We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of TLC and effective management”
Review of Diglis House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diglis House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“In need of TLC and effective management”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

The hotel is very poorly signposted and I arrived to a full car park but was directed to an alternative car park at the back of the main biuilding and I checked in with ease by a polite young lady. I stayed in the main building in a room which appeared at first glance fairly quaint and well maintained but as the trip progressed I discovered the carpet was in desperate need of vaccumming, the shower mat was dirty, the wardrobe door wouldn't close, the bed sheets were torn and the general cleanliness of the room was poor. Fortunately it was only a one night stay to attend a function, unfortunately the function was at the hotel! The toilets in reception are in desperate need of refurbishment and cleaning (the smear on the wall at 10pm was still there when I checked out at 11am)! The catering at the function was poor, warm food was brought out and left to go cold (surely it should have been served on warmers?) and the service at breakfast was appalling. The hotel was busy but this can't have come as a surprise so there is no excuse for the 40min wait for breakfast.

The hotel is in a fantastic position and has so much potential but you don't get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesky26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    154
    66
    43
    29
See reviews for
101
234
25
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Visited this hotel on a day when a wedding was taking place but this should not be used as an excuse for the dreadful service. If an establishment decides to take on weddings they should be sure that they can continue to to provide services for paying guests.
It was a lovely sunny day and we decided to sit in the riversise grounds and enjoy drinks and lunch. The queue to order was long and slow to be dealt with. On ordering we were informed that there would be a 20 minute wait for food food. After 40 minutes we enquired where it was, to be told that they had run out of chips (!!!) and would it be okay to substitute potato wedges. My husband agreed to this and the food then soon appeared. My Ploughmans did not match the description on the menu - there was just one dollop of chutney rather than 'chutneys' as stated (Yes. I know that this is not the plural spelling, but clearly the person responsible for the menu does not) The 'breads' consisted of two small slices of very stale granary bagette.I had anticipted at least two varieties of freshly baked bread. We asked to see the Manager. A woman promptly appeared and said that they always serve one chutney and seemed surprised that the menu indicated more than one type. She seemed unconcerned about the bread but at our request agreed to change it and to supply the butter which wasmissing. At no point was there any apology or offer of compensation. Shortly afterwards a rather embrassed young waiter appeared with two slices of processed white bread. He saw my look of horror and said - "I know. I'm sorry." As I was hungary I ate it. My husband enjoyed his wedges! I just hope that the weedding party recieved the food they had paid for and were well treated by the management. People like this should not be allowed to run/manage properites in such idillic settings!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Me and partner stayed there at a wedding reception wich was much enjoyed by all until the end of the night when a young apprentice barman rudely upset my partner wich ruined the whole weekend, we spoke to the SO CALLED management for some kind of apology and are still waiting, staff from other countries have other manners wich are NOT acceptable in this, especially when we are paying thier wages.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolverhamptonTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Great location . . but very strange mix of old, soiled and worn-out furniture in a new annexe building!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Stayed in annexe - as everyone says - superb location. We were once from Worcester (spouse attended Kings School next to hotel) Room OK -, bathroom very good. Breakfast service poor, coffee awful (in large communal container)
Needs a complete overhaul and more attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bingo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

having spent the previous evening at a premier inn that cost just 29.00 this place was a total let down. The main building is stunning but rather shabby - the public loo in reception area was smelly and dirty -this hotel needs to have some money spent on it. the location is good - sipping drink beside the river on a sunny day is always desirable, however the first room in the annexe we were shown to had a tatty chair and to say the least was totally miserable. The window was at ground level to the car park and so we were unable to open due to both noise and security - we requested a move and the staff moved us to a really nice room on the floor above - clean modern and with good decor - sadly a function in the suite linked to the annexe went on until 2am and then the guests were very noisy outside. There was no written details of when or where to have breakfast the next morning but we did find it in the end. No menus and a full english was all that was offered - i do not eat meat so was left with a sorry egg, mushrooms and a tomato and no toast (that followed half hour later) other guests were by now getting poached and scrambled eggs with toast!! thought i would have a coffee - no the flask was empty ! when asking a memeber of staff for more coffee was told oh you will have to have tea...it got worse my friend was staying in the main building and i wanted to contact her not knowing her room no. i went to reception where i heard from the back there is a guest a reception and mans voice was hesrd to say 'oh they will just have to wait im busy!!' how do you inform such a surly memebr of staff that GUESTS keep you in employment!
My friends finally arrived for breakfast and were forced to drink jiuce out of tea cups as there were no glasses despite asking several times - many guests were being ignored and some were really being treated as invisible -quite honestly this hotel needs to look at the premier inn and LEARN .. staff...brilliant smiling helpfull - rooms clean tidy and silent at night - sorry Diglis you COULD be a destination hotel with a little thought, cosmetic updating and a great deal of staff training on my next trip to worcester i will be checking in to the premier inn - ok its just outside town but trust me the staff in both the hotel and the pub where you eat breakfast etc made me feel a whole lot more welcome AND cared about there job and the customers - felt that the 100.00 charged for a double room was a liberty - STAFF TRAINING & A GOOD MANAGER BOTH URGENTLY NEEDED

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I think this hotel needs a change of management - a few tweaks could really make all the difference.

I stayed in a twin room with my friend and we were only provided with enough toiletries for one person, which is a bit rubbish when you're paying £90 for one night - it is not cheap. The rooms are a little shabby. The bed was very comfortable - that would be the main thing I liked about my stay, but we were cold because there were not enough blankets on the bed and my friend managed to find an extra one in the wardrobe but it looked rather dirty.

The staff are nice but some of them don't look very sure of themselves. I went to breakfast at 8.15 and it is a rather confusing affair because it is unclear what you have a choice of to order (if you are having cooked breakfast). By the time my friend came to breakfast there were no glasses left for juice, no coffee and she had to wait a long time to be served.

It's a shame because I think it could all be so much better. Do not go here if you're used to any sort of luxury!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electrasplight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
0.6 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
709 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
490 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diglis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diglis House Hotel

Property: Diglis House Hotel
Address: Severn Street, Worcester WR1 2NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Diglis House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diglis House Hotel has the best location in Worcester it is on the Riverside yet has easy access on foot to shopping,tourist attractions and the riverside walkIt is a Grade II listed building. We have superb junior suites overlooking the river in the main house where all the rooms have been recently refurbished There is a new annex with many rooms having a river view. Food is available in the Conservatory Restaurant, bar or there is the option of eating in the gardens on warm days. The extended bar and new William Leader room provides ample space to enjoy a relaxing drink or snack. As Worcester's premier wedding venue, we have three rooms licenced for civil ceremonies and the magnificent backdrop of the Malvern hills for those special photographs. We have a selection of meeting rooms that can accommodate meetings up to 100 people. The only hotel in Worcester with complimentary parking and W-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Diglis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diglis Hotel Worcester
Diglis House Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing