We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel - Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

Other reviews have noted the high noise level from street traffic and the nearby railway station, so when checking in we asked for a quiet room. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and provided us with a room that was quiet and suited our needs.
The 'Foregate Brasserie' suited our needs for our evening meal. The surroundings were exceedingly pleasant, the attentive staff served a well cooked meal at a reasonable price.
All in all - no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2010
Thank you for your positive feedback; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff to be friendly and will certainly advise them accordingly.
I hope that I have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Whitehouse Hotel on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    379
    176
    67
    35
See reviews for
113
383
34
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay in Worcester at the above hotel and found it to be excellent! We had a room with a four poster bed and the room was spotless. There was a large bathroom with a power shower which was lovely! We stayed for breakfast and the food was lovely. It's a buffet style breakfast with a great choice of cereals, fruit and a full English breakfast option. The staff were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. At breakfast I overheard a lady asking for kippers, which they didn't have on the menu, but they waitress checked with the chef and they made some specially for her. We didn't have any trouble with the car parking, although when we arrived there were no spaces. The lady behind the front desk just said we could leave the car anywhere! When we checked out they also allowed us to leave the car in the car park for free while we went out for a walk around Worcester centre.

The only slight issue is because the hotel is in a city centre, there is a bit of traffic noise but if you want peace and quiet, don't book into a city centre hotel! We could also hear the people upstairs walking about a lot but it wasn't a major problem - just one of the drawbacks of a period style hotel. I had a good night's sleep and would definitely go back.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joromunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2010
I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and will certainly pass your kind comments onto the team.
I hope that I have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Whitehouse Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

My partner and I went down for breakfast and walked out of the lift into a lovely little eating area... however, after giving our room number we were ushered through to a different 'eating area' which was nowhere near as nice as the first... After sitting down at a table of approximately ten (there were only two of us - no chance of a quiet secluded private breakfast) we were left alone... Nobody came to take a coffee or toast order so we proceded to help ourselves to breakfast (buffet style) - I sat down with my three rashers of bacon and awaited some service... I finally managed to call over a waitress and asked her for toast and coffee... After ten minutes I called over a waiter and again asked for toast and coffee... By this time my bacon had gone cold... I recieved my toast and coffee approximately 30 minutes after we had sat down for breakfast and after asking for it three times... I was appalled that a hotel that charged us £90 for the night could deliver such awful service at breakfast... I will not be returning to the Worcester Whitehouse... I look forward to hotel breakfasts but this one was highly dissapointing...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb3711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

i love worcester and this was a speical weekend away with my partner, as we live many miles away from each other our weekends together are very sepcial so i took extra care in checking a hotel. when we arrived we booked in and then left to find our own room and carry our bags. our room was on the first floor which looked out into the gym, we were unable to open the window and soon found out that the air conditioning unit had broken 18 months ago, we were give an extra fan having already found two in the room and spent a first sleepless night with the 3 fans running which really did nothing to help, we also had a problem as the curtains did not fit very well and had a constant stream of light coming in. the bathroom had no fan fitted so as soon as you turn the shower on the room filled up with steam. dinner on the first night was a bit hit and miss too, my starter was taken away as soon as it arrived at our table becaus the waiter notice the chef had used the wrong dressing, by the time a frest one had come back my partner had finished his soup ! our wine was not cold when it arrived so it was placed in an ice bucket on the table behind us so when we did what a drink one of us had to get up and fetch it. breakfast was ok if not a little cold from the buffet server. we complained about our room and was told it was what i had booked but they did agree to move us to an identical room on the 2nd floor with air conditioning, if this room was available the day before why not just give us this room to begin with. our second light was more comftable but breakfast was inpossible, again buffet but the items for the english breakfast were not avaialbe at the sametime, ie. sausage and bacon but no eggs, so we waited for eggs and the bacon and sausages had all gone, toast was cold and served after we had eatten and we had to keep getting up to refresh our tea and coffee as we were not allowed pots at our table. when leaving we did say we were disappointed and i was given a card with general mangers name and number on, having phoned twice and left messages i am still waiting for a retun call. the spa was not working and as we had booked at short notice we should have been told. this could be a great hotel but it needs to be managed correctly, staff training and the air conditioning unit fixed. at a £100 per night b and b plud dinner i expect more.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann9025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here because we were moving our daughter into halls on the City Campus and got a deal through laterooms for £85 including breakfast. This is a fairly typical business hotel, in an excellent location in town, right opposite the station. We were lucky enough to get a parking space, which cannot be guaranteed.

Having looked at previous Tripadvisor reviews we asked for a quiet room and were given 308, so we didn't hear much noise from traffic or drunks on the street. We did hear other people's showers but on the whole it wasn't too bad.

The room was clean and comfortable, but the bathroom could have been more thoroughly cleaned. There was a layer of dust on the protruding border tiles and there was mould on the tiles which a bit of bleach and an old toothbrush would sort in just a few minutes. There was no shelf near the sink to put your toiletries, which would have been quite handy. The shower was amazing and there was always plenty of very hot water.

Breakfast was fantastic. The only criticism I can come up with here is that you would think for a breakfast of this calibre they wouldn't have cheap sausages. Although they were perfectly edible I did feel that they let the hotel breakfast down a bit.

We didn't try the pool or spa facilities but the spa and sauna were out of order anyway. If we need to return to Worcester and can get another deal on late rooms, and can also guarantee another quiet room, we would return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
195 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Tired interior, uncharismatic staff, poor food. Handy for train and city centre but would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger-2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

The Hotel is situated right on Foregate Street yards away form the late night bars of central Worcester. On Saturday night we were kept awake till 4.00 Sunday morning by the shouting and screeching as the inebriates staggered home. Their shouting almost drowned out the traffic which was bad enough. On the second night (Sunday) the melee was mostly over by 1.00 am Monday morning.
They are selling these rooms knowing that it is not possible to sleep, if they were honest they would inform the punters when they booked that the front rooms are only suitable for those who are partying themselves.
Won’t be using the £10 off voucher I was given when I checked out.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
3.7 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Property: Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Address: 62 Foregate Street, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier hotel right in the heart of the historic city centre of Worcester, Worcester Whitehouse Hotel offers quintessential English charm with modern convenience. Stay at our hotel and revel in the magnificent sight of the beautiful Worcester Cathedral, as it rises majestically above the River Severn. Guests staying at the Worcester Whitehouse Hotel can also enjoy the University City and also visit the most beautiful sporting venue in England, Worcestershire County Cricket Club. Built in the 16th century, this classic townhouse hotel is adjacent to Foregate Street train station and a short walk from the Worcester City Art Gallery and Museum. Worcester Whitehouse Hotel is situated near Worcestershire County Cricket ground, a stone's thow away from the cathedral and the racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and Booking.com so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing