We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Worcester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Booked at the last minute without researching first and thought it didn't look the best of places from the outside when I got there. Staff were friendly and informative, the room was comfortable and well decorated and although I had to boil a kettle to get hot water for a shave the shower was nice and hot. Good selection for the continental breakfast, even got given a bonus of a couple of rashers of bacon. Only a five minute walk into the city center and just across the road from Worcester Shrub Hill train station. Clean, comfortable and easily accessible, what more do you need? For a two star hotel it punches above it's weight, I've stayed in higher starred places that weren't as good

Room Tip: Room 7, has a fridge and a lovely large shower room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Great Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

The hotel is ideally located very close to the town center, the staff and very friendly and helpful, there is free parking which is always a bonus, the rooms are clean and well kept and breakfast in the morning was lovely. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Our stay at The Great Weston Hotel was delightful. We had such a friendly welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Worcester and will be coming there more often, staying in this hotel of course as it was friendly, warm and easy access to the town centre.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rufusss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Date there 28 September one word disgusted jacket nicked ... Don't try this sleazy establishment.

I used this hotel for an important reception was disappointed with the food and jacket nicked when I was to,d it was safe in the office .. Clearly not!

Room Tip: Don't use this establishment trust me!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Good location, 10 mins walk into town centre. Good parking facilities and we were allowed to leave the car on the Sunday after we had checked out as we wanted to go back into Worcester for a few hours. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean and spacious room. Lovely bathroom with hot water when we needed it. Bed very comfy. Big TV on the wall. Breakfast was good, plenty of cereals and toast and a cooked breakfast freshly made to requirements. As previous comment stated this is not a 4* but excellent value for money, we would recommend to anyone and we will definately stay again when in Worcester.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimo756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Saw some of the previous "iffy" reviews this made us a bit wary, then looking closer realized they were from years ago , the hotel was easy to find, parking was simple, staff very helpful, rooms different sizes so bit of pot luck but all our 3 rooms were clean tidy, nice bathrooms and comfy beds. The hotel is an easy stroll from town. so close to lovely town pubs shops and plenty places to eat.
Would recommend to anyone, Its a good place to stay for the money, its not 4 star so don't expect that level for the money you are paying !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanCLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed a couple of times and apart from poor showers, frayed towels, no coat hangers in the shabby wardrobes, bar closing at 6pm, 15 to 20 minutes for hot water in the mornings, noisy roads at night, £7.50 for breakfast when it eventually arrived, only 4 channels on the TV in the rooms, creaky floorboards and lack of decent heating on the top floor, it would be nearly 2 stars. Always deal with Patricia as she is very efficient and friendly compared to the new manager. Last checking was at 7pm and no staff on the premises after that.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DevonianDruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
3.6 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worcester
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: 8 Shrub Hill Road, Worcester WR4 9EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Hotel Class:2 star — Great Western Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing