We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Nothing to complain about at all, friendly staff, nice big room and reasonable price. Made a fairly stressful week business wise a pleasure. Lovely, fresh breakfast and a few other meals also great.
Plus the Aussie Cricket Team were there, which was a bonus! A bit noisy, but good fun!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forgotwheresmyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed 'our' breakfast! I will pass your compliments onto the team and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    379
    176
    67
    35
See reviews for
113
383
34
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel after watching a cricket match at Worcester's New Road ground. It is walking distance from the ground and is located right in the city centre and within 50 yards of the Worcester Foregate Street train station. Perfect location! I actually travelled by car and there is a decent sized car park at the back of the hotel.

The hotel is comfortable and the rooms are well appointed and clean. Breakfast was good with plenty of fresh fruit as well as a hot buffet. The service was polite and efficient throughout the stay. Thre is a fitness suite although I cannot comment on this as I did not use it.

I paid £79 for a Friday night including breakfast and there was an additional charge for car parking of £5 or £6 and considered this good value. I'm not sure I'll have cause to stay in Worcester again, but if I do I will use this hotel without doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celtic_traveller165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
I was delighted that you had a pleasant stay; as you say we are ideally located opposite Foregate train station and just a short walk from the cricket ground. We're also near to the race course, cathedral, river and shops. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Well a team of Touring Aussie Cricketers took over the Whitehouse Breakfast Brasserie and some of the Hotel. Most wore their caps for Breakfast (Caps, dark glasses parked on top of the hats, earphones around necks, large cricket bags strewn over the floor, careless pushing past seated guests, raucous conversations, oh what a fun time we had). If they are like that at Breakfast, what are they like on the field ? Oh we do know.
The Brasserie Staff coped very well considering and were back to their normal friendly efficient selves - under their splendid leader - and we're happy to report that the Hotel seems to have recovered after last year.
We do think the Hotel has a problem with Seagulls and Pigeons, their droppings are in danger of giving some of the Whitehouse walls an unhealthy white coating. Perhaps a trained Raptor could be employed.
Before we left one of the management came out and helped clean the foul, corrosive droppings off our car, his help and friendly attitude was much appreciated.
Stayed 3, 4 & 5 July 2013

Room Tip: We like, and usually pre-book a room on the newer back building, top floor with Juliette Balcony. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guestwithstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to revview your recent visit and to provide feedback; I am pleased that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay and found the service provided to high standards. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is an excellent Hotel very close to City Centre. Went for short break and found it very comfortable. Good secure internal car park. Rooms very warm but the weather was exceptionally hot. Stayed many times at another Hotel near City Centre - this time prices had gone up too much so changed to the Whitehouse. Very glad we did and shall return for another short break soon. As usual Hotel bar prices too high, fortunately there is a Weatherspoons 50mts away. Can recommend room 315.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ringley84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I was on a business trip. The room was very hot, because of the good weather. Airco didn't work. They knew that. A fan was placed in the room. There was one window half open. Window in the bathroom could not be opened.
A curtain was missing in the bathroom window. There was some stained glass in the bathroom, but who likes to show his naked 'shadow' to the neighbours in front of the hotel.
The room itself was around 28 degrees C. at 11 PM.
So I fell asleep with the window half open. Because of the noise I wanted to close the window, but that seemed impossible.
Try taking a shower with some colder water. Even with the cold water completely open, all I got was 38°C water.
Overall a terrible experience, inspite off the friendly staff and good breakfast. Never again, still looking for a decent hotel in Worcester.
I complained in the morning and was offered a 9P reduction. :-/

Room Tip: check the maintenance before you accept the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you should have as a result of the warm temperature of your room; I have forwarded your comment to Head Office so that they can investigate ways in which to resolve this issue although as you are aware, the recent temperatures have been far in excess of what is expected for this time of year in this country. The Maintenance Manager has rectified the temperature of the shower - the problem you encountered was due to a faulty valve. I am sorry for our failings on this occasion with regards to the aforementioned points but am pleased that you found the levels of customer service to a high standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed over en route from Manchester to Bristol. Excellent value. The room was excellent, very spacious and spotlessly clean. Good leisure facilities. Excellent breakfast. All the staff were attentive and very friendly. The seagulls and the railway do give quite a lot of background noise so be prepared for that. Car parking isn't free as specified on some websites. Guaranteed places are £12.50 a night, limited unreserved places are £6 a night so that needs factoring in to the overall cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
I was delighted to read that you had an enjopyable stay and found the levels of customer service to a high standard; I will certainly pass your compliments onto the team and hope tojhave the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed here on a business trip reception staff great room big spotless big bed tv all the usual's room overlooked the car park which was charged (£6 very naughty) when I looked out the window i noticed Bid mess on the window and all visible areas then i heard the noise the gulls were making it was such a din which lasted till about 3.00
Breakfast service and check out were great breakfast Buffet was average ( why cant hotels produce a made to order breakfast?
Value for money and in the city centre but take a sleeping pill or ear plugs

Room Tip: a sound proof one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
I was pleased to read that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay. As previously explained in reposnses to other reviews, the local authorities are aware there is a citywide issue with gulls and are actively working to reduce the population in an humane way. As they are a protected species, there are however limited control methods that can be used. We offer a buffet style breakfast to ensure there is a good selection of items and so that there is not a delay in service. I hope this answers your queries and that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
3.7 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Property: Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Address: 62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier hotel right in the heart of the historic city centre of Worcester, Worcester Whitehouse Hotel offers quintessential English charm with modern convenience. Stay at our hotel and revel in the magnificent sight of the beautiful Worcester Cathedral, as it rises majestically above the River Severn. Guests staying at the Worcester Whitehouse Hotel can also enjoy the University City and also visit the most beautiful sporting venue in England, Worcestershire County Cricket Club. Built in the 16th century, this classic townhouse hotel is adjacent to Foregate Street train station and a short walk from the Worcester City Art Gallery and Museum. Worcester Whitehouse Hotel is situated near Worcestershire County Cricket ground, a stone's thow away from the cathedral and the racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing