We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another great return visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Have stayed here many times over the years and always fully enjoyed my stays, be it on business or with family. This visit last week was no exception, from checking in at front desk to having a grat room provided. All the staff are just so helpful as had been said many times before. Am back again this week so I know how well I will be looked after. One thing to remember if travelling by train to leave at Worcester Foregate Street where the hotel if right opposite. Do travel to Worcester Shrub Hill as its over a mile from hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil-KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay; the team & I are delighted that you find everything to a high standard and suitable for your needs. One point however, as there is a small typing error and that is 'don't' get off at Shrub Hill station as it is Foregate Street Station that is closest to the hotel, opopsite in fact. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here whilst visiting my family in Worcester. It is convenient for the city and the staff are mostly fine, but the rooms are much too hot and the fan provided is inadequate to cool the room. I asked for a quiet room and got one overlooking the car park which looked ok until the seagulls started up and the noise was appalling. The walls are quite thin and luckily I brought my own shower cap and flannels (not provided). Some areas were worn and dated and some carpets dirty. The small pool was ok and I chatted to several locals who are allowed in to swim. They recommended other better pools and gyms I could attend. The breakfast was quite good and plentiful. I did not eat any other meals here as my family recommended two restaurants locally, the Marwood and Bills in town centre. Judy was very helpful and professional on the desk, but another receptionist could not find me a standard room for an extra night even though my daughter was in hospital and I could not afford a superior room.
Would I stay here again? Probably not as I have now found other better options.

Room Tip: Rear of hotel is quietest but you have to love seagulls! All rooms seem to be boiling hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry we were unable to accommodate you for the additional night but pleased to read that the service you received from Judy was friendly and professional who as a result of being personally mentioned receives a box of chocolates. I have taken on board the other comments you raised and would welcome the opportunity of being of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Attended a wedding here and stopped over. The service was amazing all day long. Staff were all polite an helpful. The room was fantastic with high standard if cleanliness. They looked after the bride and bridal party throughout their whole stay as if they were royalty. Couldn't fault anything about any part of the time I was there. Breakfast the next day was also good. Felt relaxed and well looked after the entire time

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky190782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

I am delighted that you had a fabulous and relaxing stay and found the service levels to be of a high standard; thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

First the major plus: couldn't be more conveniently situated for a city hotel, with all amenities close at hand.
Sadly, the positive ends there. The hotel is shabby and dated. Our room was very basic, and I have never stayed anywhere in this price range that doesn't provide a shower cap and face flannels - appalling.
Depressing decor in the common rooms. Breakfast extremely poor, with greasy, cold buffet and pastries dried up and unappetising. Waiter just shrugged when I asked if milk was semi-skimmed, so I had to ask another chap who also didn't know, but was at least prepared to ask in the kitchen - unbelievable!
Seagulls screeching all night long put paid to any sleep, although obviously this is not the fault of the hotel. Does not make for a relaxing stay though. Also, there is no air conditioning, so it was like trying to sleep in a sauna.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, is all I would say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

I am sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations and that the service and quality of breakfast was below our usual high standards. Please be assured that I have spoken to the Head of Department concerned in order to ensure there is not a recurrence. We have thousands of guests stay at the hotel and it is difficult to please everyone's taste in decor as it is personal but I have to disagree with your comment about the 'common areas' being shabby. Flannels and shower caps were removed from the rooms many years ago due to lack of use but I offer my apologies for a less than perfect sleep. Whilst unfortunately the hotel bedrooms do not benefit from air conditioning we do not state that they do although this currently being looked into and as you say the noise created by the seagulls is somewhat out of my control especially as they are a protected species but the local authority is aware of the issue and is managing to reduce the population in a humane way. Perhaps I can suggest a return visit in the autumn when the seagulls have left the city and the temperature is cooler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I can not thank the hotel staff enough!
Our wedding was more then perfect!
From the day we booked it - day of and after wedding they have been truly amazing!
All the staff right down to chambermaids were so attentive, nothing was to much trouble for anyone, if We has asked them to try and move the moon I'm sure they would of tried!
The food was beautiful, ambience was too- so much so that the other hotel users were all " feeling the love" as one guest described it too!
I felt like I was treated like a princess the three days we were there!
Our rooms ( we had 5 between us) were spotless, and more then comfortable, our 4 poster room was very romantic!
Loved breakfast the day after with our guests that had stayed over we had a group table
Thank you whitehouse!
For the most amazing day of our lives!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Firstly, congratulations to you and your husband, I am delighted that you chose to celebrate your wedding day with us and would like to thank you for letting us know that you had an amazing time; the staff will be really pleased that their efforts have been appreciated. I hope that we have the opportunity of be of service to you and your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Overall the service was great, and the room was large and comfortable. The hotel was convenient to the train station and the local area. Internet was 5£ per device! and inconsistent throughout the 24 hours.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kssheppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay; I am delighted that you found the staff to be friendly and the service great. I am also delighted to advise you that we have now changed supplier for our Wi-Fi and having spoken to numerous guests, the connectivity has vastly improved. Not only that, the system enables you to use it on multiple devices which was not available before, something I hope you will make use of next time you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

First of all on arrival you are greeted with a brilliant smile from reception, Merian on reception was so helpful and really can't do enough to help so a massive thank you to her. The next is the restaurant and ALL the staff where brilliant and very friendly and helpful yet again, being disabled I'm grateful to all the staff for all there all. The room was homely and comfortable to, so if you want that 5 star treatment from a reasonably priced hotel in Worcester then the White house hotel is most definitely the one to pick. Again thank you all for a brilliant 3 night amazing stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent visit; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff to be welcoming, helpful and friendly. I will certainly pass your compliments onto the team as they will be very pleased that their high levels of service have been recognised. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Worcester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
745 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Address: 62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: £48 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 16th century, this former coaching inn is adjacent to Foregate Street train station and located in the heart of this historic and vibrant city. Stay at our hotel and enjoy all that this cosmopolitan city has to offer such as its wealth of independent shops and restaurants, walk along the River Severn and view the Swan Sanctuary or choose to visit the tourist attractions which are all within walking distance such as Worcester Cathedral, Tudor House, The Commandery, Worcester Porcelain Museum and Worcester Museum and Art Gallery. It is also situated near Worcestershire County Cricket ground, a stone's throw away from the cathedral and the racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing