We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Now doesn't that look inviting?
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Now doesn't that look inviting?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
118 reviews
Now doesn't that look inviting?
Privacy blinds
Wolferlow House, the former Victorian rectory
Outside balcony of The Retreat - perfect for afternoon tea
Wolferlow House, The Retreat and grounds - rural bliss in seven acres
View of the Spring Garden from The Retreat bedroom
View to the church from the rose arch
Entry steps to The Retreat
Juliet balcony
View from the entrance through the orchard
Juliet balcony
Garden views
View to the main gardens from the balcony
View of the orchard from the balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Worcester, Worcestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 118 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Razza D
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Sitting in the pool area reflecting over the last 2 days. Perfect for relaxing and enjoying the beautiful gardens and views. The pool and sauna is a fantastic addition to already wonderful accommodation and facilities. Everything you would need is available on hand and if you need anything else, Stuart and Jill are happy to help. Wouldn't hesitate to book again. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieUk...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden treasure!”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our first holiday with our new baby and it was the perfect escape. Our little one loved the pool and it was great to have so many facilities to ourselves. Obviously having a baby can restrict your holiday somewhat so this place was perfect. The facilities are clean, the pool a good temperature and the bed super comfy! There are 2 friendly dogs on site and lovely bushy cat who will pop and say hello regularly. We really enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Martin C
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The Retreat is a Real Treat”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed for a few nights in May, following the directions that were supplied arrived with no problems.
The accommodation was well presented, clean and tidy. The addition of books, games and films made sure we was not bored. The view from the main window is lovely, and with the windows open all you can hear are the birds and the faint sound of the grazing sheep nearby, very relaxing.
The pool area was fabulous, lots of pool toys, ping pong table, spent many hours playing in the pool and using the sauna. It also has a toilet and shower area that you can use before and after using the pool.
Plenty of areas to explore, the gardens, surrounding area has some lovely walks, and some nice places to eat not too far away. Stuart & Jill were away during our stay, though replied to a query we had via email very quickly.
During our stay we were adopted by their cat 'Priscilla', who spent many hours lounging on the patio outside and coming in to see if we were OK, though this did result in her getting lots of cuddles and attention, which was fine.
Great place to stay and the pool/sauna is the icing on the cake. Will stay again if we are ever in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D
Rhondda Cynon Taff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family weekend away”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights for May Day bank holiday. We took our 2 children (aged 8 &4) therefore the children occupied the main bedroom and us parents took the pull out bed in the living room. The bedroom was perfect for the children with 1 double bed for sharing, as it had blackout blinds so gave them the peaceful rest space they needed. The pull out sofa bed was very comfy and provided a good nights sleep for us parents. Was so lovely to fall asleep to the view of stars through the glass doors and sky windows (although it did not have blinds so was very bright in the early hours, the hosts provided eye masks so did not cause us a problem for sleeping). The accommodation was light & airy and had everything we needed for a self catered stay. Loved all the added extras such as board games, DVDS, books etc so we never got a chance to be bored! The children 'adopted' the playful puppy, crumpet and the older dog, Bramble for the weekend and loved the dogs company. We also saw a cat, sheep, 2 horses and copious birds during our stay. The grounds are amazing and we had the freedom to roam around to explore.

The pool room was truly a delight (and the main reason we booked!), the children spent most of their time in the pool which was warm and inviting. The sauna was a great extra too. There was a shower and toilet within the pool room which was great area to dress and shower before and after swimming. Again the pool room contained lots of extras such as spare goggles, snorkels, floats etc. It was our 1st wedding anniversary and we could not have spent it anywhere nicer than this place - a true find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the dogs, the location. Top tip: take flip flops to walk from house to pool as its down a gravel path.
Liked least: no blackout blinds to living area for sleeping (but we were given eye masks and it was special to fall asleep with the stars!)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek P T
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Real Retreat”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A clean, comfortable, well-equipped apartment built above a heated indoor pool which was available 24 hours for our sole use. The apartment is attached to the owner's house but is completely private, and both are surrounded by beautiful gardens and lovely countryside. The whole setting is secluded and exudes an air of tranqulity and peace which soothes the soul. We found the owners, JIll and Stuart, to be very welcoming and friendly; ready to help in any way without being intrusive. The area also has stunning scenery and is full of interesting places to visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The Retreat. It is a unique and special place and one to which we would love to return. P.S. Wifi access was excellent; mobile phone reception was best on the balcony!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The exclusive use of the pool and the peace and tranquility of the setting.
Liked least: Lack of hooks for coats etc
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delicious...
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional accommodation owned by the friendliest of people.”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our stay at the Retreat was nothing short of exceptional. Jill & Stuart are the most fantastic hosts. They have the perfect balance of being friendly and approachable along side giving you complete privacy.
The accommodation is light, airy, clean and maintained to a high standard. The complimentary refreshments on arrival are a lovely touch.
The private use of the indoor heated pool is a real asset and together with the table tennis facility these were used daily. It was lovely to be able to lounge by the pool while we watched the children play happily for hours!
The surrounding area is stunningly beautiful with some lovely walks straight from the door. We would often sit on the balcony and enjoy a family game of cards listening to the birds singing and the lambs bleating in the sunshine. Once the sunsets the tranquility of the area is amazing- a quiet that is quite simply beautiful accompanied with a stunning array of stars on a clear night.
The Retreat would be an excellent location for an equestrian person looking for somewhere to visit with their horse as there are stables available to rent on site and an incredible cross country course only a stones throw away.
Eastnor Pottery in Ledbury is most certainly worth a visit. Our children had a go at making pots on the potters wheel which they thoroughly enjoyed.
We cannot recommend The Retreat highly enough and will be returning. Your search for somewhere relaxing to stay stops here- we promise you won't find better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The totally private heated indoor pool & the cleanliness of everything.
Liked least: The fact that we had to come home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing