We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diglis House Hotel”
Review of Diglis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diglis House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Staff are friendly and professional. Lovely to sit outside with a drink in warm weather. Delightful bar garden looking onto the river. Nice to sit there on a warm evening. I always thought that the Diglis would be a nice place to stay and I was right. I booked one year in advance! The only thing it lacked was a gym, but then there is one nearby!

Room Tip: Book well in advance. This hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking the River Severn and it get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thanks for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have an arrangements with PF2 a local gym within jogging distance where our guests can use their facilities free of charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Visited the Diglis House Hotel after a recommendation from another local, need to speak to him as I would not recommend this a friend or stranger. We searched this place out and found it in a beautiful location overlooking the river. My wife and i were looking forward to a nice lunch and drink whilst taking in the view. The view did not let us down, however the Diglis did. I was met by a queue which led outside of the bar area and once I was able to give my order we sat with our drink, taking in the view eagerly awaiting our lunch, which was a simple burger and chips. When I made my order I was not made aware that there would be any extended wait. After 35 minutes I reported to the bar area and enquirer into how long our order would take. The waiter took my order and I returned to my table. 5 mins later he returned and asked what my order had been? My wife and I again sat patiently, now on our second drink to await the eagerly and now much needed food. Eventually the food arrived after over 45 minutes. There were no apologises. I asked the waiter if he knew how long we had waited, he did not, but stated it normally took 20 mins, I again informed him it had been over 45, he shrugged and could give no reason or apology. The burger was over cooked, but considering we had waited 45 mins that was hardly surprising. Would return, only for a drink and take in the views. The wait for the food certainly wasn't worth it! The manager seriously needs to look at his staff and the service provided. The only thing this hotel has going for it is it's location.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tobyowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We are sorry that your experience with us was not up to expectation. Our Location does mean that we do get very busy on sunny days. However this is no excuse for poor service As you will see from previous reviews our food and service normally receives great reviews.We would very much like to discuss your complaint further with you and would appreciate you contacting the General manager on 01905 353518. It is better if complaints are made at the time so that the appropriate action can be taken immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a lovely location set on the bank of the river Severn, delightful to watch the river traffic passing by from the great outdoor/patio areas.
Sufficient outdoor space to accomodate loads of people even room on grass for little ones to run around. No playground facilities which is probably a good thing.
Inside facilities are good with conservatory & other rooms being very comfortable . All being very clean, staff all very friendly & efficient in service. Good food with something for everyone & reasonably priced. Only downside is rather restrictive parking which on a sunny evening/ weekend can be a bit of a problem but don't let this put you off. My wife recomends the Pimms with all the trimmings.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks for your review we really appreciate it we our guests give us great reviews. We pass on all these comments to our staff. The location does make us very busy but we feel our menu choices and prices are good value for moneu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Came as a party of six for an early evening meal. The hotel grounds were heaving with people on a very hot night. Despite the crowds, an orderly queue were waiting in the bar to be served, this worked perfectly. We enjoyed a couple of drinks and were led to our table in the conservatory which had wonderful views overlooking the River Severn. Despite being ultra busy, the service was excellent by the hard working staff. We had a spacious table and the food was very good.
After dining we managed to find some outdoor seating to finish the evening off. We all thoroughly enjoyed the evening and will be returning. Thank you to all the staff, a credit to the Diglis Hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank rodmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We share these reviews with our staff and they are always pleased when people take the time to post positive comments. Our bar and restaurant are extremely popular but we always try to make our customers feel special. As a privately owned hotel we take pride in our service and hospitality. We look for to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Happened to go here twice in three days, and both times equally great. Really good food, well served in a wonderful riverside garden. A couple of real ales, and some very good cheesy chips. I'd be just as happy here for drinks after work as bringing the family for a Sunday roast. They were happy to accommodate a couple of high chairs and baby buggies. Definitely on the list of favourites in Worcester.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Our riverside gardens have the best views in Worcester and we are glade you enjoyed the food,our cheeses chips are extremely popular with our customers. The bar manager Mark is very proud of the selection of real ales and will be pleased that they are appreciated.
We are only to happy to provide high chairs as we have a family orientated hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Having originally come from worcester I'm well acquainted with the diglis for a lovely afternoon drink on the riverside but since moving away we have made it our home from home. We have stayed in several occasions with our little one and we alway have out same room Rm30 a junior suite over looking the river :)

There is plenty of space for a cot and the staff are always accommodating with wee ones. The food is fabulous and well what can I say the breakfast is amazing.

Steve and all the team at the diglis are a great team and we look forward to seeing you again soon


The Parkers

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Cuppy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for the review we try to make all our guests feel at home and we are really pleased you enjoy your stays with us. Our location is perfect and room 30 gives you a great view over the river.

We look for to seeing you on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very cosy pure English hotel very close to the famous Cathedral. It is only 10 min kleve walk and you are in the centre. The room was quite big and has a beatiful veiw of the river.Breakfast
was served in the conservatory and was very good. The staff were helpful and caring. The hotel has a nice relaxing atmosphere of a typical English countryside. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: rooms with a river veiw on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We try to make all our guests feel at home and are pleased that the efforts we make are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.6 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
621 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diglis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diglis House Hotel

Address: Severn Street, Worcester WR1 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: £86 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Diglis House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Country House Hotel in the heart of the city. We are a Grade II listed building and you will find us located on the Riverside with a spectacular view of the River Severn. From Diglis House Hotel there is easy access on foot to the shops, cafes & tourist attractions that Worcester has to offer. We have superb rooms throughout our hotel buildings with many Superior Rooms & Junior Suites offering a River View. Food is available 12pm - 9pm in our Conservatory Restaurant, Bar and Garden Area, please see our website for Menus. The extended bar area and new William Leader room provides ample space to enjoy a relaxing drink or snack. As Worcester's premier wedding venue, we have three rooms licenced for civil ceremonies and the magnificent backdrop of the River Severn for those special photographs. We also have a selection of meeting rooms that can accommodate meetings up to 100 people. Proud to be the only hotel in Worcester with complimentary Wi-Fi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diglis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diglis Hotel Worcester
Diglis House Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing