We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have stayed at Worcester Whitehouse many times and we keep returning because it is consistently very good. It's the staff who make it special, and even after being away for a few months they welcome us like old friends, going beyond the call of duty with thoughtful little extras like offering my 6yo granddaughter Nutella pancakes at breakfast. They don't have to do it, but little things like this make it special. Well done.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dakeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the levels of service to a high standard. The team will be really pleased that they have been mentioned and proud of your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We have stayed at the Worcester Whitehouse on three occasions and have always enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well situated within 5 minutes walk of the city centre and is opposite the rail station. The rooms are comfortable and well presented and staff are courteous and friendly. Although the breakfast is very good we did not dine at the hotel due to a very lack-lustre menu which did not reflect well on the rest of the hotel.

On prior visits we have stayed at the rear of the hotel, which is fairly quiet. Unfortunately, on this occasion we were placed in room 104, situated overlooking the main street to the hotel frontage. From early evening through to approx. 4 a.m. there was a continuous cacophony of sound ranging from screeching cars, revving motorbikes, women shouting abuse, police sirens etc...... We got very little/no sleep at all!!!!!

Therefore, my advice would be to be aware that rooms to the front of the hotel are to be avoided as, apparently, the staff were "very surprised" that the street could be so noisy??????

Having said all that - we shall certainly stay there again but not without our earplugs!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the rear of the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience; I am sorry that you had a disturbed night's sleep. We are currently looking into a potential remedy to reduce the impact from the noises created by this busy city but this does take time. I am pleased however that this will not deter you from returning and I have made a note on your details to allocate a room at the rear of the hotel for future stays with us. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We booked into this hotel for one night only, we were attending a family wedding in the city. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the booking in process was very efficient. The room was very comfortable and had the biggest bed I've ever slept in, very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet affair with lots of selection and a very nice continental selection too. Will definitely return to this hotel and hopefully for more than one night. It is extremely handy for the Foregate Railway station if you decide to leave the car at home.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueeve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. The team will be really pleased to have been mentioned and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you come to the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and was exceptionally pleased with the standard of the hotel and the quality of the staff.

The quality of the food was stunning, in particular the breakfast. The staff couldn't do enough to help at breakfast despite being exceptionally busy. The rooms were clean and fresh, and the standard of the decor was very 'welcoming'.

The spa facilities were particularly relaxing.

The only down side to this hotel (and this is NOT the hotels fault); The noise of seagulls at 3.30am is quite overwhelming.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrganistJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

I am delighted that you had an excellent visit, thank you for taking the time to let us know. I will certainly pass your compliments onto the team who always appreciate being mentioned. The local authority is aware of the issues with the seagulls and has a long term action plan in place to reduce the population in the city in a humane way. I am pleased to say that they soon move onto to pastures new! I hope to have the opportunity of being of service to you when you next visit Worcester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel was excellent and located close to the race course, so was ideal for the Beer and Cider Festival. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped, including a personal safe for vaulables. The breakfast and service were exceptional. The only downside was we found the mattress was too springy, but would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

I am delighted that you had a nice stay, thank you for letting us know; the team will be really pleased to have been mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Another stay at the whitehouse while attending the beer festival. The room was clean, a good size and we slept well. We were the first ones down for breakfast so we had a good choice and everything was freshly cooked. As on previous visits all of the staff we had contact with were pleasant and helpful. See you next year

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and will certainly pass your compliments onto the team. We look forward to seeing you for the next Beer Festival, if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is as many other reviews have stated, is ideally located to explore the historic city of Worcester. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable and clean. We only stayed for one night on a busy Friday during the Three Choirs Festival and the hotel was full. This probably accounted for the slightly chaotic breakfast room which is in the centre of the hotel. The layout is probably OK when the hotel is not so full, but our breakfast was not a relaxing experience due to the cramped tables and position of the buffet and hot food self service section.
We stayed during the recent hot spell (end of July) and our room on the third floor was very warm during the night. Luckily I had my ear plugs so was able to sleep with the windows open. Our room was at the front of the hotel and the traffic and people heading home after the pubs shut was quite noisy unless the windows were shut. I think air conditioning should be standard in a hotel with a 4 star rating.
Had we stayed here during a normal weekend without a big local event and typical UK temperatures I'm sure the issues raised would not have been of concern, so on balance I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Foregate Street or on top floor when it's hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jahpritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

I was pleased to read that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay and would like thank you for taking the time to provide constructive feedback on your visit. The issues you encountered will certainly be discussed at our next communications meeting. I am delighted that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.6 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Address: 62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: £52 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 16th century, this former coaching inn is adjacent to Foregate Street train station and located in the heart of this historic and vibrant city. Stay at our hotel and enjoy all that this cosmopolitan city has to offer such as its wealth of independent shops and restaurants, walk along the River Severn and view the Swan Sanctuary or choose to visit the tourist attractions which are all within walking distance such as Worcester Cathedral, Tudor House, The Commandery, Worcester Porcelain Museum and Worcester Museum and Art Gallery. It is also situated near Worcestershire County Cricket ground, a stone's throw away from the cathedral and the racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing