We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, if a little average, stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Booked well in advance and got a good price so can't complain about the value at all. Can't fault the room at all really - was a good size, modern enough and well cleaned on arrival. Bathroom v large and well equipped. Location absolutely perfect too. Staff a little slow at times but friendly and helpful. Bar area and reception nice and quiet too.

Downsides were the charges for parking and wifi - a little outdated I feel. The cooked breakfast was pretty bad - gristly sausages and lukewarm bean soup. Continental breakfast items were good. There seemed to be only one poor chap doing the hot drinks and was rushed off his feet.

Our room was not cleaned on the second day too. Housekeeping knocked to see if we wanted anything at about 10am, and thinking they meant towels etc, we said no. We left for a wedding at noon but when we returned at midnight, the room hadn't been done. I suppose we missed the cleaning window!

Gulls are loud but not intrusive. Rooms would benefit from air con/fans!

All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the recent stay. I was delighted to read that you found the staff to be helpful but am sorry that your experience at breakfast did not meet with your expectations; please be assured that I have spoken those concerned in order to prevent a recurrence of the issues you encountered. I apologise also that your room was not serviced but upon investigation, believe it was a misunderstanding with the Housekeeping dept. I hope that this will not deter you from returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

The hotel was in a really central location and the staff were very helpful. A charge was made to use WiFi, a service that really should be supplied as part of the tariff in all hotels now and they also charged for parking.

Our room was a good size, but was hot as the airconditioner wasn’t working.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maude2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

I was pleased to read that you found the staff very helpful and the location good. I note your comments regarding the charges for WiFi and car parking and am sorry that you are not in favour of this. However, it is standard practice for hotels to charge for these additional services especially as our WiFi service has a restricted number of lines and is security protected and our car parking facilities are limited. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

just been for tea and I must say it was very nice good service pleasant surroundings a little bit on the warm side but never the less enjoyable, staff very helpful.will tell all our friends about it as its a nice way to end a day shopping

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent afternoon tea experience; I was pleased to see that you had an enjoyable time and will pass your compliments onto the team. We are certainly well located in the city centre for those guests who wish to unwind in relaxing surroundings after a busy day of shopping and I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Visited the hotel after buying a Groupon voucher for afternoon tea.
What a great experience! Afternoon tea which consists of sandwiches, cake, scones and tea or coffee was presented well and looked and tasted great!
Service was given with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. In fact from the moment we walked in to the moment we left we felt valued.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Debster07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent afternoon tea experience; I will certainly pass your compliments onto the team. Thank you for taking the time to let us know and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Whitehouse to explore Worcester and the surrounding area. Hotel location excellent and friendly staff. The room was clean and tidy and the self-service breakfast was good. Ideal for what we needed. We would go back and and next time try their pool facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGAStraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time at the hotel, thank you for letting us know. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Everything about the Whitehouse hotel in Worcester is perfectly fine. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable, the staff are very efficient and helpful, the breakfast is good and the bar is a nice place for a late night drink. I haven't given the hotel 5 stars because it lacks any real charm or character but for a city centre hotel you couldn't really ask for more.

Parking was no problem, there were plenty of spaces available even on a busy weekend and the £6 a day charge represents good value, probably not worth paying extra for a reserved space.

The spa facilities were a bit disappointing, the pool is tiny and the changing rooms were a bit shabby but the manager has assured me that these are in the process of being renovated.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor at the back of the hotel was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time. We are in the process of upgrading the changing rooms to include a new finish to the lockers and we have just completed the total refurbishment of the adapted facilities for guests with impaired health. I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you're in Worcester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We had a voucher supposedly worth £25.90 for afternoon tea (12.95 each). Their afternoon tea is advertised at £9.95 and for £11.95 you get a glass of Pigualle Brut. We were told we were only entitled to one cup of tea each but the waiter bought a pot (2 cups each). We asked for another pot and were told we would be charged but then he relented and bought another pot making a big deal of the favour! ( They claim you get 'free flowing speciallity tea)!
We had six small boring sandwiches, a scone each and had to choose between three cakes. We picked the fruit cake which was a slice of shop bought cake. Everyting arrived on one plate instead of cake stands which we could see on some other tables!
What a horrible experience and not worth the walk from the cathedral.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SolihullCatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

I apologise that your experience with us did not meet with your expectations; please be assured that I have spoken to the waiter concerned with regards to the service of the tea in order to prevent a recurrence of this nature. However, I would like to clarify a couple of points - the price you paid was not just for the afternoon tea, it included car parking and use of the spa facilities and whilst you may consider the choice of sandwiches to be boring, the selection was specifically chosen as they have proved to be the most popular of fillings. I would also like to add that we have served in excess of 200 guests through this offer, have accommodated lots of special requests and I am delighted to say, received many compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.6 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Address: 62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: £48 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 16th century, this former coaching inn is adjacent to Foregate Street train station and located in the heart of this historic and vibrant city. Stay at our hotel and enjoy all that this cosmopolitan city has to offer such as its wealth of independent shops and restaurants, walk along the River Severn and view the Swan Sanctuary or choose to visit the tourist attractions which are all within walking distance such as Worcester Cathedral, Tudor House, The Commandery, Worcester Porcelain Museum and Worcester Museum and Art Gallery. It is also situated near Worcestershire County Cricket ground, a stone's throw away from the cathedral and the racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing