We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in City Centre”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is an excellent Hotel very close to City Centre. Went for short break and found it very comfortable. Good secure internal car park. Rooms very warm but the weather was exceptionally hot. Stayed many times at another Hotel near City Centre - this time prices had gone up too much so changed to the Whitehouse. Very glad we did and shall return for another short break soon. As usual Hotel bar prices too high, fortunately there is a Weatherspoons 50mts away. Can recommend room 315.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ringley84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    387
    180
    68
    37
See reviews for
116
393
34
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I was on a business trip. The room was very hot, because of the good weather. Airco didn't work. They knew that. A fan was placed in the room. There was one window half open. Window in the bathroom could not be opened.
A curtain was missing in the bathroom window. There was some stained glass in the bathroom, but who likes to show his naked 'shadow' to the neighbours in front of the hotel.
The room itself was around 28 degrees C. at 11 PM.
So I fell asleep with the window half open. Because of the noise I wanted to close the window, but that seemed impossible.
Try taking a shower with some colder water. Even with the cold water completely open, all I got was 38°C water.
Overall a terrible experience, inspite off the friendly staff and good breakfast. Never again, still looking for a decent hotel in Worcester.
I complained in the morning and was offered a 9P reduction. :-/

Room Tip: check the maintenance before you accept the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you should have as a result of the warm temperature of your room; I have forwarded your comment to Head Office so that they can investigate ways in which to resolve this issue although as you are aware, the recent temperatures have been far in excess of what is expected for this time of year in this country. The Maintenance Manager has rectified the temperature of the shower - the problem you encountered was due to a faulty valve. I am sorry for our failings on this occasion with regards to the aforementioned points but am pleased that you found the levels of customer service to a high standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed over en route from Manchester to Bristol. Excellent value. The room was excellent, very spacious and spotlessly clean. Good leisure facilities. Excellent breakfast. All the staff were attentive and very friendly. The seagulls and the railway do give quite a lot of background noise so be prepared for that. Car parking isn't free as specified on some websites. Guaranteed places are £12.50 a night, limited unreserved places are £6 a night so that needs factoring in to the overall cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
I was delighted to read that you had an enjopyable stay and found the levels of customer service to a high standard; I will certainly pass your compliments onto the team and hope tojhave the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed here on a business trip reception staff great room big spotless big bed tv all the usual's room overlooked the car park which was charged (£6 very naughty) when I looked out the window i noticed Bid mess on the window and all visible areas then i heard the noise the gulls were making it was such a din which lasted till about 3.00
Breakfast service and check out were great breakfast Buffet was average ( why cant hotels produce a made to order breakfast?
Value for money and in the city centre but take a sleeping pill or ear plugs

Room Tip: a sound proof one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
I was pleased to read that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay. As previously explained in reposnses to other reviews, the local authorities are aware there is a citywide issue with gulls and are actively working to reduce the population in an humane way. As they are a protected species, there are however limited control methods that can be used. We offer a buffet style breakfast to ensure there is a good selection of items and so that there is not a delay in service. I hope this answers your queries and that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Arrived at a very busy time but check in was great,no waiting around was checked in within minutes,the room was nice ,very clean with coffee and tea available in the room. The only problem was the heat in the room,it was very hot and had to sleep with the balcony door open which was not to much of a issue. the breakfast was very good and set me up for the drive home. Not sure how much the night stay cost as it was a business trip so cant really say if I would stay again but will say its also in a great location in the city centre.

Room Tip: Make sure the fan provided works as you will need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay; I am pleased that on the whole you had an enjoyable visit. As explained in my response to the previous review, the hotel does not currently have air conditioning although this is being reviewed at a higher level. I hope that this will not deter you from returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My first visit to this hotel. Centrally situated in the middle of Foregate St and right by station.
An old building with new part on rear. Room 111 in the old part looks onto a roof which has a chimney which from the noise is above an extraction fan. A twin bedded room, good amount of space and a large adjoining bathroom. The washbasin is a small as one could get, which looks totally out of place given the size of the room. Shelf space for toiletries is none existent.
Dinner in the dining room was good as was the breakfast buffet. However the dining room was virtually empty at 8:45pm of diners so lacked atmosphere. Prices were reasonably so cost cannot be the issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. I will certainly ask the Maintenance Engineer to investigate and take any required remedial action with regards to the sink and shelving unit in the room. We do enjoy a good reputation in the Brasserie however we find that due to our central location guests do like to go into town for the evenings to widen their experience of the city so the quiet brassserie was not a direct reflection on the quality of food or service. I hope this has clarified the points you raised and I look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding, so we had 4 different rooms and 4 different experiences. I picked this hotel because it was the highest rated hotel for the location. We don't drive so we wanted to be in a central location where we could walk to shops and restaurants and easily get a cab. The hotel is wonderful in that respect.

Our room was also very nice. We had the executive double and we had plenty of space. the bath was great, esp. for the UK.

The air conditioning was not working. at first we thought it was because of the temperature, but we tried to run it to get rid of the muggy weather and it would not come on. We were later told that the airconditioning above the 1st floor was not working. (we were on the 2nd floor). We should have been told about this problem when we checked in (the fan in the room should have been a hint, i guess).

the breakfast was very good, but i would not recommend the restaurant for other meals. The "front of the house" needs some work -- our waiter didn't know about any of the items on the menu and was very slow. He was not rude, just not well trained. The food was also not very good at all. There is a very good pub up the street that is open 7 days a week where you can get a good meal and other restaurants in the area open M-S.

A large family of seagulls was nesting outside of our room. It was interesting to watch the parents teach the youngsters to fly, but they could be very loud and woke us up early in the morning.

We do have family in the area and will probably stay here again, but now I know what to ask for when I check in, and where to eat.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you are paying for. Ask if the air conditioning is working. Rooms right near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmg1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
I am sorry that you had a mixed experience during your recent visit. The local authorities are aware there is an issue in the city with the seagulls and have a long term plan in place to reduce the population in a humane way although this of course does take time. My apologies for a less than perfect breakfast experience; the young waiter is in fact a work experience student on placement and was probaly a little bit nervous. I will of course discuss your comment regarding the food quality with the Head Chef in order to prevent a recurrence of this nature. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have air conditioning although our Head Office is reviewing this. I hope that I have have gone some way to explain the issues you encountered and that I have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Property: Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Address: 62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier hotel right in the heart of the historic city centre of Worcester, Worcester Whitehouse Hotel offers quintessential English charm with modern convenience. Stay at our hotel and revel in the magnificent sight of the beautiful Worcester Cathedral, as it rises majestically above the River Severn. Guests staying at the Worcester Whitehouse Hotel can also enjoy the University City and also visit the most beautiful sporting venue in England, Worcestershire County Cricket Club. Built in the 16th century, this classic townhouse hotel is adjacent to Foregate Street train station and a short walk from the Worcester City Art Gallery and Museum. Worcester Whitehouse Hotel is situated near Worcestershire County Cricket ground, a stone's thow away from the cathedral and the racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing