ceremonies and the magnificent backdrop of the Malvern hills for those special photographs. We have a selection of meeting rooms that can accommodate meetings up to 100 people. The only hotel in Worcester with complimentary parking and W-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Diglis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diglis Hotel Worcester
Diglis House Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing