We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a charge for Parking & WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location but a charge for Parking & WiFi”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The hotel was in a really central location and the staff were very helpful. A charge was made to use WiFi, a service that really should be supplied as part of the tariff in all hotels now and they also charged for parking.

Our room was a good size, but was hot as the airconditioner wasn’t working.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maude2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
I was pleased to read that you found the staff very helpful and the location good. I note your comments regarding the charges for WiFi and car parking and am sorry that you are not in favour of this. However, it is standard practice for hotels to charge for these additional services especially as our WiFi service has a restricted number of lines and is security protected and our car parking facilities are limited. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    396
    187
    71
    38
See reviews for
120
407
38
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

just been for tea and I must say it was very nice good service pleasant surroundings a little bit on the warm side but never the less enjoyable, staff very helpful.will tell all our friends about it as its a nice way to end a day shopping

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent afternoon tea experience; I was pleased to see that you had an enjoyable time and will pass your compliments onto the team. We are certainly well located in the city centre for those guests who wish to unwind in relaxing surroundings after a busy day of shopping and I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

Visited the hotel after buying a Groupon voucher for afternoon tea.
What a great experience! Afternoon tea which consists of sandwiches, cake, scones and tea or coffee was presented well and looked and tasted great!
Service was given with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. In fact from the moment we walked in to the moment we left we felt valued.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debster07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
I was delighted to read your comments about your recent afternoon tea experience; I will certainly pass your compliments onto the team. Thank you for taking the time to let us know and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Whitehouse to explore Worcester and the surrounding area. Hotel location excellent and friendly staff. The room was clean and tidy and the self-service breakfast was good. Ideal for what we needed. We would go back and and next time try their pool facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGAStraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time at the hotel, thank you for letting us know. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Everything about the Whitehouse hotel in Worcester is perfectly fine. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable, the staff are very efficient and helpful, the breakfast is good and the bar is a nice place for a late night drink. I haven't given the hotel 5 stars because it lacks any real charm or character but for a city centre hotel you couldn't really ask for more.

Parking was no problem, there were plenty of spaces available even on a busy weekend and the £6 a day charge represents good value, probably not worth paying extra for a reserved space.

The spa facilities were a bit disappointing, the pool is tiny and the changing rooms were a bit shabby but the manager has assured me that these are in the process of being renovated.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor at the back of the hotel was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time. We are in the process of upgrading the changing rooms to include a new finish to the lockers and we have just completed the total refurbishment of the adapted facilities for guests with impaired health. I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you're in Worcester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We had a voucher supposedly worth £25.90 for afternoon tea (12.95 each). Their afternoon tea is advertised at £9.95 and for £11.95 you get a glass of Pigualle Brut. We were told we were only entitled to one cup of tea each but the waiter bought a pot (2 cups each). We asked for another pot and were told we would be charged but then he relented and bought another pot making a big deal of the favour! ( They claim you get 'free flowing speciallity tea)!
We had six small boring sandwiches, a scone each and had to choose between three cakes. We picked the fruit cake which was a slice of shop bought cake. Everyting arrived on one plate instead of cake stands which we could see on some other tables!
What a horrible experience and not worth the walk from the cathedral.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SolihullCatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
I apologise that your experience with us did not meet with your expectations; please be assured that I have spoken to the waiter concerned with regards to the service of the tea in order to prevent a recurrence of this nature. However, I would like to clarify a couple of points - the price you paid was not just for the afternoon tea, it included car parking and use of the spa facilities and whilst you may consider the choice of sandwiches to be boring, the selection was specifically chosen as they have proved to be the most popular of fillings. I would also like to add that we have served in excess of 200 guests through this offer, have accommodated lots of special requests and I am delighted to say, received many compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I booked 2 rooms at the Whitehouse for 1 night at the weekend. The hotel is 4 star but my opinion is that it is barely 3 star, there were no shower caps in the bathroom and no bottled water in the bedroom which I would expect from a 4 star hotel. The bathroom was clean but the bedroom was very dusty with cobwebs on the ceiling and about 2cm of dust on the bulbs of the bedside lamps. The net curtains were dirty and the room was hot and stuffy even with the window open. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was a good choice for breakfast. I had emailed when I made the booking asking if they could cater for coeliacs but no one answered, I asked for gluten free bread at breakfast but they had none.

My son wanted to use the pool on Saturday evening but was told that the last admittance was 7.15pm which was rather early.

Another point worth mentioning is that the gulls are very noisy 24 hours a day, not the hotels fault but no good if you are a light sleeper!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norah53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
I am sorry that some aspects of your stay did not meet with your expectations, please be assured that I have spoken to the Head Housekeeper with regards to the levels of cleanliness in your room - this is certainly most unusual. I also note your comments about shower caps - these are availale at reception if required and mineral water is provided on a complimentary basis in our Executive rooms but not in our standard rooms. My apologies for the lack of gluten free bread at breakfast - this was indeed an oversight on our part. On a more positive note, I was pleased to read that you found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed the choice at breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
0.4 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
3.7 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
3.4 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Property: Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Address: 62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier hotel right in the heart of the historic city centre of Worcester, Worcester Whitehouse Hotel offers quintessential English charm with modern convenience. Stay at our hotel and revel in the magnificent sight of the beautiful Worcester Cathedral, as it rises majestically above the River Severn. Guests staying at the Worcester Whitehouse Hotel can also enjoy the University City and also visit the most beautiful sporting venue in England, Worcestershire County Cricket Club. Built in the 16th century, this classic townhouse hotel is adjacent to Foregate Street train station and a short walk from the Worcester City Art Gallery and Museum. Worcester Whitehouse Hotel is situated near Worcestershire County Cricket ground, a stone's thow away from the cathedral and the racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing